We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A LOVELY BREAK”
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A LOVELY BREAK”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a lovely break at the Burlington. We stayed in room 343 that had wonderful sea views. The first day we went down to the beach and walked along the front. The second day we went to Dover castle which is well worth a visit and the last dat we took the small railway from Romney. Another great trip.

The food in the hotel was really very good. We had a bargain break that included half board. A choice of lovely starters including spicy prawns and great marsh lamb to follow. The staff were all very nice and I recommend the hotel for its location and value. The decor is faded elegance but great value.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pigs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your compliments have been passed to our team. I look forward to welcoming you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    365
    135
    46
    15
See reviews for
158
523
42
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Two of us enjoyed a 2 night break here recently. Although the hotel looks a bit tired and dated that was part of its charm. Good breakfast & very pleasant service added to the good location of the hotel. Clean room & comfy bed gives it a thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurzdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guests, many thanks for leaving a review. I cannot agree more that the Burlington has plenty of charm and character, which we try to keep as much as possible despite on-going refurbishment. Hope to see you again in the future. Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I attended a wedding here, numerous family members stayed in the hotel overnight. The rooms were dark and damp and very tired, the matresses were ancient,complaints were made and the staff were rude in return. On top of this as I left the hotel my heel got stuck in one of the many holes on the mats placed on the steps, resulting in me falling down the steps causing torn ligaments in my ankle and cut knees. No first aider availble and no details entered in accident book. Not an experience I would ever want to have again, hence I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whistle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,
As you have already sent a complaint directly to the hotel by email, this has been dealt with and you were sent a response that clarified the situation.
Having said that, your review is more than subjective, as reflected by the vast majority of reviews left on this site praising the hotel rooms, service and staff and the readers will be able to make their own judgment. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is an old fashioned hotel (a good thing) with a lovely aspect. The room was very tired in it's decor and smelled very heavily of stale tobacco smoke. The main problem was a lack of wifi which the manager said was due to the hotel being in the middle of switching providers. The restaurant was very average with poor food and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sf1sf1sf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you did not like your room but it is planned to be refurbished in the near future, as part of the hotel on-going refurbishment programme. Your comments are important to us and we do our upmost to correct and improve wherever possible. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I got married at the Burlington back in June this year.

From the second I arrived (on the day before the wedding), to the minute we left (the day after), not only was I made to feel like a VIP, but my bride and guests were too.

Nicola from the Burlington helped us to plan the wedding and provided us with loads of helpful suggestions, as well as useful contacts for things like flowers etc. We also decided to add a bit of spice to the evening by hiring a rodeo bull and photo booth and the hotel was completely accommodating.

The wedding ceremony was held in the hotel and the ceremony room was tastefully decorated and perfectly sized for our 90-ish guests.

The wedding breakfast was vastly superior to what you would expect for a mass-produced meal - one guest (who works in event management) described the meal and service as '"faultless". Whilst we chose a fairly bland menu (there's a few fussy eaters in our family), each dish was beautifully presented and had flavours to match.

Throughout the day Nicola was always on hand to ensure that things ran smoothly, but to be fair, it seemed as if all the staff knew what they were doing and just got on and did it.

Away from the wedding, the rooms are all individually decorated and were exceptionally clean. I had dinner in the hotel the night before the wedding and that was also a wonderful meal.

In summary, our whole weekend was one we will remember forever (just as it should be) and if church weddings aren't your thing, I cannot recommend this hotel (and its staff) highly enough for your special occasion.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and thank you again for choosing the Burlington Hotel for your wedding. All your compliments have been passed to our team who worked hard to make your stay and event as comfortable and successful as possible. Nicola is very professional indeed , yet very friendly. I hope to see you again in the future, with all my best wishes. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the Burlington Hotel for one night en route from England back to our home in Germany. We were looking for a place within reasonable driving distance to the Eurotunnel but unfortunately, our usual Folkestone hotel was unavailable. The Burlington was was surprisingly nice, especially if you believe in the saying "you get what you pay for". We pre-booked online and only paid a modest price (compared to other similar options) but got more than we were expecting. We had a small but lovely room with good bathroom facilities. Everything was sparkling clean and fresh. We were concerned that the room was right next to the elevator AND there appeared to be a party or wedding reception in full swing downstairs, so consequently, we were expecting noise to be a problem during the night. In fact, we were not disturbed at all. Those internal doors on the stair landings really helped to reduce sound levels. Breakfast, though not included in our rate (and actually, it was really a bit expensive) was served promptly and hot in a pleasant dining room. It was probably worth the money... just. It was interesting to note that the cooked breakfast could be "upgraded" to include a choice of a few more items (which in our experience most other hotels usually include) but for an additional surcharge. Hhmnnnnn.... 'not really justifiable, when compared to many other competitors. However, overall, we had a pleasant experience in this historically quite interesting hotel and would certainly consider staying here again. Thank you, Burlington Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baroque-boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that, having used another local hotel in the past, you enjoyed your stay at the Burlington. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Burlignton Hotel is a great hotel, it has lots of character and great staff... its based central to the local town.... the breakfast is great too.... great place to stay..The bedroom and the bathroom were clean and tidy,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guests, glad to hear that your party enjoyed their stay at the Burlington, and hope to you again soon. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
14.6 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Property: Burlington Hotel
Address: 3-5 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the English Channel, this traditional hotel is a 7-minute walk from both the seafront and Leas Cliff Hall, and a 15-minute walk from Folkestone Central train station. The standard rooms have no-frills furnishings and decor, and come with free WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Upgraded rooms add plush fabrics, canopy beds and also feature sea views. Family rooms are also available. There's a casual bar and a grill restaurant, both featuring a locally sourced menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing