We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Lovely old hotel, with a great view. Clean and tidy. The only criticism is that the wifi was more elusive than the "Scarlet Pimpernell" . It is not a hotel where you are likely to encounter too many people under 50, but is that all bad?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith_hawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We currently only offer free WIFI in the reception lounge however you will be pleased to know that we are in the process of arranging full coverage throughout the bedrooms, best of all the service will continue to be 100% free to all of our guests. I look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Burlington. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed twice with our dog both to and from trip on the chanell tunnel. Nice big quiet room and Harry the Dog was made most welcome with a water bowl and bed for him already in the room. The staff were all really good with him too, he was allowed with us in the bar and they made us up a table for breakfast in there too so he could join us. On the way there though we had arrived late and so tried to order some food from the 24 hour room service menu in the room. The night porter seemed surprised to hear of such a menu and told us the kitchen was now closed. The 24 hour room service menu was not in fact available but after a bit of negotiation we did manage to order some sandwiches -. So a really nice stay but if you're planning on arriving late its advisable to eat first.

Room Tip: Room 103 with Dogs is really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review. and pleased to hear that you and Harry the dog enjoyed your stay. Please note that the snack menu is available during service times at lunch and dinner, however sandwiches are available 24hrs, and I would like to apologise for any miscommunication from the night porter. I look forward to welcoming you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. Great location but some negatives. The wi fi didn't work for Apple products??? The room we had was downstairs and very noisy. It was near the stairs and every time someone used the stairs they creaked very loudly. Soap dispenser in the bathroom was empty. The room was large but had a tiny TV. Breakfast was average and very slow but they did have a large bus group in.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some noise during your stay which is pretty unusual and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. Please note that wifi is available and free of charge in the hotel reception area and all TVs are currently being upgraded to large flat screens. I hope to see you again in the future. Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just had an excellent overnight stay here with our two dogs en route to the Channel Tunnel. It's a 3 star hotel, but within that category we had 5 star service. We received a nice welcome, with two dog beds and a water bowl already provided in our huge ground floor room. Dinner was included in our half board rate and offered a good choice from a seasonal/local menu which was very well cooked and presented. Breakfast was excellent as well plentiful and freshly cooked. All the staff were extremely pleasant. Yes, this is an old building which must be a nightmare to maintain, but the place is clean, the bed in our room was comfortable and everything worked. Within 50 metres of the hotel is a lovely grassy Esplanade overlooking the sea which is excellent for the dogs - and for our own evening stroll after dinner! We reckon we've found a great place when we next want a stopover when going abroad.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bannerdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for leaving a review and glad to hear that you (and your 2 dogs) had a great stay at the Burlington. Your comments regarding dinner & breakfast have been passed to our restaurant team for which I thank you and hope to see you again at the Burlington in the future. Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I travel on business a lot and it made a pleasant change to stay in what appeared to be a family run hotel with Victorian features and fittings. It's no 5 star luxury abode but it's clean, the staff are friendly and it's in a nice location. I'd recommend it if you are planning to stay in the area and fancy a hotel with a bit of character.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for writing a review. It is true that the Burlington has plenty of charm and character and also offers a great location on the Leas promenade. As a 3 star hotel, we do our upmost to improve wherever possible and the public areas are currently being refurbished. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for one night as a wedding guest. Staff are lovely and helpful. Pleasant grounds and surroundings. Very close to the beautiful Leas. However our room was extremely dated, like 70's decor! Although we saw a small single room that a friend of ours was in and this had just been refurbished. It was lovely, so I assume that the hotel is currently updating all rooms. If this is the case then I would return. Breakfast was substantial and delicious with lots of choice. Prices for sandwiches are very high and if you want them to bring it to the room they will charge extra for this! Therefore we collected it ourselves from reception!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Burlington. The room you stayed in is to be refurbished in the near future as part of our on-going refurbishment programme, sorry for any inconvenience. Please note that a tray charge applies to room service orders like in any other hotel and this is clearly indicated on the room service menu. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I visited the hotel as part of a Ladies weekend festival, which I felt was excellent. The hotel is at present undergoing redecoration. The room was large for a single room and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff was at hand to assist you at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowlerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for your review and thank you for choosing the Burlington to host your Ladies festival weekend that was very successful. Hope to see you again in the future. Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.4 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Address: 3-5 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £45 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the English Channel, this traditional hotel is a 7-minute walk from both the seafront and Leas Cliff Hall, and a 15-minute walk from Folkestone Central train station. The standard rooms have no-frills furnishings and decor, and come with free WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Upgraded rooms add plush fabrics, canopy beds and also feature sea views. Family rooms are also available. There's a casual bar and a grill restaurant, both featuring a locally sourced menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing