We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our stay here was great, very friendly staff, very helpful. We upgraded to the Victorian restaurant which was great, the food was lovely, yes rooms bit dated but very clean, entertainment was pretty good, all in all very enjoyable

Room Tip: We were on second floor facing harbour , was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,174 - 2,180 of 3,752 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

I found this hotel very clean and comfortable, the room was spacious and the view was lovely as you looked on to the little boats in the harbour and you could see the ferries in the distance sailing to France. The main restaurant was nice and big with buffet meals which were basic. We were there early October it was quite busy with about 6or7 bus parties.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a Travelstyle coach trip, yes it's dated but I found it clean warm and a pleasant environment to sit and relax in the bar or foyer. The food was basic but plenty and the evening entertainment was good they where fun lively and a joy to see.
The only downside was the staff, they seamed overworked and unmotivated.
Excellent value for money. I'm not saying its 5* but don't think it's trying to be and the price reflects what you should expect.
THE FIRE ALARMS NEED SORTING OUT !!!!

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor I stayed in A wing I had a sea view it is at the back but I found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Remember this is graded as a two star and think about how much you are paying and then think again about what you are getting
My wife and I stayed over the weekend of 15 to the 18 recently in my view terrific value for the money paid the staff worked extrely hard although the were sometimes quiet
The food was straight foreword basic food what more would expect from a two star but we found nothing bad about the food at all and as much as you wanted
The room we had was in need of updating but comfortable clean and adequate
The bar service was very good the entertainment was very good and the prices were certainly good compared to Bristol prices
This Hotel is worthy of 3 stars I reckon there are always going to be some problems in a hotel this size but I have stayed in 5 star hotels which were no better than this except the price
If you are looking for high class then don't bother but if you want value for money and live in the real world then give it a try
This was our first visit and to be honest almost never went when we read the reviews but they are trying hard and getting there
Best value for money anywhere

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triggerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear triggerman

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post a positive review on trip advisor.

Your comments about the staff have been passed back on to the team.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed the nightly Entertainment, it’s always helpful to receive feedback, as this is how we improve our cabaret shows, and overall hotel entertainment.

Whilst it is true we are not a 4 star hotel, we do believe if offering a value for money service in comfortable clean accommodation, I am pleased to read this is what you experienced.

We are glad you enjoyed your 1st visit with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is run down and dirty.. the rooms are damp ..the bathroom was dirty and the grouting was moldy ..the food was average and plentiful and vagrants are allowed to walk in without been challenged we stayed for a line dance weekend and we had our flags stolen from our table , we also saw vagrants walking into the dining area and helping themselves to food... the parking facilities is just terrible when the hotel has maximum passengers... Its not a hotel I would stay in if I was not with a group. The staff is helpful and they are doing there best considering what they have to deal with as regards facilities.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the sea front is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthia793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear cynthia793

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor

Sadly I can find no record you of speaking to a member of the team during your stay.
Had you of contacted the team, a duty manager would have been able to address your concerns directly, and you would of left us with better impression and hopefully a resolve to your complaint.

As with all car parks, the hotel car park is on a first come, first served basis, I apologise if this caused you any frustration or inconvenience during your stay. Next to the hotel there are 2 pay and display car parks, and there is FREE on street parking in front of the hotel until the new-year.

During the line dance weekend we had restaurant staff posted on the doors and all guests were challenged for their security key-card. We cater for all guests here at the Grand Burstin hotel, and addressing fellow guests as vagrants may not be appropriate.

However your comments about the staff have been passed on to the team, and I thank you for taking the time to post this online.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for three nights november 2013.dated in need of some refurbishment.the room was clean bed not very comfortable but you get what you pay for, the staff were very good and very helpful, entertainment was not good a man singing you had to be infront of him to hear.the worst thing was the food, everything was the same everyday and every meal was cold, no veggy option when I asked for vegaterian stirfry that had to be requested I waited about ten minutes, when it was delivered to the table it was stone cold and tasted disgusting, only other option was lettice or jelly not much to eat if you dont eat meat or fish.nothing is named so you dont no what you are eating.had to eat out everyday even though I had paid for food, wou, d not stay here again if you want cheap no frills then this is for you .

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a toilet that is not leaking because if its a weekend they wont fix it you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear pauline h

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor

Your positive comments about the staff have been passed back on-to the team.

Entertainment can be very subjective, what one person may like, another may not, I can only apologise if you did not enjoy the entertainment provided. Your comments about the volume levels have been passed on to entertainments team for their consideration, and review.

We offer a vegetarian option every night with a wide section of salads and another non meat options. We endeavor to cater to as many differing tastes as possible.

We have a maintenance team that work 7 days per week, and it’s unclear from your review if you raised this concern to the reception team, if had informed reception they would of happily asked a member of maintenance to fix your leaking toilet, as quickly as possible.

We hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and i stayed at this Hotel for 1 night on Sat Nov 16. The price was £39 for a double room with breakfast included. The room was clean ,spacious and nicely layed out.The toilet and bathroom were clean and smelt fresh. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of it.The reception area could do with a bit of a refurb , but it is a well used Hotel. and for £39 who cares. The staff were polite , friendly and very helpful. We were both surprised at how big the hotel was .The bar and lounge area were very big as was the dining area. Plenty of room to move and not feel as though you're in each others pockets.All in all a very pleasant experience and we would definitely sta there again.

Room Tip: Stay higher up and get some really good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Burstin_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Grand Burstin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear madmike60

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review on trip advisor

Firstly we were pleased to read you enjoyed your recent break with us. We offer good value break in comfortable clean accommodation, and it’s good to know that is what you experienced.

Whilst we are a large hotel, the team try to ensure that we maintain a good level of customer service throughout the hotel, delivering a good value break

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
312 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £26 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing