We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent 2 night break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent 2 night break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My dear friend and I have just come back from an enjoyable & relaxing 2 night stay at The Burlington Hotel. We loved this Victorian Hotel which overlooks the sea. The staff were friendly & helpful especially the Charmingly duty manager Ashley, who always had a friendly smile. It has ample parking & is within 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Although the food is not 5 star it was plentiful & tasty. ' All in all we had an excellent chilled out break'

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your short break at the Burlington. Be assured that your kind compliments have been passed to our team of staff and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    358
    133
    46
    15
See reviews for
153
512
41
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at this hotel. We had room 107, recently refurbished, (they are gradually working through the hotel). Four poster bed, Turquoise and gold colours in room, so comfortable, fantastic shower room, shower has various jets which come from all angles, (you can disarm if you wish). Sea view. Recommend this room!!! The rest of the hotel, although of an Edwardian era, has bags of personality and wonderful staff who do everything they can to make your stay memorable. The Duty Manager Ashley, in particular was outstanding, he recommended a local restaurant to us, booked the cab and we surely had a wonderful meal and evening. Hotel restaurant had an old fashioned classical but warm atmosphere with impeccable service and marvellous food. Breakfast was also excellent. Thank you all for a memorable stay. Lyn & Pete.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view and recently refurbished. e had a King Size bed which was sooo comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarlightLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all aspects of your stay, one of our beautiful superior rooms, good food and very helpful staff. Thank you for your special mention regarding our Duty manager being friendly, yet professional. Your compliments regarding the food and service have been passed to our team of staff. I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just come back from staying the weekend at the Burlington Hotel and we just loved it. Gorgeous room, amazing breakfasts, friendly and helpful staff all in the lovely surroundings of the Burlington with views of the sea, what more could you want - just lovely!

Room Tip: We had a superior room with a king size bed which was lovely and had a huge bathroom with a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottieF1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for writing a review and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
For a small extra charge, I always recommend our guests to upgrade to a superior room whenever available, which are larger and more spacious with lovely sea views. I look forward to welcoming you again at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel on Saturday night with my good friend, Fred Finn, the number 1 Trip Advisor writer. It seemed the whole Folkestone area was very busy on Saturday night and we were fortunate in a way to be able to get this room at short notice. My room was a single one and had the basics in it which made it comfortable and clean for the night. However, I found the service at the hotel to not be too good; regardless that there was a lot of people there for a wedding. We were told on arrival we could only use the downstairs bar area due to the wedding. We sat there for half an hour with the bar still shut and closed and getting thirstier by the minute only to discover when another hotel staff member passed by that we shouldn't even have been there as the bar wouldn't open for another hour! We then went back upstairs and were served with a drink that we could sit in the lobby with. We were not the only ones to be given this incorrect information. I also felt the staff could have been a bit friendlier and welcoming to us. The hotel has a very small car park if they have a function going on and the surrounding streets can soon get filled up as well. Evidently the hotel has aspirations to get 4* behind them as they are currently a 3* but I think they have a lot to do to nudge up a star!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSpeedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving a review. On the room side I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay. On the service side, I would like to apologise for any inconvenience as there was obviously miscommunication regarding the bar service. Due to a wedding party having booked exclusive use of the main lounge on the ground floor, you were invited to order your drinks from the main bar but to use the downstairs lounge for seating. The downstairs bar only opens from 6pm. With regards to parking, the hotel only has a small car park but please note that on-street parking is plentiful and unrestricted. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just returned from three days touring Kent, staying two nights in The Burlington Hotel. It's a large, old fashioned hotel, but we had a spacious and comfortable double room with lovely views of the sea. The staff are very helpful and whilst the food is not five star, it was plentiful and fresh. The hotel is located on the Leas, a delightful cliff top walk complete with an elegant bandstand and well kept floral borders and, now, a stunning memorial arch dedicated to the many thousands of solders who passed through Folkestone on their way to war.

Room Tip: Room 343 is the room we were given and it is large and sunny, with great views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliettepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you had an pleasant stay at the Burlington and enjoyed Folkestone which has plenty of character and is a lovely seaside town. I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Two nights at the Burlington B&B with an Amazon voucher .£99 . Good value . room 345 is a spacious sea view room with modern windows that open as desired . Also very quiet . Plenty of drawer space .Beds on the firm side .
The bathroom was immaculate and had a bath . The taps and plumbing are now in need of replacement and we were informed that the Hotel is under refurbishment at the moment . The breakfast was variable . Tinned grapefruit being the main fruit on offer . The common parts are quite worn and presumably will be updated soon . The staff were very pleasant and helpful .
The Hotel has some off street parking and plentiful free parking on the streets outside .
A good situation on the famous Leas ,now with the new War memorial at one end .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barmest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing a review and glad to hear that you had a great stay at the Burlington. As you rightly mentionned, the hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment with more rooms being fully renovated as well as public areas. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed on the Amazon deal, at £99 for 2 nights including breakfast this was excellent value. On arrival the receptionist was friendly and helpful, giving us information about our stay. The room itself was quite small, but recently refurbished and had everything you needed, it was spotlessly clean,
Breakfast on both mornings was buffet style and very nice, you had a choice of fruit juices, cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc as well as a hot buffet for a full English. Again the staff at breakfast were very friendly and you were greeted with a cheery good morning.

Folkestone itself was surprisingly pleasant (the centre a lovely15 minute walk away by the sea). I've always thought of Folkestone as a port town but it was a nice seaside town with good beaches and beautiful gardens.

Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnie886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURL-GM, General Manager at Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and nothing was much trouble. Thank you for your compliments to our team of staff. I hope to welcome you again soon at the Burlington. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
14.6 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Property: Burlington Hotel
Address: 3-5 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the English Channel, this traditional hotel is a 7-minute walk from both the seafront and Leas Cliff Hall, and a 15-minute walk from Folkestone Central train station. The standard rooms have no-frills furnishings and decor, and come with free WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Upgraded rooms add plush fabrics, canopy beds and also feature sea views. Family rooms are also available. There's a casual bar and a grill restaurant, both featuring a locally sourced menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing