We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Meal & Disco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wards Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas Meal & Disco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

From the moment of arrival we warmly welcomed, the decor was really nice and the staff very friendly. Prices at the bar were very good, none of the usual hotel shock prices and then we went for dinner.

The service and standard of the food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble, everything was served quickly and was piping hot a real pleasure.

The small party and disco we had later was well staffed and all the members in our party had a great time.

Well done Wards.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    87
    17
    2
    5
See reviews for
64
113
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Good location in a quiet street with parking outside/ on site which is a bonus in my book. 6 of us stayed for 1 night prior to visiting Bruges via Tunnel crossing. We had 1 twin, 1 double and a Suite and all were very spacious - and I mean v-e-r-y ! Breakfast is served from menu choice so no bun-fight at the buffet which made for a really nice change. The quality of breakfast was also very good and all freshly cooked (as indicated by the short waiting time which IMO is very reassuring). This hotel certainly deserves its placing on the TA scoreboard and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontourUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The food was tasteful and the service exceeded my expectations. All staff were attentive and friendly and the interior is very tasteful, which you might not necessarily imagine from the outside. This is one of the best restaurants and hotels in this area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here 3 nights for a half term break as we had not visited this area before. This is a delightful little hotel within easy walking distance of the sea front. We had a newly refurbished room which was very large and with an extremely comfortable bed and pleasant furnishings. The staff were very friendly and efficient. We sampled the Pan Asian menu on our final night and were very impressed - good food and good value. This hotel can be recommended for a short stay in Folkestone and we would not waste time even thinking about another hotel in this area.Before we arrived we were informed that the restaurant would be closed from 5pm on the Sunday which was not a problem as we went to a first class Nepalese restaurant called The Ghurka Palace.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

First thing to say is that we did not book this hotel but were diverted as the other hotel was was full. I really like this hotel because the staff really care. Yes things could be better but you do not notice because the staff are great. Room seven and stayed on night of storm and yes they finished at five but not before we were settled.. Yes you may stay somewhere poster but they will not beat the service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauliood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Malling, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Colin, the current owner, took over in December 2012 and has started a stylish and long overdue refurbishment of the hotel. What some of the rooms currently lack in finesse is more than compensated by Colin's heroic efforts to deliver a first-rate customer experience - his unsolicited donation to my 8 year old's sponsored walk to Dover was quite unnecessary, but very gratefully received.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RELYONRUPEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were greeted warmly and the staff were so pleasant. I disagree with the last review, a number of rooms and areas have been redecorated and look wonderful, but my understanding in talking to the owner, its a big project to take on but its appears to be a labour of love and it shows. As opposed the previous reviewer complaining about not be able to get water in the room, we still drank from the tap and it was fine, and, we asked the staff for a jug of water and it was not much trouble to provide this, simples! I too did ask about the restuarant closing at 5 on Sunday, but as I found out and this is normal but it was no trouble, just meant I had to use what god gave me, my feet or car which was no trouble, and as for not getting a fresh jug of water after this time, just asked the staff, and again it was provided, again, simples, not worth a moan for! The room was huge, clean and peaceful with a lovely comfortable bed, you could hold a ball in the room which was great as it felt like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Speak to the owner or when you book about any needs or requirments you may want in a room, I found t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galilee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wards Hotel

Property: Wards Hotel
Address: 39 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wards hotel is a spacious detached Edwardian Property. As a family run hotel, we recognise varied needs of our guests from business travellers, to touring holiday makers. Wards Hotel was built in 1901 as part of the Lord Radnor Estate. All rooms are on the first or second floor. We have rooms suitable for family accommodation - for your convenience we can offer you a cot, a highchair and children's meals. We also have a free on site car park. Our A La Carte menu offers a wide of range of international dishes and a selection of vegetarian meals. Coffee and liquers can be served in the lounge after your meal. Our bar is equipped with a variety of wines, Scotch whiskies and non-alcoholic beverages. Wards hotel is ideally situated within close proximity of the M20 Motorway (0.21 miles), Harbour Ports (2-8 miles)and Channel Tunnel (2 miles), Wards is ideally situated for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wards Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing