We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“canteen not a restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 27 August 2013

this hotel is in need of a complete refurbishment, o k it did not cost a fortune for a 2 night stay but the hotel is very dated. The restaurant is just like a works canteen,Our room smelt of cigarette smoke, with a notice saying do not throw used cigarettes out of the window.Good points the entertainment was good

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick195059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,431 - 2,437 of 3,883 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

large hotel, good pool, just need to miss the kids. up-graded rooms very nice with balcony looking out over the harbour or sea is very nice including fridge in room. All self service food always something you will like and the assortment of cold starters is very good could just feast on that. The only problem is the entertainment is on so late after a long day relaxing have never been able to stay up. Have stayed here 30-40 times over the past years as was born and grew up in folkestone.

Room Tip: higher floor has fast speed lift, better rooms, better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiphop789red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights 16/19th August, the room was quite spacious and the beds were comfortable. All the staff are very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble for them if you had any problems. The food was very plentiful and tasty, though they could do with some lessons how to make a good cup of tea!
The hotel could do with some modernisation as it is staring to look dated, but on the whole a good place to use as a base to visit other places

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here from Monday to Friday last week, food ok, nice clean sheets and towels, 99p bar every night with live entertainment, place could do with a good overall but still very good value for money, would stay here again, easy to get to Canterbury, and Dover, France ect.,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junior a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I paid £150 for 2 nights B&B for 2. We had the 12th Floor room, with a splendid view of the Harbour and the White Cliffs. Pity the room was not so good. Furniture is very tired and dated, carpets stained, bathroom floor tiles cracked as was the toilet pan, which was also brown stained, omg, I cleaned it a bit without cleaner and it helped, but all it needs is some bleach and elbow grease and it would be gleaming. It was a put off. The bedding was clean, but bed too hard for my liking. Lifts are very small and only 1 to service florr 7 - 12, so had to wait a few times. The lift broke down on our 2nd morning, but they had it fixed by time we had breakfast, so we had to walk down 12 flights and help a few older people, but at least we did not have to walk up them again. There is a bit of a holiday camp feel to it, they have bingo and entertainment. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was not so good, buffet style but scrambled egg was wet and aneamic looking, black pudding still raw nearly, and all food just warm, I like my food hot. Tea was like tar. We had a premier type room, though I would hate to think what the other rooms were like then. We could use the Victorian Restuarant which was nicer and quite grand, but same food as Harbour Restuarant. There was a lot of older people, who seem to come here every year. Coach tours and such use it widely. If I came down again I would try another hotel, the view and the location are excellent, just the state of the rooms let it down. Pictures to follow.

Room Tip: Good view on the 9th to the 2th floor, can;t vouch for what the rooms would be like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nivloce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I had to make a trip to Folkestone and to find accommodation for 1 night. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor regarding this hotel. I thought nothing could be this bad and decided to give it a chance. HUGE MISTAKE, this hotel was a dump, from parking the car to entering the hotel there was nothing but litter, cigarette ends, chewing gum stuck to pavements and muck. There was no designated outside smoking area and consequently people were standing outside the entrance to the hotel puffing away, not pleasant to have to walk through a wall of cigarette smoke just to enter hotel. On entering the hotel it was not much better, dirty carpets, walls and filthy lifts. In the room the carpet was disgusting, marked all over and not very clean, the balcony was littered with rubbish and cigarette ends despite being classed as a non smoking room.
I had booked what was supposed to be a premier room, if this was a premier room I hate to think what the others were like. The Victorian restaurant was a shambles, it was buffet food and to be honest inedible. This hotel is obviously used to catering for the masses that arrive via coach tours
and doesn't seem to want the more discerning customer. I would hate to think what Health and Safety and Environmental Health Inspectors would make of this hotel. It should be closed down and not reopen until fully renovated. One plus point was the staff at reception, they were very helpful and I felt sorry for them working in this environment. All in all this is one hotel to avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladylinda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We booked with Majestic coach holidays and stayed here. Good reception on arrival. Nice clean room. quite basic but still very nice.

Good selection of breakfast and evening meal. Good entertainment


Nice location overlooking the harbour. Very near town centre.


Overall very nice stay here.

Would recommend
..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
516 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
6.9 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £26 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing