We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wards Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chandos Premier Guest House(Folkestone)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Relish(Folkestone)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Norfolk Hotel(Sandgate)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel(Folkestone)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wycliffe Guest House(Folkestone)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rob Roy Guest House(Folkestone)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand(Folkestone)
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
199
111
23
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
111
23
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedsunday carveryleaving earlylovely bathroomexecutive roomsea frontexcellent breakfastcomfortable hotelvisit folkestonebath and showerfantastic hoteltown centrestayed here for one nightenjoyable stayroom was largecontinental breakfastfollowing morning
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a lovely building with alot of character. The hotelier was very welcoming and friendly. The room was very well decorated and the bed very comfortable. It was very quiet despite being on a town road in Folkestone. It was in easy walking distance of restaurants although we could have eaten in the hotel ( have heard good reviews on restaurant food)The breakfast was included and was a lovely full English. Thankyou for a lovely stay :-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Esmeralda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed here with my 4 year old daughter last weekend before our ferry crossing over to France. I was so impressed with the friendly and accommodating reception we received from the owner Connan during our short stay and how especially good all the staff were with my daughter. Our room was really spacious, stylish and clean and the bed was absolutely A-mazingly comfortable. I had such a good nights sleep despite the fierce storm outside which was a god send as our onward journey to France was a longer than I'd anticipated. As for the food, well I'm sure you couldn't find a better restaurant in town! My food was exceptional and once again they went out of their way to accommodate my daughters odd food requirements. I will definitely be returning to Wards hotel next time i'm in Folkestone and would recommend it to anyone with or without kids.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brentmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights after exhausting transatlantic trip. Connan and the staff were exceptionally attentive and responsive to every request. The bed was both elegant and perfect for a good night's sleep. The restaurant exceeded our expectations in both variety of cuisine (eg traditional English and pan-Asian) and quality. As noted in other reviews, renovations are in progress, so not every detail of the hotel is perfect, just yet. Location,btw, is convenient and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CG121212, Owner at Wards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It's very good to hear you found our service 'exceptionally attentive and responsive to every request' and enjoyed such a good night' s sleep.

As you note, renovations are in progress. We're enchanted by your follow-up comment: 'so not every detail of the hotel is perfect, just yet.' Do come back soon and see how far down the road to perfection we've traveled! Very best wishes, Mr Gupta..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at Ward's as a family group of four the night before our crossing to France. From the moment I booked, I felt that this was a good choice. The emails from the owner were friendly and helpful. We stayed on a Sunday night in late October, the night of one of the very bad storms and high winds on the south coast. The care and consideration shown to us by staff regarding our safety and comfort were commendable. The two rooms that we were allocated were both spacious, clean and very comfortable. One of them was one of the refurbished rooms but they were both of a very high standard. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. I really cannot fault this hotel and it is excellent value for money. Its in a very good location, near to the seafront and town but in a nice quiet road. The sleep quality would have been very good if it had not been for the high winds. Not the fault of the hotel though! I'm looking for an excuse to go to Folkestone so that we can stay at Ward's. Maybe another Eurotunnel crossing!

Room Tip: All rooms seem very nice
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KipperDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CG121212, Owner at Wards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We're delighted to hear you were so pleased with your choice of Wards and during your stay with us. This is the sort of review that makes a pleasure to come to work in the morning. It's wonderful to know you found the rooms 'spacious, clean and very comfortable' and enjoyed breakfast.

You say 'I'm looking for an excuse to go to Folkestone so that we can stay at Ward's.' It's looking like a glorious summer and there's the terrific Folkestone Triennial coming up ... ! We're very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks again, Mr Gupta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife stayed here last week and was most impressed. She said:
The hotel was spotless and after talking to the owner he informed her that he has already completed 30% of the renovation programme which was evident in the reception/bar/restaurant area, Although her room was one of the older ones it was spacious and very clean. Once the renovations are fully completed Folkestone will have a "little gem". Nothing is too much trouble for the owner or his staff who are all charming and helpful - what more could you want. She's not a big breakfast eater but said what she saw being served to the other guests looked very good.
The very best of luck to Connan and Wards Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews