We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I wanted to write this review because having been excited about a 3 day package from Folkstone to Bruges all inclusive package with National Holidays, I was really looking forward to a lovely break. Not to be! We set off at 0835 on Monday and arrived in Folkestone at 1645 hours looking forward to our evening meal, it was nice Caserole steak and veg, then the entertainment!! well what can I say, the function room was freezing and everyone was sat there with their coats on waiting for the bar to open. The entertainment was background music in the way of an organ and all the old people were dancing doing the waltz, foxtrot etc. Then Bingo and the staff doing their own entertainment. Not recommended for someone looking for a restful couple of days, it was hectic and you only spend three hours in Bruges.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddieOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,183 - 3,189 of 3,804 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

Date of stay 1 December 2011
We arrived at the hotel at 8.45pm only to find that the restaurant was closed. Reception staff appeared to have little idea as to where we could get a meal and offered the option of sandwiches from the bar. Not ideal, but better than nothing. We purchased two sandwiches which proved to be inedible due to the fact that they were frozen.
When we decided to retire for the evening, the room next to us was playing a TV extremely loudly ( and had been since we checked in). On contacting reception, the night receptionist was unable to tell if the room was occupied or not as he had no access to the computer system – all the keys were on a key rack. A member of staff duly appeared, the TV was turned down and we went to bed. Within five minutes, the noise started again and this time it took some 15 minutes to get it stopped.
And so to breakfast. This was served buffet style and shall we say, we’ve had better. The fried eggs would have mad very good frisbies and the scrambled would probably have made very good floor covering. Items were not being topped up very quickly and there were only flasks of tea and coffe and they emptied very fast and again not re-filled in any hurry.
There was inadequate parking for a hotel of this size, and the underground parking resembled a building site.
This hotel is tired, shabby and in serious need of refurbishment. Some staff training might go amiss either. All in all, this was a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su85286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My friends said to look at this hotel. cheap.we were on the sixth floor but there were lifts that go from g-6 and g-7 but were out of service i told the receptionist that i cant get up to my room and showed me to the lift next to it i pressed the button and a creepy voice said attention please this is the high speed lift serving floors 7-12 only for lower floors please use other lifts i went to reception and told them and they said there is buttons to all floors in it it will go slower or not move i took the stairs instead. in the morning i walked up to the 7th floor to get the high speed lift

Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank hotel4524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is an excellent coaching inn. I took a group here at the end of November for a Turkey and Tinsel weekend. There were no issues because this hotel gives value for money and everyting you could want is provided. The rooms are comfortable but not 5 star but are very clean and spacious. We enjoyed the spa and swimming and the food was quite good and plenty of it. There were smoking rooms and we would have booked some if we had known about them. Drinks were also available at 99p fpor residents - and we would have also made good use of this if we had known about it.

Room Tip: There are smokers rooms. All rooms seemed spacious and very clean. Some rooms were near the silly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woowoo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We have just come back from a two night stay at the Grand Burstin having never stayed before and sadly never will again.It was a cheap price but I would rather pay a bit more and get what we got in Bournemouth this time last year.The premier room had a lovely view but was quite small with small bathroom that needed the grouting looked at. It was disgusting! The whole place could do with some TLC. The food was terrrible in a noisy canteen style restaurant. We weren't told we could upgrade to the Victorian Restaurant, what a shame.Has the hotel changed hands????

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olwyn924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed here overnight prior to a flying visit next day to the french hypermarkets and would definately use this hotel again. Booked because of cheap price but were amazed at the value for money. Would advise ALWAYS upgrade to the Victorian Restaurant for £5 per person per night as Harbour Restaurant can get VERY busy. Room was nice and spacious, bed a little hard though, excellent view over harbour and sea right across to Dover. Hotel is a bit dated and a few issues with general maintenance stopped me giving it a 5 star review, didn't use the ballroom entertainment or the health club facilities so can't comment on those. Could do with more lifts though as had to wait quite often as a lot of people checking in as we arrived.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view and always upgrade to Victorian Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianL344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have stayed at the Grand Burstin on many occations and enjoyed the stay however this time i have to say that i was very dissapointed we were given a Premier room the room was very small the beds were clean but very small and not very nice to sleep on the staff were not as helpful as the other times we have stayed and as for the food it was not up to what we have had in the past the reason for this is i think many guests were on coach packages and the hotel was quite full, I was also angry thet when i went to the bar the were three lines one for free drinks one for drinks at 99 pence and one for full priced drinks I believe that if you are paying the same or more for your room then you should be treated the same, as for the Dinner and Breakfast again i was very dissapointed it was like a holiday camp and not a very good selection, sadly the hotel has let me down

Room Tip: I think this well be the last time we will stay at this hotel I feel my money is as good as anyones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £27 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing