We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
1
3
9
8
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
3
9
8
40
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

i booked a 3 night stay for myself and husband! on arrival it did not appear as in the website pictures! once inside it was the smell that hit us first! we were shown to an elevator that is practically on its last legs! on entering the room we found the carpet to be badly stained, and windows that didnt open properly. on further investigations of the room we found the en suite unfit for human or anything else use! i seriously would not have bathed my pet iguana in the bath!!!! faeces were caked on the toilet pan and the whole place had a damp n dirty smell!!! i was almost reduced to tears, after having travelled 6 hours, all i wanted was a hot shower or bath!!! we decided not to stay and instead stayed at the wonderful portland hotel next door, which i would highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: bok into the portland next door!!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 813mrsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel after we booked on line. It was single handedly THE worst hotel I have ever stayed in, the hotel smelt disgusting, our triple room was at the top of the of the hotel, after climbing the staircase and seeing the general condition of the communal hallways we were actually scared to open our door when we got to it, what awaited us on the other side can only be described as disgusting, the bath looked like it had never been cleaned, the glasses on the side were filthy as were the cups, the smell of the room was musty and damp had the lady hadnt of taken the money from my account then we would of left the moment we walked through the door. The review on here that says it was the best birthday present, they have to of been talking about another hotel, it was DISGUSTING please don't ever make the same mistake as we did and book this hotel. It needs to close down and be completely renovated

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah8146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We decided to take a chance and spend a couple of nights in this hotel, although we'd previously seen from Trip Advisor some bad reviews. We felt we really only needed a clean bed and room for two nights. We did not use the breakfast facility which was extra. As promised, we were able to park free of charge not far from the hotel and were warmly welcomed by the prioprietress. Our room was on the side of the hotel but we did have a partial view of the sea. The room and bathroom were a reaonsable size, having not only a double but a single bed in it. The towels were changed both days and were excellent quality - hand and bath towel apiece. OK the decor was not 100% but all the buildings there are old. It was more cosy than a Travel Lodge/Premier Inn which, at the time, we could not get for much less than our £40 per night as it was August. There are only 10 rooms and all were full.

Room Tip: We asked for a double bed if at all possible.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rogerleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We visited Kent for the golf Open in sandwich and this was one of the few hotels we managed to find with vacancies! After reading the previous trip advisor reviews, we were quite relieved when we got into our room...
There was a smell of damp upon entering the hotel, but the general level of cleanliness was perfectly acceptable, although not to the same standard as the 4/5 star rating we would usually choose. For the money we paid, the hotel was fine and in a great central location. We were happy to stay there for a couple of nights, but probably wouldnt want to stay for a whole week...
The building in general needs some work - the shower was feeble and the toilet leaked but the bedding was clean and the size of the room was fine. A huge plus was that there was free parking at the front of the hotel, and there were plenty of spaces when we arrived on a Friday evening.
This wouldnt be our first choice, but if you are looking for bargain accomodation near the folkestone town centre this fits the bill!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth_2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I went with my family on a business trip to the small sleepy town of Folkestone in Jan 2007 along with other colleagues from company as well (4 couples and 3 bachelors) and our company travel agent arranged for pur stay at this hotel. When we reached the hotel, it was so small that we were finding it difficult to even take our luggage to our rooms via the only old century lift in the hotel. The hotel is run by an old couple who are very friendly and helpful and they had provided us with a room with a small kitchnette and baby cot (for my infant son). The room was so crmaped that we could ahrdly keep our luggage and get adjusted (even though it was the biggest room there). The rooms were like from old age movie and the whole atmosphere was suffocating with hardly any sunloight copming in. It was like living in an unsafe place which could cathc fire anythime. It was too small and the breakfast they served was ok (bread toast with beans and all mainly). My wife complained a lto and I ahd to ultimately find another hotel to live in after 2-3 weeks of struggle. There was no washing machine, we had to go to laundrette for clothes wasing.

Tyhey had a small pub below the hotel which had reguilar visitors.The market though was a little less than a kilometre awaya nd also the owners were quite helpful. They helped us in every way they could with maids coming to clean room everyday.

Overall we litterally waited every day to geta a new hotel and wree able to pass time pnly beacus eof the company of colleagues we had there. A tsrict no-2 for people with families.

Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
Thank kanwkwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews