We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bargain”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed two nights rooms were unexpectedly quiet ,beds comfortable.For the price it was a relaxing bargain.There was entertainment although we only stayed for a short while the singer was really good at the old standards.Folkestone is really trying hard to reinvent itself .Would return again for another break.Parking was a bit of a problem as we arrived late but managed to find a spot the next day.

Room Tip: We we're over the restaurant so maybe why it was quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    885
    1,005
    588
    882
See reviews for
676
1,681
174
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We're talking basic,clean and choice of food on a lean budget. Burstin is a 'rack um high, sell it cheap' sort of venue, catering for the group travel trade. Premier rooms as suggested offer slightly better furnishings and some have balcony's. This grade od room also gives acess to the Victoria restuarant with white lining table & waiter service, rather than the main resturant, which is a self service buffet style. You can eat as much or as little of everthing on show!
I booked a group on a 'tinsel & turkey' break, that included a 99p bar & day trip to France on a three night/ four day stay. Tremendous value.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel overlook the harbour & give nice views of the coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hotel clean and tidy. Bedroom had an excellent view, mattress left a lot to be desired seemed to be lop-sided! Bathroom excellent, fresh towels every day which was good. Do wish there was more shelf space in the bathroom to put ones toiletries etc on.Staff on the whole good but could do with a few more smiles from them. Sometimes they looked very glum! Only real complaint was that twice I had a drink in a dirty glass. Would use the hotel again though.
Greta P

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

On arriving at Folkstone and seeing the huge white edifice on the hill, I assured my husband, that whilst we had made a 4 night booking, if we hated it, we could check out next day and find somewhere else.
Parking was easy - and as we had arrived the same time as two coach parties we did battle with wheel chairs and those zimmer frame things on wheels (always pushed very aggresively) to book in. The staff are efficient and not that friendly on Reception, but they were dealing with seemed like 50 people at once, and got through them all in less than five minutes. I had booked via the internet, and they wanted payment upfront for all 4 nights - so no turning back! We were told we had a premier room, and premier dining in the Victorian Dining room, Also free entertainment.......
Up to the 6th floor via a very fast and decrepit lift, with doors that always seemed to try and close when we were half way in.
Alighted to a scruffy corridoor and through a door marked C Block (or was it C wing......)
With trepidation we headed to our room, and let ourselves in. A lovely surprise, as the room was bright airy and clean, with the most superb view over the harbour - stunning. The bathroom was OK - a bit tired, but once again clean, and plenty of large fuffy towels.
Downstairs for a drink in the bar - where we people watched all the relatively elderly population, and for once felt quite youthful. It was also happy hour, so the drinks were amazingly cheap.
The sofas are a disgrace, and I can't think why they don't replace them.
Next morning woke at 5am to see the most beautiful sunrise. Then awoke at 6am as the first of the many, many coaches started revving up below our window.
Breakfast later in the Victorian Dining room - which was fine, and I have had worse in far more expensive hotels. The funniest thing was the square mound of marmalade turned out (clearly from a catering tub) on to a serving plate......
We only used the Hotel as a base for touring around Kent and a day trip to France, and ate out each night. On our last night we looked in at the entertainment in the Ball Room, and thought that the caberet was really quite professional and slick.
We talked to a party of people who had come up from our neck of the woods (Devon) and discovered that a cousin of a cousin had once owned a racehorse that one of our sons had ridden - the sort of tenous link that shows us all what a small world we live in!
I would not return to this hotel - but for 60 quid a night it was more than adequate, with the absolute highlight being the fantastic sea view.
Other than the Reception Staff - everyone else was great - the Bar staff are very friendly, as were the chamber maids.
I was a bit alarmed when after we had checked in I read all the negative reviews on Trip Avisor - but as many have stated this is a cheap / busy hotel, so taking that into account, it is not half as bad as many have stated.
However, I wonder if the Management do read these reviews - because if they did, there are a few things that they could easily do to improve it - for one replace the horrible sofas and for another ban smoking in all the bedrooms. I say that as a smoker myself - but I wouldn't smoke in my bedroom at home!

Room Tip: Premier - sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Ok so the Burstin is an ugly hotel, but if you can get past that, and I can't, it's good value.

The place is mostly clean, the staff are mostly nice, it's right on the front near the beautiful harbour and an ugly car park. It's got lots of space, a pool, entertainment, and the food's ok.

The lights work, the bed was comfy and the water was hot Putting the looks of the place to one side - it's ok for a cheap break. Kids won't notice how awful it is anyway and if you spend most of your time outside and close your eyes when you get into bed it's fine.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just spent 3 nights in this hotel on a bus trip. As the hotel seems mainly to cater for bus holidays it is occupied for seven days a week all year. The outside of the hotel ahs seen better days and could do with some paint. The bars and the lounges are not bad but they do get crowded. The dining area could do with an update and a least one of the chairs had a seat that was not screwed on. The room seemed to have been decorated recently but the furniture was tired and dated. Bathroom was something else and neede completly changed there was rust and diccoluring on the bath and the toilet did not flush too well and to a age to full up.
But the problem is because it is used so much there is not space to update the rooms.
Food was not too bad but be careful of the fish. on the first night it was dry in batter and other nights it was in a sauce.
Staff were friendly enugh and the rooms were always clead and the towels were changed daily.
Some wag had removed one of the stars from the board outside and it was now a " one star " hotel about right but you get what you pay for and we did not pay a fortune.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glyn_spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smartiecat
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed at the Grand Burstin with my friend as part of mystery coach trip. We both liked the hotel's location close to Folkestone harbour and beach - handy for refreshing walks. Our room had a lovely view, comfy bed and plenty of hot water. A family of friendly visiting seagulls nearby included one young seagull who did an impressive impersonation of Feathers McGraw. The staff were friendly and efficient. We used the Harbour buffet style restaurant and thought the food tasty, good but basic selection, cooked well and plentiful and filling. Chilled water available would have been welcomed though. The live entertainment was fun and impressive, with Amy and Terry being classy singers and the three dancers were energetic and the choreography imaginative. We didn't use the leisure facilities at the hotel so I can't comment on them.
I would sum up as clean and comfortable room, tasty food, classy entertainment and friendly staff. I am already recommending the Grand Burstin to my friends and hoping to stay there again myself soon.

Room Tip: You can pay extra to upgrade to a Premier Room for a sea view or balcony and use of Victorian restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing