We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe the bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
droylsden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't believe the bad reviews”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed at the Burstin for 3 nights on National coach break. I was worried about the negative reviews, but on reading some I realised they were either not specific to the quality of the hotel or unrealistic. The room on the 4th floor was clean and comfortable, White duvets and plump pillows. The room had good solid Art Decco furniture. The bathroom was old fashioned but very functional.The dining room was large and had basic canteen furniture which some might found offputting. But we found the food was varied and well cooked. You would have to be a very fussy eater to not find something to enjoy. Because of large coach parties arriving for the evening meal there was a queue on the first night but it was quickly dealt with. I would say a maximum of 10 mins wait. I would certainly go again. Excellent value for money. Thank you to the staff, who work very hard especially in the dining room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenniferDroylsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    874
    971
    537
    804
See reviews for
613
1,618
167
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camshami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were booked into this dreadful place as part of our booking for Disney Paris byThomas Cook.
Upon arrival the outside of hotel is a total dump and in a run down area of Folkestone.
We collected our key from the reception and went to the 12 floor with our 8 year old son to find our room was shabby and just had 1 double bed for the 3 of us. The hallways were dirty as was the lobby of the hotel and we were not prepared to stay 1 night,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Camshami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

before i left i checked reviews which some were very worrying to say the least ,but when we arrived after a very long journey,the staff stayed on and we had our evening meal,about 8.30 pm, ok the room was basic but clean and comfortablei with a view of the harbour,the bed was comfortable.the dining area was huge it reminded me of a school dinner hall,but with 10 coaches in it coped very well although i would have preferred table service .the enterainment was really first class with two singers and three dancers,there was a different theme every night,so they need to be congratulated,all i could say is thank you, and to the critics what were you expecting? a five star hotel for ur money at least i was very happy with my stay thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jockforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

this is a large hotel in folkestone kent ,our room was on the first floor with a seaview the room was comfortable and clean with clean towles everyday over our five day stay the buffet breakfast was very good as was the the evening buffet,the hotel could do with a make over in places,but 99% of the staff were very helpful,folkestone has a good town centre but the sea front is a bit run down ther is also a small cinema in the town centre that is woth a visit,also the hotel had very good entertainment

Room Tip: seaview if possible try not to get one of the rooms at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankd95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I would just like to let anyone thinking of booking a room at Hotel Burstin, Folkstone, that it appears that when you book a room you are not actually booking a room. Let me explain.
I booked two rooms through Laterooms.com, weeks before I was due to arrive, the booking was taken along with the payment, it was fully paid and with this explanation 'Your reservation for the The Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone is an advance purchase rate and a credit card is required to charge full pre-payment at the time of booking. This is non refundable and non transferable'.
Just four days before we were due to arrive I had a phone message saying there was a problem with the booking. I called the hotel direct and was told that the hotel had been told to take two coach loads by central reservations and this had made them double booked. They said I could take a room at the Hotel Salisbury but on checking that out discovered that it was far inferior to the Hotel Burstin'. I rang back to say I was not willing to accept the room and was told that someone would contact me on the wednesday. I was called by a duty manager by the name of Emma Roberts who was unbelievably unsympathetic and told me that I would have to take what was offered or the money back. I explained I had a contract with the hotel which it should honour, again she said I can take the other hotel or the money back. I stressed that I was unhappy with the hotel under offer and wished to stay at the Hotel Burstin. She said that would not be happening and that 'WHEN I MADE A BOOKING WITH BRITANNIA HOTELS THEY DID NOT ACTUALLY BOOK ME INTO A ROOM BUT JUST TOOK A BOOKING.' A statement I find very concerning. If the money is taken at the time of booking as in this case surely that should constitute a booking for a room. When I pointed out to her that I was stunned at this revelation and asked her to repeat it, she said she had done all she was prepared to do and was ending the conversation. When I asked her if she was about to put the phone down on me she said yes and did so.

In the past I have been double booked by a hotel who found us a more than satisfactory alternative which I was happy to take. But in this case it was just not acceptable and to be told a room I had paid for was not actually a booking for a room is just not acceptable.

Please bear this in mind when booking with Britannia Hotels

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Well what can i say for £99 per head with 3 course breakfast and 3 course evening meal and a bar for 99p from 7.30 till 11.30 . All trips to cantebury and belguim included in the price and live entertainment every night .Reall y what do ppl expect ... We arrived at 5pm journey on coach was ok comfortable seats and regular stops driver played comedien tapes on journey ... room was on 5th floor clean and comfty clean towels daily and beds made and tea and coffee in room replenished daily ... working tv even if old you still see the same channels even if it was a plazma. Breakfast cornflakes youghurts fruit toast sausage eggs bacon mushroom black pudding beans tomatoes tea coffee unltd.... evening meal soup roll cold meats salads all veggies potatoes chips and hot meat of the day deserts fruit ....we were located at back of hotel a night club is opp open wednesday fri and sat .... and you can only hear it if window is left open all night .. location right on haubour which dose get busy on wknds with locals fish and chip shops steak house local newsagents all at hand..... really enjoyed our stay at the end of the day it was my husbands birthday and for 99 pounds each we could not fault it went wth a open mind and had fun wth trips to canterbury and ferry to bruges in belguim all included we would spend more in 4 days at ome eating out and on trips .....and ciggerettes on ferry 3.69 for 20 and they allow u to buy 40 at one time so we came home wth quite a few 100 each as you just join the q again for another 40.. tabacco in belguim is 45 euro 10 pkts so there was a lot of ppl bringing what they could home .. weather was glourios to 20 degrees for march bounus overall great break bargin price what do pplreally expect have fun like we did xx

Room Tip: Back rooms are very hot due to sun on building ... nite club is at back of hotel but if window is cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericahigginsbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
816 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel was clean and our Premier room,booked on line via Lastminute., was good value at £30 for 2 including breakfast. The bed was comfy and it had everything you needed - well almost - see "Connected" later. Unfortunately we could not have breakfast as we were told the buffet did not start until 7am and we had to leave then to catch the ferry. (We were a little miffed, to say the least, that the dining room was full of people eating when we left at 6.50!)
Connected. The TV remote was not connected to the actual TV - no great problem. Our room overlokked the harbour - nice until the Diasco down the road started. We were connected to the sound until 2.30 in the morning - the double glazing providing very little noise blocking. We were also connected to the outside street lighting as the curtains were almost translucent. We were also connected to next doors and upstairs plumbing!!
For all this, we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PARIS522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing