We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
152
113
26
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
113
26
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signature room lovely hotel refurbished hotel sea view free bottled water been refurbished recently excellent bar coffee machine breakfast room the lower ground floor modern bathroom huge bed good size stayed here for one night first morning bar area is a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Had one round of drinks here with friends. Fantastic views over the Channel. Modern decor in Bar. However service was extremely slow, even though it was not busy during the day. Cocktails are £8.50 each. They are put into large glasses crammed with ice cubes, which waters them down quickly. When my friend asked for less ice, the bar man removed the extra ice with his fingers! Some dirty coffee cups were on the bar from when we arrived to when we left, even though there was a waitress standing by to deliver drinks to our table--- one by one. We did not leave a tip.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystalcatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie_Banister, General Manager at View Hotel Folkestone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear crystalcatLondon,

Thank you for your review, it's great you had the chance to have drinks in our bar area. I have passed your comments onto our Bar Manager who was concerned and very surprised to hear this as this is definitely not something we condone. This issue has been investigated and the bar team are fully aware that this is not acceptable.

We hope that this has not deterred you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you when you return.

Kind regards

Susie

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Four of us went down to this new hotel for New Year's Eve.

Fantastic staff throughout, they really made an effort to ensure that the entire evening went off with a bang.

Bar staff were constantly busy, but never a long wait for drinks, they even had a smaller temporarupy bar rigged up by the dance floor to minimise dance-drink distance.

Some nice touches including canapés and welcome drink, as well as some buffet food twice during the events.

Our room was great, large footprint with a view of the sea.

Was it the Ritz - no.
Did we enjoy it - sure did.

Room Tip: Apparently all rooms have sea view
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_UK_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Mellish, General Manager at View Hotel Folkestone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Mark_UK_tourist,

Thank you for your wonderful review, your comments are hugely appreciated.

I am extremely glad that you found your evening at our New Year's Eve event to be enjoyable. The whole team put a lot of effort into making this event run smoothly and to everyone's liking, which was no easy task considering that it was our first.

We are already making plans for this year's event, hoping to make it even better, using feedback such as yours.

I hope that you have the opportunity to visit again soon and enjoy the whole experience.

Kind Regards,

George Mellish
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Large friendly and recently smartly refurbished hotel. Lovely large room with sea view, very tasty bar snacks and helpful waiting staff. Breakfast was not much to shout about but adequate. Altogether very recommended for a short stay.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank TM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Mellish, General Manager at View Hotel Folkestone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear TM24,

Thank you for your great review, your comments are very much appreciated.

I am glad to read your comments regarding the recent refurbishment, and that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

With regards to breakfast, I apologise that this did not meet your expectations. The feedback we usually receive for our breakfast is very good. Alongside our continental buffet, we serve cooked breakfast, fresh to order, and all of our good quality ingredients are from local, sustainable suppliers.

I hope that you have the opportunity to visit again soon.

Kind Regards,

George Mellish
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Room 108 looks directly over the wonderful Leas with a floor to ceiling bay window that makes the most of this glorious view. I can understand why you would be reluctant to put anything in front to obscure uninterrupted views across to France. However, to enjoy the view, there is only one chair ( at the desk) so if a couple, you need to be sitting in bed. Not sure how you would get round this unless the small chesterfield in the seating area was replaced with some easy chairs that could be easily moved? Certainly, the seating area is not that inspired as you are facing the wall with just a picture and radiator. Bed was very comfortable and linen good. A clean, comfortable, spacious room at a competitive price. What would have improved our stay? Small things like toiletries x 2 rather than just one gel, body lotion etc. and a biscuit to go with tea/ coffee. These all looked a little "minimal" and did not match the standard of the room. More in line with travelodge really. My biggest disappointment however, and this would probably stop me returning, was that breakfast was in a basement room. No " view" at all! It was a gloomy room and although the cooked breakfast was tasty, it is not how I like to start my day. Such a shame when the hotel is in such an enviable position.

Room Tip: A room looking directly over the Leas makes the most of the fabulous views.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sugarloafFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Mellish, General Manager at View Hotel Folkestone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear sugarloafFolkestone,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the great views from our rooms, and that you found our prices to be competitive.

On the topic of the furniture in the rooms, we have looked at this in different situations and have found that the current configuration meets most expectations. We feel that adding more furniture would make the room feel less spacious and more cramped. The views from our bar area are very similar.

With regards to the room amenities, our team are more than happy to provide you with extras upon request. Again, this is because we do not want to 'overcrowd' the rooms and bathrooms. I can assure you that these are good quality toiletries, and we felt that there designs are more suited to our style of boutique hotel.

We have recently made some changes to our breakfast room, to give it more character and improve the overall experience, to match the great quality of our food.

I hope that you visit again soon.

Kind Regards,

George Mellish
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Very well refurbished with a lovely lobby, restaurant and rooms- every single one looks out onto the seafront. Stayed here for the New Year's Eve event and had a really fun time. The staff look after guests excellently and make sure they have the perfect stay.
It is also fabulous to come to The View for lunch or dinner as the food is five star!

Room Tip: Every room has a great view
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank katiei111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Mellish, General Manager at View Hotel Folkestone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Dear Katiei111,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is vital to us and we take all comments on board.

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful experience, It is always extremely helpful to know what areas we exceed in and to ensure that we keep our high-standards in these areas.

I hope that you visit again soon and we look forward to seeing you.

Kind Regards,

George Mellish
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews