We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Character and attentive staff”
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Character and attentive staff”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Booked two rooms for one night at the Burlington as part of my mothers 80th birthday celebration.
On arrival we had to walk past a group of smokers who seemed to gather on the entrance steps rather than walk a few feet away and keep the entrance clear.
Received a warm welcome on check in and provided with a secured WiFi password
The hotel has maintained a good sense of style and has some great period features.
Our rooms were on the 2nd floor and were well appointed, clean and tastefully decorated.
The bar area was very busy as there was a wedding reception taking place but we managed to get some seats in the lounge (it seems that the only bar available was for residents and the wedding reception)
Breakfast was buffet style and of good quality / quantity with attentive and helpful staff.
Special mention for the duty manager who seemed to pop up everywhere and ensured everything ran smoothly and also sorted out some tea and coffee for us after we had checked out.
Great staff make a great hotel and this was apparent here.
Hotel is in a good location on the leas and I would recommend a visit

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank iprodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for leaving a review. I am pleased to hear that you had a great and comfortable stay with us. Please note that either the Martello bar next to reception or the lower ground floor Bay tree bar is open, but whenever a wedding or function takes place only the Bay Tree bar is open to our residents. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    373
    138
    47
    15
See reviews for
163
532
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Bought 2 Amazon Vouchers for ourselves and friends for a two day B&B Mini Break. Hotel looked impressive online and on arrival it was even better than expected. At reception we were told that we had been upgraded to superior accommodation that had recently been refurbished. Luxury Queen four poster bed and an en suite with a space age shower. Tea and coffee making provided in the rooms and a large flat screen TV. Very friendly and helpful staff and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the restaurant manager most helpful. Beautiful walks along the Leas into Folkestone. The only downside we could find to this lovely hotel was the view of the uncared for and unloved patio area through the restaurant window with weeds growing up through the paving.

Room Tip: Rooms to the south have a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Amazon voucher promotion has been very sucessful and I would recommend that you check our website for future events and special offers. The lower patio area is also being improved.I hope to see you agin at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I bought my girlfriend over from Paris for a few days to meet my English friends, stayed at the Burligton and had an excellent time. The room was clean and newly decorated with beautiful views. The staff were really friendly and spoke French which felt really welcoming for my girlfriend as she doesnt speak English. If I need a hotel in Folkestone again I will stay here!

Room Tip: The sea views are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiKi752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your review. I am delighted to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay at the Burlington and I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire,
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had just one night as part of a Saga tour.
No real problems, except the room was tired and in need of an update. Also, there was a great deal of noise from the floor above (we were on 2nd floor).
Food was good, but tea and coffee at breakfast took a long time to arrive.
Nicer beer in the bar would have been good, you are in Kent, get some Shepard Neame!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickNAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for leaving a review. As explained to you upon check in, due to the hotel being full on that night, you were allocated an unrefurbished room. This only happens when the hotel is fully booked as we try to let those rooms last. The receptionist did explain this with an apology and you were also offered a bottle of house wine as a gesture. As we try to use local products and suppliers as much as possible, please note that, although we dont stock any Shepard Neame, we sell Kentish beers and ales from the Canterbury brewers. I hope to see you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for four night break with a coach party from 26th May,The room was very small, but spotlessly clean,as was bathroom.Nice and warm too,Th eon ebig complaint of ours was the bnlanket on bed!!!Didn't know they were still in use! Brown sort of colour and I had to turn it down so it was nowhere near me as I am sure they are not cleaned after every bed change,Yuk!!!!Apart from very burnt, black roast potatoes on first night,food was fine,We went down for pre dimmer drink and bar was in darkness! Yes,6pm and it was shut.We went to reception and asked if someone could give us a drink.A pleasant chap appeared,gave us a drink then shut the bar again,put the grills back up and locked them then went downstairs to dining room and cocktail bar.We then went downstairs and again it was nearly in the dark again.Very dull , cold looking and miserable.Only folk there.Two of the party came down and thought the same.Ahotel with two bars and none open!!Just before we went in for our meal, hey ho,the bar got opened!!!Wed were at back of hotel and looked over to the side view of The Grand Hotel which was ok,as it.s a lovely place,but the wall at side of our window was covered with the most distusting looking stuff and had huge big lumps of it sitting on ledges.You justed wanted to throw up as it just looked like a lot of people had very bad stomach upsets!! Sorry about this but that's what it looked like.Maybe it was insulating stuff that had never been cleaned up?Staff were pleasant enough and all in all it was not too bad a stay we had.The entrance at main door had dozens of ciggy ends that looked dreaful though.

Room Tip: wQuiet.I found bed very uncomfortable though.e had room 241 which was quite a walk from lift,especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkchampagneGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and constructive criticism. You will be pleased to hear that all the rooms will be fitted with duvet by Summer time. Having investigated the bar opening issue, it appears that one of the bars was just open after the other one shut, with maybe a short gap but certainly no more than a few minutes. This is very unusual and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience. Please note that your comments regarding the maintenance has been passed to our maintenance team to be addressed. I hope to welcome you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Used this hotel as an overnight stay en route to Channel Tunnel and an early start the next morning. Family room with a pet dog - very comfy, four single beds, dog bed and bowl for our pet, lovely old spacious room, beautiful view, courteous and friendly staff. Situated just off the sea front, with lovely walks in either direction. Only slight grumble - having being told room service was £3.50 on top of our order, this was then doubled because a second tray was needed - seemed a bit unnecessary and money grabbing. Otherwise a great experience and we would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the room service charge, we contacted you to confirm that it was a misunderstanding as you were only charged once. The tray charge applies to the order, not to the number of trays. This matter has been clarifiied and resolved as you confirmed to us by email. I look forward to welcoming you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argenton-les-Vallees, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice within an eight day period in May. Our first room - 235 - was okay. Clean, very comfortable beds, clean bathroom, big towels - but rather tired looking. It had a very 80s feel to the decor, but as this was the start of an accompanied tour for us, we felt it was okay, and the manager, reception staff, dining room manager and his staff were all so friendly and efficient we overlooked the slightly faded room. The food (for 50 of us) was really excellent.mass catering can be a nightmare, but this was superb. I did not hear any complaints from anyone. We then had to book ourselves another night here eight days later, and were give room 354 - what a very lovely room. Beautifully re-furbished, re-modelled and modern. Everything was new, clean, modern and comfortable with a superb large walk -in shower. The hotel has free wi-fi (you just need a password from reception). Again we ate in their restaurant and again the food was excellent, as was the excellent choices of cooked breakfasts and continental-type choices for breakfast, next morning, included in the room rate of £93. The hotel has parking, and is a very short walk to the sea-front walk, overlooking the beach and harbour. We will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Just check that you are getting a recently re-furbished room, as they are much better than the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlgm, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for you kind review. You will be pleased to hear that on-going refurbishment is taking place with more rooms being renovated to high standards. Your compliments have been passed to our team and we hope to see you again at the Burlington in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
417 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
14.6 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Property: Burlington Hotel
Address: 3-5 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the English Channel, this traditional hotel is a 7-minute walk from both the seafront and Leas Cliff Hall, and a 15-minute walk from Folkestone Central train station. The standard rooms have no-frills furnishings and decor, and come with free WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Upgraded rooms add plush fabrics, canopy beds and also feature sea views. Family rooms are also available. There's a casual bar and a grill restaurant, both featuring a locally sourced menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing