We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Wards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wards Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I went and stayed at Wards Hotel I really enjoyed it there the bar is very nice to sit in you have tall chairs and sofas which is nice , dinning area has been done to a high stander , food is exilent Bedroom has unsuit in which has a bath with a shower over which is also nice to have a choice very nicely done out ,towels and shower gels was supplied.I was there on my own and everyone was so friendly it was a lovely time I had at the Ward Hotel. Would hope to go again.

Room Tip: I would say any room as the hotel is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    89
    19
    2
    5
See reviews for
65
124
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosmalen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

For us the Wards hotel was just for one night on our journey back home. We where pleasantly surprised. Good value for money we think. Whilst talking to the owner/manager we found out that he has taken over this hotel since 12-12-12 and is planning to refurbish it completely. He already started that and it really shows. The outside looks fresh and clean, garden needs a bit of TLC but given time that will be fine we are sure. The room we had was a bit on the small side but as it had been refurbished already you can see that he is absolutely doing it to a good standard with respect for the Edwardian building. Dinner in the restaurant was good value for money we chose from the Pan Asian menu. Location was perfect for us as it is just a short drive to the channel tunnel. Having said that we are certainly thinking about staying there for two nights next time so that we also have the opportunity to have a look in Folkestone itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchcouple040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Went down to folkestone for a wedding and stayed for two nights. The room was very clean and comfortable. Very easy to park with the car park at the rear and a quick walk to the town centre. Staff very helpful and pleasant. As good as some 4 and 5 star hotels we have stayed in. Cant find anything negative to say at all. Thanks very much. Chris and Amy

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Hilaire-le-Chateau, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The room was clean but tired, the fixtures and fittings were dated and the old spa bath put me off using it except as a shower. The breakfast was very good and there were tea and coffee facilities in the room. there was no air conditioning and the room was single glazed which meant that you were awoken to seagulls screeching at first light.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment and the room that we were allocated was still to be upgraded however, the room was clean and very spacious with tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TV and table with two chairs. The large en-suite bathroom was clean and had complementary soap etc. Evening meals are available with a choice from the Daily Specials as well as a la carte. We chose from the specials and were really impressed by both the food and the presentation. Breakfast was excellent, hot food on hot plates. There is a private car park behind the hotel which is very useful as on street parking is used by the local residents. The only down side was that there isn't a lift but this may be in the refurbishment plans? The staff were helpful and efficient and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We recently had our Daughter & Son-in-law's Wedding reception at Wards, it was extremely well organised and the staff was so helpful and efficient. The food was delicious and served quickly so no table was left waiting for long, all my family and friends really enjoyed themselves.
Their wedding day went so smoothly, something you need after the stress before hand.
I would also recomend family visitors staying at the hotel, eleven friends and family stayed the night after the reception and the rooms were very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was delicious, nothing we asked was too much for the really lovely proprietor.
I strongly recommend this Hotel whether to stay for a night or weekend or to hold a function, I know we shall be using them again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool. UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is very good value. Lovely large bedroom, comfy bed and excellent breakfast. Ideal for single night or longer stay. the restaurant offers Aisan food and although we were not there long enough to try it if the breakfast was anything to go by it would be good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanHBlackpool_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.3 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wards Hotel

Property: Wards Hotel
Address: 39 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wards Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wards hotel is a spacious detached Edwardian Property. As a family run hotel, we recognise varied needs of our guests from business travellers, to touring holiday makers. Wards Hotel was built in 1901 as part of the Lord Radnor Estate. All rooms are on the first or second floor. We have rooms suitable for family accommodation - for your convenience we can offer you a cot, a highchair and children's meals. We also have a free on site car park. Our A La Carte menu offers a wide of range of international dishes and a selection of vegetarian meals. Coffee and liquers can be served in the lounge after your meal. Our bar is equipped with a variety of wines, Scotch whiskies and non-alcoholic beverages. Wards hotel is ideally situated within close proximity of the M20 Motorway (0.21 miles), Harbour Ports (2-8 miles)and Channel Tunnel (2 miles), Wards is ideally situated for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Wards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wards Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing