We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocksalt Rooms Rock!”
Review of Rocksalt Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocksalt Rooms
Ranked #9 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Rocksalt Rooms Rock!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed in the first floor room facing the harbor. Great room, immaculately designed, amazing bed and bedding. Only thing missing was storage - we were only travelling with hand luggage and for 1 night - not sure where you'd put your clothes if you were staying for longer! Complimentary hamper breakfast of croissants/pastries was a nice added touch. Would deffo stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hufflepuff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your most recent visit to Rocksalt Rooms.

I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree, tthe sea view rooms are wonderful. I am so pleased that you found both the bed and the bedding itself to be of such high quality - we look forward to your next stopover!

Kind Regards
Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    41
    17
    12
    2
See reviews for
9
94
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Rocksalt rooms does exactly what they say on the tin - they are indeed wonderfully unique and boutique bolt holes. The attraction is the location to Rocksalt restaurant and bar which is a stones throw especially after a late night or plenty of drinks! Positives include the luxurious beds (& linen) we had a great nights sleep. Small rooms but the space has been cleverly utilised. It's not the place to stay more than a few nights but then they're not aiming at that market. They supply lovely toiletries and wonderfully simple yet organic hamper basket for breakfast the next day (made gluten free for me which is a nice touch). This makes the whole experience less fussy than a typical 'hotel' service and you have the option to have cooked breakfast at the main restaurant if you prefer. The 'wet' room plus shower was great use of the space and the fact a hallway between bedroom meant not disturb partner if in shower whilst they're for example sleeping. Hangers & hooks plenty for hanging clothes. Only recommendation would be perhaps a table or some form of top to sit around to share hamper / breakfast together. Perhaps this could be placed behind the lamp in the Fergy room. Great sea view especially to wake up to sunrise & harbour activity following morning. Unfussy check out whenever you're ready to leave you can simply leave door card without any waiting / queuing as often happens on check out in hotels. Would not think twice about rebooking here on next visit to Folkstone.

Room Tip: Sea view great from Fergy room - 1 floor up if you don't like too many stairs. Although you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiemonkeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your most recent visit to Rocksalt Rooms.

I was absolutely delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and see your wonderful photos! I am pleased that we were able to offer you everything you desired during your short stay in Folkestone and we look forward to seeing you when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked to stay here for just one night as we were going to a concert in Folkestone....how I wish we were staying longer! Although the room was cosy it was well thought out with beautiful furniture & it was perfectly clean. The large iron bed had a good quality mattress & cotton bedding. The shower room was compact but again had everything you'd expect & was also perfectly clean. Our room had a view out onto the Harbour with floor to ceiling opening french doors so we had a great view. We opted for the cooked breakfast option which was an extra but well worth it; full English with a choice of juices with tea or coffee. I would definitely recommend Rock Salt rooms (& of course Rock Salt restaurant) to anyone visiting Folkestone & am already looking forward to finding time for us to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda_Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your most recent visit to Rocksalt Rooms.

I am absolutely delighted that you both loved your stay with us (and your meal!) It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their rooms and I am pleased you found our upgraded full english breakfast a perfect end to your stay!

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Beautifully stylish rooms - well designed and comfortable: just the right size for an overnight stay.

Lovely beds, high quality linen, rooms are warm and enjoy lots of natural light - and convenient for both Rocksalt and The Smokehouse. Good wet room and the fiercest flushing toilet ever lol.

Breakfast is nicely done with fresh croissant, juice and coffee but is just crying out for the addition of a bacon sandwich (hint hint Mr Sargeant!).

Lovely lovely place to stay - we have stayed three times now and it has been great each time.

Would thoroughly recommend, particularly if combined with an evening meal in Rocksalt.

Room Tip: Join the Facebook Page for Rocksalt - they often post Sunday offers for room and lunch which are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ooohsopink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your most recent stay at Rocksalt Rooms.

I am absolutely delighted that you enjoy your time with us so much, the rooms really are something quite special and perfect little hideaways which, when accompanied by a meal with us at the restaurant, are the perfect base for an overnight break away.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon and please note that we now offer a full english breakfast over in our upstairs bar rather than the hamper for a small additional surcharge, just mentioned this when booking next time.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife took me to Rocksalt for two nights to celebrate my birthday and to escape from living in a static caravan while our house is renovated. The rooms are a strange combination of very tasteful and frustratingly minimalist. Whomever designed the interior seems to have gone out of their way to avoid giving you anywhere to store anything. We didn't need much, but there were no shelves to store anything, so we had to resort to putting out possessions on top of the radiator and just accept that our clothes would have to sit on a couple of stools.

The shower room was just as bad, with the shelf across the washbasin making it tricky to wash - weird, it would have bee easy to provide a little storage space in the room and to make the shower room more usable.

It spoiled what was otherwise a nice stay, mainly because my frustration level went through the roof and we ended up with less usable space than we have in our caravan, go figure!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms do have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darvi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your most recent stay at Rocksalt Rooms.

I am sorry to hear that you found the room was short on storage space. I do appreciate that our rooms maybe lack some of the floorspace and traditional storage space of an average hotel room however our rooms have been cleverly designed to make the most of the space that we do have whilst staying in keeping with the minimilistic and rustic feel of the rooms themselves.

I am disappointed that this seemed to reflect negatively on your stay however I do hope that the rest of your time with us at Rocksalt helped to redeem this and you enjoyed your birthday celebrations overall.

Kind Regards
Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We only stayed one night but wished we had stayed longer. The Valentine room was absolutely lovely. Great views over the harbour and a super comfy bed. In the morning a delicious breakfast was delivered to our room in a little hamper so we had a nice relaxing start to the day. Staff there are very friendly and helpful. Food over in the restaurant was great too. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bromleyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your most recent visit to Rocksalt Rooms.

I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Valentine is a stunning room with amazing views over the harbour and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy your complimentary breakfast hamper in bed whilst looking out at the sea!

Thank you once again for your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rocksalt.

Kind Regards
Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

These rooms are actually very difficult to find and there isn't an actual reception desk. Instead, you must "check in" at the restaurant Rocksalt across the street. The rooms are lovely but small. Well appointed with some thoughtful details and some great shabby chic decor. There are two options for breakfast: an included continental basket with pastries and juice or a full english breakfast at the restaurant for 10 pounds. Unfortunately the very heavy and unique doors in the hotel slam and shake the entire building every time someone goes in or out and it is VERY loud. There are also no fans in the rooms so on overly warm days it is uncomfortable to sleep. Great location on the marina in folkestone with some pubs nearby. One big downfall were attempts to eat at both the Rocksalt bar and the Smokehouse (sister restaurant below the hotel rooms). Apparently you need reservations for just about everything and at the smokehouse we were told that even though the party that was taking up the entire restaurant were not yet there it was impossible to get food even from the takeout side of the restaurant. Another night we attempted to go to the Rocksalt bar not wanting to dress up for the restaurant and the entire bar was reserved. Disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldwidelunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay at Rocksalt Rooms. I am delighted that you enjoyed the room however I am sorry to hear that you faced difficulties getting a reservation for both Rocksalt Restaurant and The Smokehouse.

Sadly, without a reservation, and especially on a busy weekend night, it can prove difficult to seat everyone who wishes to dine with us however we do endeavour to assist all of our rooms guests in getting their requested time if at all possible. When you decide to stay with us again I would love it if you could telephone me directly to make the reservation whereby I can also book you a lovely table in the restaurant at the same time to ensure you get exactly the time you want.

I look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Kind Regards
Sarah Wentz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
0.7 mi away
10to12 Folkestone
10to12 Folkestone
#1 of 26 in Folkestone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocksalt Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocksalt Rooms

Property: Rocksalt Rooms
Address: 1-3 Back Street, Folkestone CT19 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocksalt Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rocksalt Rooms are the perfect way to enjoy the beauty of Folkestone Harbour, or indeed to start or finish a meal with us in either of our restaurants. We have four boutique bolt holes, each with their own personality and dressed with Egyptian cotton, original antique beds, flat screen televisions and wet rooms. With stunning sea views, the rooms are situated on Folkestone Harbour and are just a short walk from Rocksalt restaurant and The Creative Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rocksalt Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocksalt Rooms Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing