We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend get-away”
Review of Rocksalt Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocksalt Rooms
Ranked #8 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Having never been to Folkestone, but always having wanted to visit Rocksalt the restaurant, my partner and I were delighted to find out that they also had rooms, so booked one for a weekend break.

The room was bijou, but very well appointed, with a nice wet shower room, and a very comfortable bed. Even better was the fact that we had a sea facing room and could fling open the window to allow the light into the room.

We often stay in more expensive hotels where despite the fact you pay twice as much for the room, you get get less for your money. This room came with a cafetiere, a large bottle of water, some fruit, and a gorgeous breakfast hamper left outside the room on the Sunday morning.

We dined in the restaurant on Saturday night, and have to report that this was also exceptional, so all round, a lovely weekend, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rustytravellerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a super "mini break"!

We hope to see you again sometime!

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We've stayed at the Rocksalt rooms three times now and have loved it each visit. This time we were upgraded to the sea view top floor room which has an airy vaulted ceiling, really comfy bed and gorgeous exposed brickwork. For a couple for one night it's perfect for us - just a 1 minute stroll from the restaurant means we can be curled up asleep within 10 minutes of having our Sunday lunch. The perfect way to spend Sunday afternoon! The iPod docks are a great addition in the rooms.
We haven't bothered with breakfast on any of our stays as we've either left really early in the morning or late on Sunday evening after sleeping off the lunchtime alcohol.
We will definitely stay again next time we visit Rocksalt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Many thanks for your review - so glad you had a great stay!

Hope to see you again soon and hope you can stay for that breakfast!

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Situated above the Rocksalt chip shop, there is always the scent of chip fat hovering around what are beautiful rooms. The decor is contemporary rustic and the beds are wonderfully comfortable, but the smell lets it down (despite the plug in room fragrance in each room) and therefore I couldn't give it full marks.
Breakfast is great! But my husband definitely left his high quality tweed hat in the room hanging on the back of the door, but when he called them to enquire about it, they said that they had not found it. So someone who works there, or subsequently stayed there, now has a very nice hat for free. Therefore the integrity of their employers is questionable, and thus loses the otherwise lovely rooms a further point.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lisakingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Many thanks for your review.

We do have a lost property box and unfortunately it seems that your hat was not handed in as lost property. We are so sorry that you lost it. Our cleaner does check the rooms thoroughly each day and she has no recollection of finding a hat. However, please do call us if you would like to discuss this with us any further on 01303 212070.

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The rooms we stayed in (a double and single - suite for up to 3 people) was beautifully designed and lovely to look at. We stayed for one night, so finding somewhere to put our clothes wasn't an issue but if we had wanted to hang things up/put them away or if there had been three of us, it would have been a bit of a challenge. There were only two stools to sit on. The contents of the breakfast hamper were delicous but without a table to eat at, we juggled our food on our laps. We didn't book the cooked breakfast as we aren't large breakfast people, but in retrospect it would have been a smoother start to the day! Otherwise, lovely location, comfortable bed and compact but usable wet room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Many thanks for your review.

I am sorry that you had some issues with your recent stay with us.

If you would like to call in and speak to one of the team to discuss this any further please do contact us on 01303 212070.

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Rocksalt Rooms one very windy January night. The room (kittens, I think) was cosy enough - a little big for us, but nonetheless cosy. Unfortunately they are above a fish and chip shop, with the slight smell of grease that comes with that territory. For the most part they've managed to mask this with various scents. There was no view from our room, either.

My major issue, and the reason I've gone for 2 stars rather than 3, is that I left something in the room, knew exactly where I had left it, and yet when I phoned up to ask them if they had found it, they told me that they would check with housekeeping and lost property and phone me back. They didn't. I had to chase them, and was sorely disappointed when they told me the item had not been found. Given that I am completely certain that I left the item in the room, and exactly where I left it, this is rather unbelievable! Sorry Salt Rooms, you'll have to do better.

Room Tip: insist on a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I am sorry that we were unable to locate your lost property. We do have a lost property box which our chambermaid puts items into that have been left. I am so sorry that on this occasion we couldn't locate it.

If you would like to call us to discuss this in any further details please do ring in to one of the team on 01303 212070.

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had a night in one of the 4 rooms at Rocksalt in Folkstone. Really lovely place. Had a harbour view. Sadly Folkstone is a shabby old place but Rocksalt is in a very different league. Right on the harbour. Beautifully decorated. Small but very chic and boutiquey. Very friendly staff and great food in the restaurant. We had their winter warmer deal. £120 for a night plus dinner and breakfast - can't go wrong with that.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so glad you had a nice time. We sincerely hope you can stay with us again soon.

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Fergy, overlooking the harbour, is a beautifully situated bedroom in the B&B part of Rocksalt sandwiched between fishing huts and shiney cobbles. The big, fluffy four-poster bed dominated our room which was well appointed for an overnight stay. But for no longer than an overnight stay. The wet room lacked adequate shelf space to store toiletries and the sumptuous towels refused to stay on any hooks, so the wet floor became the storage space.

Room Tip: Overlooking the harbour.......we changed our pillows to the opposite end of the bed and watched the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.8 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
201 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
1 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
516 reviews
0.7 mi away
10to12 Folkestone
10to12 Folkestone
#1 of 26 in Folkestone
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Relish
The Relish
#4 of 26 in Folkestone
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocksalt Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocksalt Rooms

Address: 4-5 Fishmarket, Folkestone CT19 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range: £81 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocksalt Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rocksalt Rooms are the perfect way to enjoy the beauty of Folkestone Harbour, or indeed to start or finish a meal with us in either of our restaurants. We have four boutique bolt holes, each with their own personality and dressed with Egyptian cotton, original antique beds, flat screen televisions and wet rooms. With stunning sea views, the rooms are situated on Folkestone Harbour and are just a short walk from Rocksalt restaurant and The Creative Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Rocksalt Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocksalt Rooms Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing