We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freindly, refreshing stay 1st class customer service”
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed beginning of may as my friends and I were attending a wedding nearby. So we booked a triple room.

I was blown away with the size of the room! 3 women getting ready I expected A squash but we got ready in comfort and enjoyed some pink bubbly on room service and enjoyed the views of the pretty gardens.

We went out and enjoyed yourself knowing we had a big comfortable and clean room to come back to. On arrival which was very late the chap on the night reception was so friendly and happily made Us delicious doorstep sandwiches and crunch crisps.

We woke refreshed and enjoyed a full English breakfast in the decedent dining room and the staff were e,extremely attentive

Thoroughly recommended and look forward to commuting again as its the place to stay in folkestone

Thank you for a lovely stay - was meant to be for convenience but felt.like a real treat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annabotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review and great to hear that you had a fantastic time with us. I hope to see you again at the Burlington on your next visit to Folkestone. Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights B&B from 14th May. On arrival we were welcomed warmly by the staff at reception who were friendly & helpful & we were pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded to a Superior room. Room 104 was amazingly large with 2 bay windows overlooking the garden thus lovely & quiet. There was a very good choice for breakfast with the staff being very attentive. We visit Folkestone on a regular basis but this is the first time we have stayed at the Burlington; it will definately not be the last.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidL-Ingliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your review. I would definitely recommend to upgrade to one of our superior rooms whenever possible, for a larger, more spacious room. Another 4 superior rooms with sea views have just been refurbished to very high standards and more rooms are currently being refurbished. I look forward to welcoming you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were on a special 2 nights and one dinner voucher so we hadn't set a huge expectation about the hotel. We were able to park in the forecourt when we arrived but as there was a wedding on the Saturday night we had to park about 400 yards away when we came back from a day out. lesson learned!

The hotel has lost some of the grandeur it would have once had which is a shame. But the quirky corridors and nooks and cranies add to the character and our room way up under theaves on the 3rd floor added to the fun of the stay.

We nearly expired from heat on the first night being unable to change the thermostat on the radiator but this was attended to by the hotel and the second night was far more comfortable.

We had two breakfasts and an evening meal in the price. Service was a bit slow and the staff looked to be only just getting to grips of their summer job - the head waiter understood what he was about and did what he could to help this along. The food was always fresh and hot when it arrived at the table which is rare these days. Yes a basement restaurant overlooking a rather forgotten courtyard seems a waste and a bit odd. Some weeding and clever lighting would help that no end.

The room and small ensuite was clean as was the rest of the hotel.

I doubt we'll ever go back - it wasn't that kind of weekend but the staff were always polite.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modest-Stout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for leaving a review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your fair comment about the lower patio that needs attention has been noted as this can be improved. i hope to see you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

On arrival, the hotel looks very grand. It's when you get closer up however, it is actually pretty rough around the edges. Once we stepped inside however it was very nice. We were greeted by a young lady on the front desk and she was extremely polite and told us everything we needed to know. We stayed in room 354, which was on the top floor, and luckily a long way from the noisy elevator. Room 354 is clearly one of the recently refurbished rooms, it was very clean and the tv and shower were excellent. The only let down was the bed was awful. The mattresses are extremely thin, and my side had collapsed completely, I could touch the bed rungs when I sat on it, my other half's side however was fine. It made for very long uncomfortable nights. If I was there for any longer than the two days I had booked, I would of requested another room. My back upon returning home ached very much.

The breakfast was a buffet and was very nice, and yes the beans were hot too! :) So all good there. We never ate in the evenings at the hotel so can't comment there.

On checking out we stumbled upon the manager having a go at one of the hotel cleaners in the main foyer. She was not being spoken to nicely at all, and I felt very sorry for her having guests watching the manager speaking to her like that. Very unprofessional.

Overall, a nice clean hotel, good breakfast and good location. I would however probably not return unless they did something about the beds.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Neillucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you for leaving a review and constructive criticism. Your comments have been passed to our housekeeping team to be addressed without delay and all beds are being checked for replacement wherever needed. I value your comments and we do our upmost to correct and improve wherever possible. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights b/b May 2014. Dislikes: The staff need a lot of training I did not see one of them smile or say please or thank you. The man serving behind the bar insisted on calling me Mate instead of sir I think he must have been working on a building site before taking this job. The restaurant is in the basement and is very dark and dingy. The first morning I went down to breakfast which was supposed to start at 7-30 I was told the Chef arrived late and breakfast would be 8-00, the very young manager did not apologise for the delay or say sorry. The second morning breakfast was on time, but there was no greeting from the manager or staff ie; Good morning sir. When I arrived back home I had 2 emails from the hotel telling me that my American Express card had been refused, even though I dont have one and in any case paid for everything in cash. When I phoned to enquire about this all I got was, "It was a mistake" no sorry. I had dinner both evenings in The Grand Hotel a few yards away which was not only cheaper but served in a nice bright restaurant with a sea view. The bed was hard. Likes: The room was very clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast on both days was very nice. Its a shame really as the hotel is a beautiful old Victorian building which is quite clean all round, but is badly let down by the staff who obviously need a lot more training.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your constructive criticism and value your comments. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused and can assure you that this has been brought to the attention of our team to be addressed. Should you plan to return to Folkestone, I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our superior rooms (subject to availabilty - please quote this review at time of booking). Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited Burlington Hotel on Saturday 3rd May with two friends from Saga, we had a lovely stay, although far too short could have done with at least another night. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the breakfast was one of the best breakfasts I have had in a long time. Definitely worth a visit!

Carole L

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 661Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for leaving a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Welcoming reception staff and clean spacious room. It's a short walk to the town but was mostly shut being a Sunday evening.
We decided to eat in the restaurant that evening. The menu was limited and took a long time to be served. The waitresses were far more concerned with setting up the tables for breakfast than looking after the dinner guests. The food was, in my opinion, a little overpriced and not brilliant. On leaving the restaurant, under a tablecloth on a table was the following mornings breakfast.
The room was lovely but would give the restaurant a miss.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank 0Gem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and constructive criticism regarding the restaurant service on this occasion. Although lots of reviews compliment our restaurant team, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience and this has been brought to the attention of the restaurant manager to be addressed. Your comments are important to us in order to correct and improve wherever possible. Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.4 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Address: 3-5 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £44 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the English Channel, this traditional hotel is a 7-minute walk from both the seafront and Leas Cliff Hall, and a 15-minute walk from Folkestone Central train station. The standard rooms have no-frills furnishings and decor, and come with free WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Upgraded rooms add plush fabrics, canopy beds and also feature sea views. Family rooms are also available. There's a casual bar and a grill restaurant, both featuring a locally sourced menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing