We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ice”
Review of Bello Gelato

Bello Gelato
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Folkestone
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Folkestone institution for many years, best ice cream for many miles, it must be in !
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice ice”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Only place to go in Folkestone for Italian ice cream really............ Favourite of the kids too. I don't need 50 characters to describe this

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RietUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing ice cream”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Without a doubt the best ice cream in the Shepway area. A great range of flavours made in house. Takeaway tubs available. Trust me if you're visiting Folkestone in the summer it is a must! THE TASTE IS INCREDIBLE

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lewisburnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You'll think you've died and gone to Heaven”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I've never, ever tasted better ice cream. It is made fresh every day and the flavours available depends on what fruit is available when the buyer goes to Market.

They also do sorbets and they close during the winter months, but if you are in Folkestone on a hot day, make sure you buy ice cream from them. Its not to be missed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never tasted better icecream, even in Italy”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

British icecream is a very variable experience. Most places offer mediocre, mass-produced bland frozen dairy products that are barely recognizable as icecream, which means you have to resort to making your own or finding a good source, and in La Casa Del Gelato you won't find better. It's tucked away on a side-street with a few other little shops (the kitchen shop next door but one is really good fyi), and can and does easily go unnoticed. The fact that it's still going despite it's location and the lack of real advertising or significant expansion (as far as I know the owners have resisted their non-Folkestone patron's urgings to set-up or franchise in other towns), is testament to the sheer quality of their product. Every icecream and sorbet I have tasted there (and I've been going for years now) has been fantastic, with smooth texture (small crystals) and a beautiful balance of flavours. Mainstream icecreams such as Ben and Jerry's and Haagen-Daz tend to go for very sweet, inoffensive and on occasion, bland flavours, but here the flavours pack a punch, in particular the dark chocolate icecream and strawberry sorbet. Even in Italy I've only been to a couple of gelaterias that were the equal of La Casa Del Gelato. The prices are extremely reasonable too.
My only complaint is that, as I see has been mentioned by other reviewers, the service is seldom friendly. Luckily for us and them, it's a take-away only location, but it would be a tremendous benefit to all concerned if the servers could be encouraged to be a little less terse (people buy more when they receive friendly service, folks, come on!).
Overall though, if you're in Folkestone, or even just looking for a few hours to kill on the way to your ferry, this place is well worth your time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F_F_S_276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than Ben and Jerry's”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

As a local (ish) it is a real treat for myself, family and friends to have an ice cream from ''The Ice Cream Shop''. I personally love ice cream and you cant get any better than this. The orange, carrot and lemon sorbet is a winner, especially with the white chocolate ice cream. Don't just drive past this place, a true hidden gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tia2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bello Gelato also viewed

 
Sandgate, Folkestone
 

Been to Bello Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing