We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
1
3
9
8
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
3
9
8
40
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Myself & My partner & 2 kids stayed here for 3 nights, The room was very clean but I had a problem with the shower as i had to fiddle with it for about 10-15 mins before i got any hot water well I say hot it was hot enough for the kids but not myself. The bathroom door didn't have a lock The lady that runs the hotel was extremely friendly but i'm not sure at 70 odd yrs old she's up to it as when we got there her husband was in hospital and spent a fair bit of time worrying about him(understandable) but maybe someone needs to tell her that the hotel needs a total refurbishment. We stayed Bonfire wkend and the room was freezing the central heating wasn't on & all we had was an oil filled Radiator which took a few hrs to heat the room and then we left it on all night as there was a draft coming in thru the windows, We like the lady who runs it she was very nice but the overal condition of the hotel is very poor.
The Double bed was extremely uncomfortable Myself & my partner ended up roling into the middle within mins of getting into it, I ended up sharing a single bed with my 6yr old little boy as the bed was so uncomfortable, very cheap if paying by cash cost us £150 for 3 nights but would definately pay more for better conditions.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

we found it a clean ,comfortable, reasonably priced hotel. the owners marg & mike were very friendly & helpful...our 2dogs were treated as celebrities.. nothing was to much trouble,we enjoyed our stay & would definitely stay again..breakfast was good ,if you wanted anything different. just ask no problems...eunice&keith

Room Tip: pets stay free !!! stayed in rm 32 which was double bed plus single adequate space..used lift to our room as i am disabled..ok not 5star but it is a2star hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eunice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

i booked a 3 night stay for myself and husband! on arrival it did not appear as in the website pictures! once inside it was the smell that hit us first! we were shown to an elevator that is practically on its last legs! on entering the room we found the carpet to be badly stained, and windows that didnt open properly. on further investigations of the room we found the en suite unfit for human or anything else use! i seriously would not have bathed my pet iguana in the bath!!!! faeces were caked on the toilet pan and the whole place had a damp n dirty smell!!! i was almost reduced to tears, after having travelled 6 hours, all i wanted was a hot shower or bath!!! we decided not to stay and instead stayed at the wonderful portland hotel next door, which i would highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: bok into the portland next door!!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 813mrsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel after we booked on line. It was single handedly THE worst hotel I have ever stayed in, the hotel smelt disgusting, our triple room was at the top of the of the hotel, after climbing the staircase and seeing the general condition of the communal hallways we were actually scared to open our door when we got to it, what awaited us on the other side can only be described as disgusting, the bath looked like it had never been cleaned, the glasses on the side were filthy as were the cups, the smell of the room was musty and damp had the lady hadnt of taken the money from my account then we would of left the moment we walked through the door. The review on here that says it was the best birthday present, they have to of been talking about another hotel, it was DISGUSTING please don't ever make the same mistake as we did and book this hotel. It needs to close down and be completely renovated

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah8146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We decided to take a chance and spend a couple of nights in this hotel, although we'd previously seen from Trip Advisor some bad reviews. We felt we really only needed a clean bed and room for two nights. We did not use the breakfast facility which was extra. As promised, we were able to park free of charge not far from the hotel and were warmly welcomed by the prioprietress. Our room was on the side of the hotel but we did have a partial view of the sea. The room and bathroom were a reaonsable size, having not only a double but a single bed in it. The towels were changed both days and were excellent quality - hand and bath towel apiece. OK the decor was not 100% but all the buildings there are old. It was more cosy than a Travel Lodge/Premier Inn which, at the time, we could not get for much less than our £40 per night as it was August. There are only 10 rooms and all were full.

Room Tip: We asked for a double bed if at all possible.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rogerleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews