We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we wanted”

Kentmere Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kentmere Guest House
Ranked #18 of 29 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This was perfect. Near the tunnel, cheap and spotlessly clean. We wanted a quick getaway for an early train to France and after arriving very late (the owner arranged for someone to wait up for our late arrival) we were pleasantly surprised. Don't expect the ritz but it is clean, convenient and exactly right for what we needed; a family room. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
8
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,157 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

For only £60 a night this is excellent value. Room 7 is at the top of the building, is nicely decorated, comfortable and has all the amenities you'd expect, tea and coffee, TV, free wifi, toiletries There's a good view of the downs above Folkestone from the window. Our host could not have been more friendly, breakfast was very good and we would definately return. Our room was not huge, there's no lift and it's not on the sea front but then that's reflected in the reasonable price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Owner was looking out for me as she knew, which train I was on. I arrived earlier than official check-in time. She carried my case up to the room and down the next morning. She was very helpful.
The room was very small, but OK. The bathroom was tiny. Bath stuff provided. There was plenty.
Extra pillows were provided when asked.
Hospital tray was filled very generously including 8 milks for a single room.
My breakfast was offered a bit earlier than listed time, as I was ready. It was nice, freshly cooked and porridge was made, when I asked.
The price was good, just £29.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, Essex, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for one night before taking Eurotunnel. Arrived mid evening. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Room was not luxurious was absolutely fine for the night. Shower good. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very good. Only slight complaint would be that the facilities stated free parking. I assumed this was on site but found it was street parking round the corner! Not sure if this is Expedia or the owner but is misleading.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

stayed here as worked in area and its decent value for money (paid less than £30) and get cereals toast coffee fruit juice aswell in morning, no parking on site but plenty of spaces nearby , rooms are cosey and ideal for me in single room , bed,tv tea and coffee stuff , shower room/toilet is bit tight and caravan like but able to do what need to do . Lady who run it was very friendly and made the effort to converse and made clear always available if needed anything or any problems. would definatly stay here for a night if need to be in folkestone early next day

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thechelskiranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed ahead of Eurotunnel journey and location 10m away. Very clean B&B and family run, with very nice owners. Family room was nice enough with pleasant touches but the main issue was the size of the bathroom - very small is an understatement. Breakfast okay but basic. Location good for ET but parking close by is difficult, and worried overnight about car being two streets away and fully loaded for the trip.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paddy2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night ready for a early morning ferry from Dover. The Hotel is on a main street and parking is abit hit and miss but there is plenty about. The host was very welcoming and very friendly and after abit of a hike to the top floor we were very surprised of the size of the room, 2 adults in a very large comfy bed and 2 single beds for the 2 kids, tv and coffee/tea making however the bathroom is very small but at least it's in the room.
As we were off early to catch a early ferry the host left us a cool box with a basic breakfast, nothing to write home about but a nice thought all the same.
Overall we found this a very clean friendly nice hotel and a pleasure to stay and it would of been nice to see what the breakfast was like. We would stay here again but again only as a stop gap before we get a early ferry.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davige01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.4 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentmere Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentmere Guest House

Property: Kentmere Guest House
Address: 76 Cheriton Road, Folkestone CT20 1DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kentmere Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kentmere Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentmere Guest House Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing