We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, convenient location”
Review of Wards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wards Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Unfortunately, our arrival to this hotel was delayed so whilst we didn't experience the hotel's facilities and its surroundings, we had a lovely nights sleep in one of the recently refurbished rooms, the bed was really comfy, and the full English breakfast was cracking. The staff were very helpful and we would be happy to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alfiedog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Wards Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very comfortable rooms with every facility for both holiday and business travel.
Excellent location with easy access to the Channel Tunnel, in a quiet street, but very near Leas Promenade, and within walking distance of several great restaurants.
Fantastic welcoming and helpful staff who are extremely thoughtful of their customers! Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark-Sabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We recently stayed overnight on our way to France via a Dover ferry. The hotel is well situated, with easy access to the promenade area and a short walk to restaurants and shops. The staff were extremely helpful, going out of their way to make sure we were looked after. The recently-refurbished room was spacious and comfortable and, overall, it was good value. We will use the hotel again on our next trip.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank candd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just spent a very enjoyable stay at wards. 9 of us in 4 rooms on the 1st floor. Went to folkestone for a family wedding and stayed 4 nights and it`s hardly surprising that wards tops the list of hotels to stay in! The owner and ALL of his staff just want to go the extra mile to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. If you`re going to Folkestone, just book to stay in Wards!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Mr Gupta and his staff made sure our stay here was perfect. We were in Folkestone for the air show and stayed here for two nights. They are currently refurbishing the hotel and although we stayed in one of the rooms which had not been done yet, it was spacious and clean with a large en suite bathroom. The communal areas, including the bar, that had been refurbished were very tastefully done. The full English breakfast included in our room rate was delicious and the staff could not have been more accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel. Chris and Brian.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 158Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wards is well located a few minutes walk from The Leas. The owner/manager was charming and welcoming, keen to do everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious and our bed was very comfortable - two good nights' sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingManandMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel and would definitely recommend it! The beds were very comfortable, nice big room and bathroom. The hotel is only a few streets away from the Leas promenade and the centre of Folkestone. Breakfast very good, and the owner very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CG121212, Owner at Wards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Huge thanks for your lovely review: it really made our day. We were delighted you found Wards so comfortable and well-placed.

We take our guests' overnight rest extremely seriously: our beds offer orthopedic support with your comfort in mind.

I hope I have the pleasure of seeing you both again soon. Mr Gupta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,711 reviews
0.3 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
457 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.4 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wards Hotel

Address: 39 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wards hotel is a spacious detached Edwardian Property. As a family run hotel, we recognise varied needs of our guests from business travellers, to touring holiday makers. Wards Hotel was built in 1901 as part of the Lord Radnor Estate. All rooms are on the first or second floor. We have rooms suitable for family accommodation - for your convenience we can offer you a cot, a highchair and children's meals. We also have a free on site car park. Our A La Carte menu offers a wide of range of international dishes and a selection of vegetarian meals. Coffee and liquers can be served in the lounge after your meal. Our bar is equipped with a variety of wines, Scotch whiskies and non-alcoholic beverages. Wards hotel is ideally situated within close proximity of the M20 Motorway (0.21 miles), Harbour Ports (2-8 miles)and Channel Tunnel (2 miles), Wards is ideally situated for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wards Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing