We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Cosy and Charming.”
Review of Rocksalt Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocksalt Rooms
Ranked #9 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Cosy and Charming.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here last night in the 'Kittens' family room after eating in the fabulous restaurant.

The 'Kittens' room is comprised of a main bedroom, a separate room with a large daybed and the 'wetroom', ample space, complimentary toiletries and steaming hot 'rain' style shower.

The rooms are actually located a short walk from the Rocksalt bar and restaurant which sit's perched over Folkestone Harbour, the rooms are in a cute blue panelled building just off the harbour front.

Highly impressed by the room, very comfortable with beautiful antique furniture, the bed; high with exceptionally soft bedding, lovely bare brick walls and a high beamed ceiling, the seduced lighting add's a romantic touch.

The addition of an iPod dock, espresso machine and flat screen T.V with free-view seals the deal.

The delivery of a wicker basket containing croissants, preserves, fruit and orange juice is also a wonderful touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Sorry for not responding to your review sooner but we would love to thank you so much for your lovely comments about Rocksalt Rooms. We so appreciate the time you have taken to write in such detail all the things you enjoyed about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    43
    17
    12
    2
See reviews for
9
96
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thurrock, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here in the Valentine room after dining at Rocksalt. The room was utterley gorgeous with views across the very sunny harbour. The bed was SO comfortable I could have slept forever

Sadly the slamming of the very heavy fire doors late into the night and early morning put paid to that!

Perhaps an indiscreet sign asking people not to slam doors behind them may help

Breakfast of croissant and juice served in a small wicker basket was a lovely touch. Nice and light after a beautiful meal in Rocksalt.

Also, slightly dissapointed to have to check out at 10am

Room Tip: Valentine overlooks the harbour on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovehols4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at Rocksalt Rooms, we so appreciate the lovely comments you have to say about the room and are very glad you enjoyed your meal at Rocksalt. We understand the points you raise about our heavy doors and will certainly be looking into a way of dealing with this problem. I do hope we will see you again, please do contact me on 01303 212070 should you wish to book and I can do my best to arrange a later check out for you which possible on most occasions.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here last night after eating in the Restaurant (which is another review). The rooms are very small, too small in fact. The Bathroom is basically a large shower cubical with a very small sink and toilet in the corner. We stayed in Kittens which is a family suite with 2 bedrooms. The space is so ridiculously small they should just open the space up to one room and the shower room. There's no where to sit apart from 2 tiny stools which look like the builders had left them behind by mistake. There's no vanity/dressing table and the lighting is terrible. There are 2 large lamps, one in each room which have bulbs which get incredibly hot and tiny bedside spotlights and thats it. Also there's no where to hang your clothes. The room is above the fish and chip shop so it smells like deep fat fryers and the environs are very noisy. We were woken up several times during the night and at about 7am decided to just jump in the car and go home. All in all a very disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Don't bother. In fact give Folkstone a miss all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent,
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We ate at Rockslat and stayed overnight here. We were impressed by the rooms, they were compact and well equipped, modern and clean. It was just right for a short stay. Couple of negatives though, we stayed in Fergie which is at the front and the room really smelt of the fish n chippy below. Friends rooms at the back weren't so bad. There was an nespresso machine in the room with tea and coffee, but no milk. All in my party struggled in the bathrooms as the shelve above the sink is too deep and so it's really hard to wash and shave(recommend to the managers to cut these back a bit) and most disappointing was the breakfast which was a bottle of squash and one croissant each. It was also a bit noisey when the fishmongers opened up in the morning but Rocksalt can't help that. Had these issues not been there I'd have happily give this an excellent.

Room Tip: the front has nice views, but the back is less smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay in our rooms. We are sorry that you felt your room smelled, being next to two fish and chip shops we have certainly taken this into consideration. We have installed an air purification system in our fish and chip restaurant below as well as air fresheners in the rooms. With regards to the breakfast, currently we do not have the facilities to offer breakfast as part of the accommodation so we have decided to offer guests a complimentary basket of croissants, jam and fresh orange juice brought to the room in the morning. Fresh milk is offered upon arrival which is then refreshed in the morning, clearly you were not offered this and I am very sorry about that. I do hope you will stay with us again and ask that you would book with me personally next time on 01303 212070 so I can ensure your entire stay is consistent with the positive impression you took from the start.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Combined a stay with dinner at the also excellent rocksalt restaurant. Despite having to cram two adults, a grown up child and a baby into the relatively tight rooms, the intelligent design of the place meant it didn't feel cramped at any stage. The abiding feeling is that everything has been put together with quality and charm in mind. Its the little touches that add up to something way beyond the norm. So impressed with the coffee machine, we bought one ourselves when we got back! Would thoroughly recommend as a base, especially given the location, and we will definitely return. One small thing I would change however is to take my daughter's recommendation on board and add a sausage option to the menu of the next door fish 'n chippie!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,593 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocksalt Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocksalt Rooms

Property: Rocksalt Rooms
Address: 1-3 Back Street, Folkestone CT19 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocksalt Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rocksalt Rooms are the perfect way to enjoy the beauty of Folkestone Harbour, or indeed to start or finish a meal with us in either of our restaurants. We have four boutique bolt holes, each with their own personality and dressed with Egyptian cotton, original antique beds, flat screen televisions and wet rooms. With stunning sea views, the rooms are situated on Folkestone Harbour and are just a short walk from Rocksalt restaurant and The Creative Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rocksalt Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocksalt Rooms Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing