We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and service”
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic location and service”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife, friends and I stayed at the hotel over New Year. The rooms are very grand and clean, the location was superb (rooms with sea views is reccomended) and the service overall service was very professsional.

What more could anyone ask of a hotel?

Room Tip: Sea view rooms is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your review and I wish you a very happy New Year, which you started here at the Burlington. I hope to welcome you again in the near future, why not try a short break to enjoy sunny Folkestone in Summer? Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    365
    134
    46
    15
See reviews for
158
522
42
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here during an extremely wet and windy weekend but this did not spoil our enjoyment. Our room, though compact, was clean and comfortable with a good shower and bath. As stated in previous reviews, the television was a little dated but this was not a problem.
The room was set off the main corridor with only one neighbour and was extremely peaceful and quiet. We were greeted warmly at reception on arrival and infact all the staff we met during our stay were very polite and helpful. We stayed on an Amazon deal which included dinner on the first night; the food and service was outstanding and we didn't hesitate to book dinner there for our second night. Breakfast was equally good. We shopped in Folkestone during the worst of the weather, and had a lovely seafront walk on our second day when the weather was better. We can't speak highly enough of the hotel and restaurant and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or to stay here again ourselves.

Room Tip: We had room 357. I believe rooms on the third floor have yet to be renovated but this was outweighe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiegee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully will return soon. You will be pleased to know that all our rooms will be fitted with large digital flat screen TVs by next month and also more exciting refurbishment is currently taking place to improve our guests comfort. I look forward to welcoming you soon. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Have spent a rather windy weekend in Folkestone and stayed Saturday and Sunday night at The Burlington on an Amazon Local offer. Had dinner on Saturday night in the hotel restaurant which was included in the deal. The hotel and restaurant seemed very quite which probably isn't unusual for this time of the year. The food was delicious well presented, well cooked and the waiting staff were extremely polite and attentive but not hanging around over us as we ate which was perfect. Breakfast was also very good choice of cooked and continental and the service from Alex was excellent.
Our room which was a standard room was very clean but rather small although that didn't affect our stay in any way. The bathroom was perfectly functional and really clean with a powerful and hot shower.
We would definitely use this hotel again if we were in the area although think it unlikely that we would return to Folkestone as the area seemed very run down and not much to do there. We used the hotel as a base and went to Dover Castle which was brilliant and also to Canterbury which is a wonderful place to visit. Overall a great weekend and very good value for £99 at the hotel.

Room Tip: may be worth upgrading to a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments regarding dinner & breakfast have been passed to our restaurant and kitchen team. May I take this opportunity to recommend visiting sunny Folkestone in Summer, which will held again this year the Triennial (major art exhibition displayed all over the town), and to enjoy the artists' workshops and galleries in the busy Creative quarter, as well as the Award Winning coastal park and beautiful beach. Not to mention a wealth of places of interest within a few miles of Folkestone. I hope to welcome you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The wife and I stayed here for 1 night (arrived late) so cannot comment on the local area but our experiences were mixed. The room we had was huge with tall ceilings, (just what you expect from a building of this stature) and had a nice bathroom. All was clean. Sadly the TV looked like it was from the 1980’s and the picture quality was poor at best. The issue we had was the consistent noise throughout the night, people stomping in the room above (we were ground floor), doors being slammed outside in the hallway and staff bringing in goods in the very early hours. We spent more time awake than asleep. As nice as the building is to look at, it’s not a very practical hotel (not the room we had anyway). If I were in town again, I’d probably look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecfc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review and positive criticism. The noise issue (apart of the noise from the room above yours which was not reported to reception at the time) is being investigated with our team of staff to be addressed so it does not happen in the future. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. With regards to the television, you will be pleased to hear that large high definition flat screen TVs will be fitted in all rooms next month. I hope to welcome you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My two friends and I booked to stay at the burlington in December 2013. First apperance of the hotel got my hopes up. It is a beautiful building bursting with potential . However after checking into our 3 bed room , all hopes where quickly dashed away. The first thing that hit me was the smell . The room smelt badly of an elderly care home or possibly of nans house . The decor was more 80s shabby than elegant chic. When going Intovthe bathroom I tripped on the carpet leading into the bedroom, which was badly frayed and lifted . After a quick call to reception a kind man came to fix the issue with a butter knife. We where not offered another room at any point. When trying to find a plug we found that the plugged in bedside table lamp had exposed live wires which is most dangerous. At breakfast I witnessed the dining room host referring to other women as maddam .. when we finished & thanked front of house however we where referred to as "girls". Being ladies of atleast 25 we expected to atleast be treated like adults . Inatead during the whole breakfast we really felt like children. As for the dodgy itchy wartime dog blankents on the beds ... id advise a simple duvet ... unless your lucky enough to get one of the beautiful revamped rooms or unlucky enough to look old beyond your years . I wouldn't advise you stayed here !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. The triple room you stayed in is to be fully refurbished in the near future and, in the meantime is only used whenever this room type is sold out, which was the case on that night. I would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused and point out that you received a full refund for it. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here on a Groupon deal and got two night's bed and breakfast for £100 which we felt was great value. The Burlington Hotel has some of the faded elegance that you see in many British seaside hotels. It could do with some updating but was nevertheless a lovely hotel. The breakfast was delicious and the waiting staff were friendly and polite. They were quick to provide a high chair for our 9 month old baby. Some of the rooms have sea views but ours didn't. My husband was really pleased the hotel was so near the sea as he went running on the beach both mornings! The room was very warm and for us it was a bit of a problem as opening the windows would have woken the baby, but I think most people would have been fine with cooling down their room that way.

We went to the Whetherpoons in Folkstone which is in an old church and retains all the original features, very interesting! We also went to Cafe Grind and Bake which had a huge selection of teas and coffees and cakes. We tried Happy Stone Chinese takeaway which we would also recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for spending the time to write a review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially loved the old charm and elegance of the Burlington. Please note there is some exciting refurbishment being currently done on a number of rooms as well as public areas, but still keeping as much original features as possible. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely old quirky place.
Built when Folkstone was at its height.
I would advise you to upgrade the room. Far better. Lots of room and A jacuzzi bath.
Keys are the old fashioned type and weigh a ton.
Papers have to be picked up at reception. They are not delivered to your room.
The food is quite good and the price was excellent. For a 3 course meal with a large glass of quality wine was under £35.
Watch out for party night. I stayed for two nights and was two floors above the DJ yet it was loud. The second night far better so perhaps someone had a word.
Some of the trimmings and fittings are showing signs of wear. But everything looked and worked fine.
Plenty of parking on the street. I recommend this as the hotel parking was tight to say the least.

Room Tip: I recommend Parking on the street as the hotel parking was tight to say the least. Don't get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can only agree with you regarding upgrading to a superior room which are more spacious and, for most of them, have lovely sea views. Please note that we are currently refurbishing public areas and also a number of rooms are being upgraded to superior standard, so worth to try on your next visit to Folkestone. I look forward to welcoming you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
14.6 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Property: Burlington Hotel
Address: 3-5 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the English Channel, this traditional hotel is a 7-minute walk from both the seafront and Leas Cliff Hall, and a 15-minute walk from Folkestone Central train station. The standard rooms have no-frills furnishings and decor, and come with free WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Upgraded rooms add plush fabrics, canopy beds and also feature sea views. Family rooms are also available. There's a casual bar and a grill restaurant, both featuring a locally sourced menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing