We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and most helpful staff”
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and most helpful staff”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a break on a voucher which was very good value for money as the meals were excellent. The staff could not have been more friendly or more helpful. The location was perfect. An old Victorian building was quite beautiful but came with its challenges-heating temperamental and hot water variable. Even in a refurbished room the shower would not work properly (we were offered an alternative room in which to shower) Surely they could arrange for the windows to be cleaned-such a simple improvement. The staff had a great deal to contend with and did so courteously and sympathetically. We enjoyed the weekend and when the hotel is finally fully re-furbished and in full working order would visit again. As it was, it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and more refurbishment is taking place to improve your comfort and experience. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    387
    144
    48
    17
See reviews for
176
554
46
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The location is the best part of this hotel,overlooking the sea and a pleasant walk along the sea wall to the town.The standard room we had was of a reasonable size and clean but only blankets not duvets which in this day and age I would consider a must .The breakfast was ok but I have had much better in 3* Best Western hotels,one morning it was freshly cooked the next morning it was a buffet and just about acceptable.We had one evening meal in the Bay Tree Restaurant and although the food was reasonable for the price the staff needed to be more interested in what they were doing.From what I could gather most of the French waitresses were being trained so hopefully they get better as the summer season gets under way.Perhaps setting up for breakfast as soon as a table is left just shows the staff want to get home quick and if this is to be run as a proper restaurant more consideration needs to be shown to patrons and less to cleaning and laying tables.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanfoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and positive criticism. Your comments are important to us to rectify and improve wherever possible and have been passed to our restaurant team to be addressed. i hope to welcome you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corringham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We used a Buyagift voucher giving us a very reasonable two night break. When booking we requested an upgrade and a specific room from the hotel photos online but they couldnt promise this. What a lovely surprise to find we had our chosen room. Thank you. Although there was another building next to the sea front we could sit on the bed and see the sea. The room and bathroom were very clean and roomy and we slept very well. We ate in the restaurant which was reasonably priced, the food and service were very good also. The breakfast was a buffet with hot drinks and toast brought to our table. We walked into Folkestone shops (about 10 mins) and came back along the seafront and up the zigzag path. A pleasant experience especially as we had sunshine both days. Being a Victorian hotel there is some TLC needed in certain areas but we were pleased with our stay and the quality of customer care. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaEDorling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments will be shared with our team. Please note that the hotel is currently undergoing major refurbishment to improve your comfort, still keeping the old charm and elegance of the property. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A friendly welcome. Large old hotel but very well kept with good Victorian features, on our visit it was quiet & reserved. Very clean room with a nice shower room. The food was good. The hotel was close to the sea but on top of the cliff. We travelled by train so used buses to get around, they are very frequent & helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and i hope to see you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival, seems very grand, in an idealic location. Arrived for Check In time, but along with others our room wasn't ready. Were moved room from initial allocation. Room good, but with no duvet, no milk & just seemed to lack those homely hotel comforts. Breakfast was a buffet, which wasn't what we expected but a good thing as could get what we wanted. Would return to the hotel, but Folkestone itself does lack in attraction itself.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for leaving a review. Sorry for the short delay upon checking in, but the hotel had been very busy with lots of guests departing on that day. Your comments have been passed to our housekeeping team to be addressed. You will be pleased to hear that all rooms will be fitted with duvets by Summer. i look forward to welcoming you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Burlington is an impressive building located right by the Leas which overlooks the sea. As a wedding gift for my sister I wanted to book only the best local hotel and decided to book her into one of the beautiful superior rooms here. This was the best choice I made as the staff are only to happy to help with anything you need. When making the booking - the receptionist was very friendly and helpful and this caring service continued from there. Considering I had booked a superior room which was actually one of the honeymoon suites that also included breakfast - I found the price incredibly reasonable. If you are looking for a contemporary hotel then this is not it - instead it is a charming old building which has a historical, old English and cosy feel to it with incredibly clean rooms. Having said this, the reception is beautifully set out and shows off a modern look within the historical building. As someone who lives local to the area, I would recommend anyone visiting Folkestone to stay here. My sister and groom were thrilled to be staying here and thought it was a great wedding gift!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and glad to hear that your sister and the groom thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us. the Burlington has lots of character indeed and, despite on-going refurbishment, we make sure to keep its old charm and elegance. Thank you for choosing the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We used a room deal for our stay and found the quality and service first rate. Our dinner on the first night was good quality. The hotel is located on the cliff tops just out of the town. The beach is easily reached by the zig zag path or the Leas Lift at weekends and throughput the summer. A most enjoyable break in an excellent setting.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for writing a review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again in sunny Folkestone. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Property: Burlington Hotel
Address: 3-5 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the English Channel, this traditional hotel is a 7-minute walk from both the seafront and Leas Cliff Hall, and a 15-minute walk from Folkestone Central train station. The standard rooms have no-frills furnishings and decor, and come with free WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Upgraded rooms add plush fabrics, canopy beds and also feature sea views. Family rooms are also available. There's a casual bar and a grill restaurant, both featuring a locally sourced menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing