We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was like Fawlty Towers!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Burstin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was like Fawlty Towers!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Firstly, I would like to make clear that I did not have incredibly high expectations, I usually stay in Premier Inns and I am always thrilled. I just wanted a clean hotel to spend one night before going to France the next day. First problem, was having booked a twin room we were given a key for a double room, with no indication that this was the case. We required single beds, and rang reception accordingly. We were told there weren t any, but there was a triple. We went back to collect the new key, but there was a lot of water dripping down from the ceiling in the new room.We rang the unapologetic reception, who said they would send someone to sort it out. The man arrived, he was exhausted and had run out of buckets there were so many leaks.He pulled down the polystyrene tile leaving a large black hole in the ceiling and covered it with a white towel. The rate of the leak meant the towel would fall down saturated in the middle of the night! Back to reception, and back to the original room with the promise of a put you up bed. It arrived, and as the man moved the bed , he revealed lots of rubble on the carpet. No vacuuming here then! The bed had springs poking through.We asked for a hair drier and were told they were locked away and could not be fetched until the morning.
We looked forward to breakfast, but were reliably informed to avoid the meat, that the scrambled eggs were made from powdered eggs, and that the bread is often out of date. The watered down juice washed it down nicely. The breakfast area resembled a school canteen , and all in all, I would NOT recommend this hotel. This hotel looks great in the photos, and probably once was, but it is now run down and in severe need of a refurbishment.

Room Tip: Arrive early so that you can get a decent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    861
    940
    521
    788
See reviews for
600
1,579
161
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

no problems with this hotel stayed for 4 days on breakfast and evening meal breakfast a little hectic as coaches were leaving early mornings evening meals we had no proplems a good veriety to chose from entertainment was good most nights but had a good night when i think the act was "steve terry" took of frank spencer realy good rooms very clean and warm tea and coffee in the room .staff very polite we will go again for the price we cannot complain had a great time

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, Surrey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Friday-Sunday trip arranged by our Wine Club. Big old hotel, suffering from closing of ferry service to France. Rooms fairly basic with super views. Mostly club and coach parties. Car parking OK but get in early. Two restaurants, use the Premium one, nicely furnished & airy, reasonable quality and varied food, self service. Good choices for dinner and breakfast, wine reasonably priced for the quality. The other is more plain with plastic tables and queues to get in. Large bar area but can get crowded. Entertainment not good, leggy dancers doing their best and a crooner and music far too loud, impossible to chat to your friends and it gets very crowded. Too much bingo.

Room Tip: As high up the hotel as possible, less noise from ballroom and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monron9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We used this hotel for 1 night following a day trip to Calais. It is in an excellent location in Fokestone Harbour - not far from Dover.
We did not arrive until 10pm but the staff were still very welcoming and our room was ready for us with plenty of toiletries and clean towels. We were also able to have a welcoming cup of tea in our room.
Following a good nights sleep, I made use of the on site swimming pool which was very refreshing before going to the Premier restaurant for our included cooked breakfast. There was plenty of choice for breakfast although it could have done with being a bit hotter (always a problem with buffet meals)
The only issue we had was that we were allocated a room on the 6th floor which we did not find out until afterwards was the smoking floor - the corridor and our room both smelt very smokey. We did not complain at the time due to our late arrival but would have if we had realised. It would help if customers were asked which type of room they required. I did not realise that hotels still had smoking rooms.
Overall I was very happy with my stay at this hotel which is very good value for money

Room Tip: Pick a room on the lower floors if you do not smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JASCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

After reading reviews on this hotel I can only say how suprised I was to find that the hotel although dated and in need of a bit of TLC turned out to be really good value, the bedrooom clean and comfy, in fact it was so warm we had to turn the heating off ! lashing of hot water with showergel, soap, hairdryer etc provided
After a nightmare journey back from Brugge on Thursday partly due to the terrible weather conditions we found that the restaurant staff had stayed on to provide us with a hot meal, well after it was supposed to close.
The meals are very canteen style, only staying for 3 days we did't try the alternative dining area
if you can get a deal that includes 3 hour free bar ( 7pm 10pm ) the wine is very quaffable !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I wanted to write this review because having been excited about a 3 day package from Folkstone to Bruges all inclusive package with National Holidays, I was really looking forward to a lovely break. Not to be! We set off at 0835 on Monday and arrived in Folkestone at 1645 hours looking forward to our evening meal, it was nice Caserole steak and veg, then the entertainment!! well what can I say, the function room was freezing and everyone was sat there with their coats on waiting for the bar to open. The entertainment was background music in the way of an organ and all the old people were dancing doing the waltz, foxtrot etc. Then Bingo and the staff doing their own entertainment. Not recommended for someone looking for a restful couple of days, it was hectic and you only spend three hours in Bruges.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddieOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Date of stay 1 December 2011
We arrived at the hotel at 8.45pm only to find that the restaurant was closed. Reception staff appeared to have little idea as to where we could get a meal and offered the option of sandwiches from the bar. Not ideal, but better than nothing. We purchased two sandwiches which proved to be inedible due to the fact that they were frozen.
When we decided to retire for the evening, the room next to us was playing a TV extremely loudly ( and had been since we checked in). On contacting reception, the night receptionist was unable to tell if the room was occupied or not as he had no access to the computer system – all the keys were on a key rack. A member of staff duly appeared, the TV was turned down and we went to bed. Within five minutes, the noise started again and this time it took some 15 minutes to get it stopped.
And so to breakfast. This was served buffet style and shall we say, we’ve had better. The fried eggs would have mad very good frisbies and the scrambled would probably have made very good floor covering. Items were not being topped up very quickly and there were only flasks of tea and coffe and they emptied very fast and again not re-filled in any hurry.
There was inadequate parking for a hotel of this size, and the underground parking resembled a building site.
This hotel is tired, shabby and in serious need of refurbishment. Some staff training might go amiss either. All in all, this was a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Su85286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing