We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but still good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed for the stars in your eyes weekend,second visit,food had gone down a bit from last year but still better than other brit group hotels such as Norbreck.You needed to wipe the plates as they were very wet at each meal and plates were cold !Room was clean and tv got more than 8 channels all watchable surprize surprize.Looked out onto a rear yard which was strewn with rubbish and builders rubble etc.I know the adjacent building is being refurbished but feel more effort could be made to keep the area tidy.Furniture in room was well worn and rickety and walls very thin.Bingo prizes were small compared to number of players.Entertainment varied Fri and Sat nights a bit drab but Sun night saw return of resident host (Steve Terry I think )who was very good.The bingo caller was irritating and more suitable as a childrens entertainer perhaps! Shame the average age was more like 60. The hotel is sadly located in a bit of a rundown area but remains a reasonable value for money break.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toptrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear toptrav

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor.

Your comments about parts of the hotel looking tired, have been noted, we are as you have noticed, we are in the process of renewing and refurbishing areas of the hotel, sadly the builders area can become a little untidy, but I’ve passed this comment on the site for his review.

The entertainment can always be very subjective, I’m pleased you found our resident compare Steve Terry enjoyable, his shows are very popular.

Thank for pointing out our value for money packages, and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,344 - 3,350 of 3,784 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

very busy when we were there just before xmas last year, room was warm and clean with very comfy bed , dining room was very busy but the staff cope very well and we didnt have to queue once , cabaret was great and the bar area was nice and comfortable , nice hotel, better than i expected , location is great right on the harbour with great channel views, very handy for dover ferries which is the reason we chose this hotel ,

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manwinoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear mallcum

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your break, its true we do often get busy; our products are very popular with breakfast, dinner, and evening entertainment. All at great value prices.

Thank you for commenting on the location we are only 20 mins from the Dover port and 8 mins from the euro tunnel terminal. I’m pleased you enjoyed your channel view

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

If it sounds cheap it's because it is: old and dirty...and the breakfast is genuinely disgusting. And the service is not good either!

Room Tip: choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dowatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear Dowatts


After reading your short review I noticed that you didn’t come to reception or speak to anyone about any of your concerns, if you had, I’m sure we could have made your stay and enjoyable one.

We active encourage any guest to speak with the team during their stay

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The room was clean, comfortable and well-furnished. The bathroom was not sparkling, but that's hard to achieve in a hard water area. The lifts are somewhat unnerving - slow to respond and given to ominous clanking. My main gripe is with the restaurant/food. The 'Harbour Restaurant' is a cafeteria/buffet system, and I got the feeling that costs were the main concern. The soup was watery, and the cooked meat dishes looked and tasted like they'd been kept warm far too long. The selection of salads was ok, and the fruit salad was good - a variety of fresh and tinned fruits including some [amazingly] that are quite pricey. The coffee and tea served in the 'Brasserie' after the evening meal were undrinkable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear Carol347


Thank for review on trip advisor

It is true that our 'Harbor Restaurant' is a buffet style self service, arrangement but the majority of our guests find our selection plentiful and tasty. I’m sorry you didn’t find this to your liking.

We are a two star hotel that provides a value for money package, in comfortable clean accommodation, with home style cooked food.

It’s not clear from your review if you spoke to anyone from the catering team, as we always try our best to meet guest’s expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Stayed in this hotel for five days on a coach trip we had a very enjoyable stay our room was clean and comfortable,the food was good and there was plenty of it.The staff were all very pleasant and worked very hard and seemed to work long hours and they still managed a smile.The entertainment team who were all staff at the hotel did an excellent job in keeping everyone happy.We will certainly visit this hotel again as it is excellent value

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boston67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear boston67_11

Thank for taking the time to post a positive review on trip advisor, its always good to get great feedback

Your comments about our friendly staff have been passed back to the team

Once again, thank you the review

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

arrived at Grand Burstin on friday evening, hotel was packed with coach loads of people. Check in was quite slow.
room was spacious, airy, clean and an excellent view of the Harbour. bed not so comfy....
Dining room could only be described as a school canteen, food was not brilliant- good choice, all you can eat but not very tasty,,,
Bar area was spacious and drinks were very reasonable price
Brasserie was excellent value but food selection limited....
hotel exterior was very noisy on Saturday night until really late due to a pub close by......
during our stay someone decided to back into our car and push it back 2ft and smash numberplate, maintenance man said he spotted the damage earlier in day but did not report it. The duty manager had what i could only describe as a couldnt care attitude and they made it clear there was nothing they could do........cctv was sited too high so of no use.
hotel is good if you are happy to be nestled in with hundreds of coach passengers but not somewhere we would return to..

Room Tip: always go for the premier rooms as have excellents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnbanf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear dawnbanf74

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor

The evening 3 choice 3 course buffet, normally provides something to every ones liking, but can be a little subjective, what one person finds not spicy, another may find it to spicy and so on, so we try to find a happy medium with all our food provided.

I’m pleased you liked our brassiere, we do provide a good bar menu, it looks like maybe this was not available for you to read, (I has passed this comment back to the catering manager)

We try to be very competitive with our drinks, and offer a happy hour’s during most packages.

I remember the unfortunate incident with your car in the car park, the Duty Manager did look through the CCTV for you but due to the angle of the camera nothing was available for you.

I’m sorry for found them unhelpful however they did try their best, it’s just a shame another guests driving has tarnished your break.

Look forward to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We were staying in Canterbury for the week end and as we had not been to Folkstone before we thought we would take advantage of a cheap hotel and see that area over the Bank Holiday.
Our room was in the C wing which had a Harbour view.The room and bathroom were clean as was the beding and towels with extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe
We were recomended to try the carvery by an employee working at the hotel that evening and we were not dissapointed.We had our breakfast in the same room and this was also OK ,We did not go to the entertainment so cant coment
It is a tired hotel but improvements are being made
For the money charged I think it was very good value

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thepearofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear thepearofus

Thank you for recent review on trip advisor

Britannia hotels, and the Grand Burstin always try to provide a value for money service, and I’m pleased this is what you had over the bank holiday weekend.

The evening carvery doesn’t normally disappoint with its variety of choices, I’m very pleased a member of the team recommended it to you, and that you had an enjoyable dining experience.

The hotel is a little tired in places, but it’s good that you noticed that we are making improvements towards this, thank you

Look forward to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £26 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing