We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At under £12 a head - everyone was happy”
Review of The Smokehouse

The Smokehouse
Ranked #141 of 226 Restaurants in Folkestone
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“At under £12 a head - everyone was happy”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Smokehouse, Folkestone, Kent

Date of visit – 14 July 2014

It’s important to book this rather nice fish and chip restaurant particularly if you want to go in the evening. We booked table 5 which is situated against the back wall so is away from the footfall to the counter. We booked for 6 persons but 7 turned up and the staff were very helpful finding and extra table and seat. The seats do not have backs to them so if you have elderly people with you as we had or someone with a back problem, sitting without back support for any length of time might be an issue.

We ordered Plaice, Rock, Haddock and Cod and everyone commented on how nice the fish was. The batter was crisp and not at all greasy. The chips were real potato (I think!) and the tartar sauce was amazing although will add an extra cost of 75p per portion to your bill. The food is served in a box and if you can’t manage all the food, it’s acceptable to close the box and take it home. The fish meals cost around £8.50 each.

The Smokehouse has an alcohol licence – a bottle of 201 Heritage red costs £15 a bottle, a pint of beer costs £3.50.

There was a 'cover' charge of £5.25 for 7 persons - I would prefer this charge being added to the cost of the meal as it's unclear what this is for and then one is faced with the dilemma of tipping the waitress of not. Maybe the word 'cover' should be replaced with the word 'service'.

The location is perfect if you fancy an after dinner walk as the Smokehouse is close to Folkestone Harbour and seafront. There is parking on the street but make sure you read advice notices before leaving your car.

There is some outside seating space at the front of the restaurant but not many tables.

I did not inspect the toilets so cannot comment.

Total cost for 7 persons - £83.35

Definitely worth considering if you want a fish and chip meal with a bit of style.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnieOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at The Smokehouse, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for your review, your feedback is very important to us and I will pass your comments onto the team.

We do hope to see you again someday soon.

The Smokehouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    128
    78
    85
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A hot day”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had haddock and chips for two inside ( small child shared) and three drinks and it was £20.40. The service was very good and the place was clean and pleasant. The haddock and chips were good and crispy. There was no shade outside anywhere so will be glad when regeneration happens. I usually go to the Rocksalt restaurant and happily tried this as under same ownership.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DorkingHolidayaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at The Smokehouse, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

The Smokehouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful service..”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went to the Smokehouse on Friday evening (18_7_14) and queued outside for about 15 mins which was ok..got to the takeaway counter and we were totally ignored for a full 20 minutes..No explanation, no eye contact...just totally ignored us and every other customer at the takeaway counter..
We left and went somewhere else..So can`t comment on the food...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanKay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at The Smokehouse, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am so sorry to hear of the problem you experienced with service.

We have been incredibly busy over the past month or so and sometimes things do get backed up with orders and the staff do not take anymore orders until they have caught up but there is no excuse for them not explaining this to you and we very sorry.

The Smokehouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Posh Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We visited this Fish and Chip restaurant purely by chance. How lovely to be able to dine in style with beer or wine. The food was first class for a chippy. OK the price is higher than your average takeaway, but don't be put off by this, the experience is unique. As you would expect the Fish is very fresh and beautifully cooked and presented as are the chips. Suggestion: The company would be far better off integrating the cover charge in to their general pricing as no one really likes a surprise charge on their receipt. Great business concept that could easily be franchised across the UK. Thank you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham240364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at The Smokehouse, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again someday!

The Smokehouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cover charge of £0.75p per person is sneaky....”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have been to the Smokehouse a number times in the last year or so but the newly introduced 'cover charge' of £0.75p per person (in the small print on the menu) no longer makes this a good value for money option. Food is acceptable but is nothing extra special for the prices charged. I don't like this pricing policy - I believe the price you see should be the price you pay without having to study the small print in great detail!! Disappointed in this new policy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leolily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at The Smokehouse, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for your review, we have advised the staff to let all customers who want to eat in know about our cover charge and we are sorry if this didn't happen.


The Smokehouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

 
Folkestone, Kent
 

Been to The Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing