We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
1
3
9
8
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
3
9
8
40
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here last weekend,and fell into the old favourite tourist trap and paid the balance of the bill without seeing the room first.It was very dated even though I think it had been recently redecorated.The carpet was heavily stained,the bathroom was circa 1950 with a nasty plastic contraption on the bath taps to turn them into a shower of sorts.Even after I cleaned the shower head most of the luke warm water missed me [not an easy task!] and ran under the screen and onto the floor.
Bed was very soft with built in "roll together" at the slightest movement,however it was clean and extra pillows were present.Staff were polite and friendly even though we only really saw them upon our arrival,otherwise hotel seemed empty.
I feel that staff seem oblivious to the condition of the hotel and until they realise otherwise,things will remain unchanged

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel looks and is tired and dated. We only needed a two night stay while day tripping to France but never again. Luckily my other half is a plumber and had a screwdriver in the car. This enabled necessary shower repairs just to get hot water at more than a dribble, and to enable it to fall on you rather than on the taps! Carpets badly stained, towels, clean but again stained. The type of toilet installed, my partner says these haven't been used since the eighties.
The bed you just couldn't avoid "roll together" and pillows very lumpy.
Was hoping to complain and obtain a part- refund but never saw any staff to do so, just gave up and left at 7 on the Sunday morning, enough was enough!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I think some of the other reviews may be a little unfair, when considering how reasonable the price is.

We stayed here for 2 nights over the May Bank holiday weekend and managed to secure a triple room for £45 per night which wasn't bad considering the nearest Premier Inn's were charging over £130 per night!

When we arrived we were greeted by the owner who couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.

Sure the reception area does have a very dated feel about it and has seen better days but its not pretending to be a luxury hotel.

The lift was working to all floors and we were given a room on the third floor which had a view of the sea.

Yes the room was dated but it was spacious and had all we needed, tea and coffee, bathroom ( which was clean ) and a TV. Sure the floors creaked, and it felt down at heel but it didn't feel dirty and the beds were clean.

The downsides of the room were the paper thin curtains, we awoke at 0530 by the bright sunlight shining through, the pigeons making a racket outside, and the poor soundproofing of the rooms - we could hear other residents arguing.

Other than that it was comfortable and provided clean and functional accommodation which was all we needed, you wouldn't stay here if you wanted frills.

Other reviews have mentioned a bad smell, I wouldn't say this was that bad and I think it's mainly to do with the age of the property.

Could it do with an overhaul? Yes, is it the "Hotel from Hell" ? Certainly not - just don't have your expectations too high.

Wifi available for free in the reception area.

Parking available outside which is free from 1800 until 0800. Tip: Of you are going to be parking during the chargeable period then the underground car park less than 5 minutes walk away is far cheaper £1 for 3 hours or £3 for all day. Come out of the hotel and turn right and then right again. The hotel is 100 metres down the road on the right - it looks like you are driving under a block of flats.

To conclude, a comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frontera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The bedding was clean, the rest disgusting. A shame because the building could be beautiful. Stained curtains, dirty tea and coffee tray, carpets needed cleaning. Stairs to second floor difficult to negotiate with suitcase, lift only went to first floor!? Breakfast extra @ £7/ person, we declined. If beds weren't clean, we wouldn't of stayed, but was 10.30pm after driving from south of France

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Wanted a cheap hotel for a bed only, the Windsor Hotel did offer this. Plus points the beds were clean and comfortable, with duvets rather than sheets, blankets.

Downsides we room was very shabby, in fact looked like something out of the 1960's, bathroom was tired, with the shower comprising of a shower head fitting to the taps, pressure was hopeless, and how shower curtain, so water everywhere.

Forgot my shower gel, hoped there would be complimentary, there was in the form of a small bar of soap!!

Worst part of the experience was very little sleep at all, I suppose this was a culmination of events. The weather being real hot, great beach weather, but at night the room was incredibly hot, so managed to partially open two of the windows, airflow, however this was accompanied by the noisiest seagulls I have ever experienced, squawking all night!

Cant comment on the food as left at 5.30am.

When booking expect a poor room, with poor quality fittings and thin towels, in a very tired building, if you are OK with this, and £45 per night for a twin room in August, then this will fit the bill

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Jan_NewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews