We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Staff are very helpful and attentive. Room is reasonably clean but the deco is very old fashion --- it is an old building after all. The wooden floors are very noisy when there were people walking upstairs. Very limited toiletries. We paid breakfast separately and it's good quality food. Location wise, it's on a quiet street, 2 mins from the sea and 15 mins from train station on foot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nighthaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing a review. You will be pleased to hear that, part of our on-going refurbishment and improvement, the choice of toiletries is going to be upgraded.
I hope to see you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    373
    138
    47
    15
See reviews for
163
532
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WGC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed for two nights during sweltering weather on an Amazon Local deal. Found the hotel to be a stately old detached Edwardian building. Some rooms may have had sea views but ours didn't. Some rooms have been refurbished but ours hadn't - yet we found it to be clean and comfortable and have no complaints on that front. Yes it was hot, but we kept all our windows open - just like the Edwardians would have. Didn't expect air-con or a fridge - this is no plastic chain hotel. One small grumble might have been that the room did not have shampoo - only body/hand soap from a dispenser. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. Cooked breakfast was filling and well cooked. Had both a bar meal and dinner meal deal in evening and found both well cooked and value for money. The downstairs bar and dinning area was a bit dark, but awaited refurb I hope. Outside patio adjacent to ground floor bar was a welcome place to sit in the late afternoon/evening overlooking the gardens. Might have been good to have a few loacl beers stocked on draft. Cliff above the beach (The Leas) was 3 min walk away, harbour 20 mins. Had a great 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EEDWgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was fine and comfortable. More refurbishment is taking place with new rooms being renovated and you will be glad to hear that room toiletries are going to be upgraded. The Burlington has lots of character indeed and we will keep its old charm and elegance. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Three of my friends and I stayed for a weekend during July while we were visiting some friends in the area, we had The Burlington Hotel recommended to us and were not disappointed. We found the staff welcoming and attentive, even during busy periods, and the breakfast was well worth the price. The rooms were well maintained and comfortable, all in all a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing a review. I am pleased to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. I hope to see you again in the future at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights during a very hot spell in July. The hotel is a very attractive period property, and is an excellent location by the sea. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately this is where my complimentary comments finish. The hotel cannot cater for the heat - there is no A/C, and fans (old and noisy ones) are in very short supply (we couldn't get one on our first night). There are no fridges in the rooms, however they did provide an ice bucket when we asked for one. I suppose the most shocking thing regarding the lack of management over the heat in the rooms was the fact that the towel rail was on 24/7!!!! - this was even more suprising given that the hot spell had lasted at least 2 weeks prior to our stay! We tried to get this resolved on the first night, but apparently ;maintenance' had to do this, and they had gone home for the day - they did however come and turn off the radiator on our second day.
Our room was freshly painted, as were the wardrobes (our clothes smelt of paint), but I suspect the renovations were not finished as there were no hooks in the bathroom or on the doors to hang towels etc. The beds were ok, but the heat was so bad I couldn't sleep. They charged extra for breakfast (£9.00 per head!), and we felt this was extortinate, so we chose to have breakfast elsewhere - we found a lovely cafe nearby and paid £14 for 3 full breakfasts and drinks).
We enjoyed walking along the coast, and like I said the hotel was in close proximaty to the sea. However, if I ever went to Folkstone again, I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mum21kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay due to the heat. Such heat waves are very rare and unfortunately the hotel does not have air conditioning. Please note that towel rails are normally turned off in the Summer and this was resolved on your second day. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. Your comments are important to us and we do our upmost to rectify and improve wherever possible. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We like to visit different places for a long weekend and always look to stay in an hotel which is good value for money without being too basic. We were instantly welcomed to the hotel - friendly, attentive staff who checked us in quickly and efficiently which is always a good start. Really helpful about the local attractions and when we asked a question they couldn't answer, the lovely receptionist went out of her way to help find the answer. Very clean, fresh room, lovely view, soft towels, which all sounds a bit anal but it was all just very comfortable and pleasant. Breakfast was hot, freshly cooked, very good coffee and excellent service. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy-Halldane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review. Glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and i look forward to welcoming you again at the burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in a standard room at the Burlington. The room was on the 3rd floor and was not one of the refurbished rooms but was very nice and exceptionally clean. Infact everywhere was really clean and tidy.The staff were very nice with a special mention for Ashley who was very helpful (even though he sent us on a walk that nearly killed us!)
We stayed on a B & B basis, the breakfast was lovely with a good range of items for the cooked breakfast and all cooked beautifully. (One minor point is that one of the female waiting staff at breakfast could try cracking a smile occassionally and this would only enhance a nice morning)
Would definately stay again if we are ever in that area again and hope they maintain the good standards they have achieved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay at the Burlington. As you probably noticed, the hotel is being refurbished with more rooms renovated in the near future. All our staff works hard to ensure your comfort and I thank you for your constructive criticism regarding the lack of smile of one of our young trainee waitress. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed on our wedding night 30th June. Room was lovely. However we were woken early by workmen in the room next door which had been converted to a workroom. Had to step over all their stuff to come down to breakfast.
Breakfast pretty poor for the price. This is supposed to be a quality hotel and had much better in many a B&B. Very little choice and not told to make our own toast before hot food came.
Wouldn't have put this review on had they bothered to reply to my email. I was even promised an urgent reply after I tweeted them. This company clearly doesn't want any repeat business. I've never put on a bad review before and we stay away a lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassandra116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review.
I would like to sincerely apologise for the delay responding to you as I was on annual leave. There has been a mix up with the tweet you sent as the original email you mention did not come through to us for some reason. Please be assured that it is not our intention to ignore our guests and all reviews or mails are answered. I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience on this occasion and I would like the opportunity to discuss the issues you have raised so it can be resolved to your satisfaction and I kindly ask you to contact me directly to: manager@theburlingtonhotel.com.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
418 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
14.6 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Property: Burlington Hotel
Address: 3-5 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the English Channel, this traditional hotel is a 7-minute walk from both the seafront and Leas Cliff Hall, and a 15-minute walk from Folkestone Central train station. The standard rooms have no-frills furnishings and decor, and come with free WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Upgraded rooms add plush fabrics, canopy beds and also feature sea views. Family rooms are also available. There's a casual bar and a grill restaurant, both featuring a locally sourced menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing