We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disturbingly poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disturbingly poor hotel”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here on a 3 day/2nights inclusive National Coach trip which included a 2 hour flying visit to Bruges. I had read bad reports about this hotel but I always take them with a pinch of salt. However this is a terrible hotel, luckily we were on the 6th floor but could still hear the noise from the ballroom. Sheets were clean, nothing else was especially the bathroom, 10inch TV did not work, food was just about edible and tepid. The 4 free drinks are a variety from supermarket, I tried a gin and lemonade, not allowed tonic, disgusting, tried white wine, same, tried rose wine also awful, beer and coffee were OK. Ballroom on Saturday night full of locals so could not get a seat or table for the bingo, which we enjoy. Realised on way to Bruges that this is really a cheap cigarettes run for cigs and tobacco.

Room Tip: 6th or 7th floor only rooms to have if you want to get some sleep, but then you have to cope with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    883
    1,000
    564
    851
See reviews for
642
1,663
173
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Hotel is dated and tired but then whi invests in hotels now? We had a 3 night break with a room on 7th floor with a hotel that activly encourages guests to smoke EXCEPT under the sensor in your room. There is an overwhelming smell both in the corridor and our room of tobacco smoke. That said the food in the Harbour resturant was fine, the bar prices very reasonable and the entertainment of a good standard. External noises from the nightclub clients and the Kebab shop indicate that they have had a good time and wish to tell everybody else about it. If travelling with friends ensure YOU tell the hotel if you want a room within reasonable walking distance of each other.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestYorkshireHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just got back from a 2 night break and although the rooms could do with updating they were very clean and well equipped the entertainment was good and catered for all ages the food was really good the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them this hotel caters for everyone even your furry friends

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessiebean25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It is definitely worth paying the extra money to upgrade to the Victorian restaurant. although the room seemed no better other than having a balcony, the food in the Victorian restaurant is sooo much better than the Harbour restaurant. With a whole salmon starter, then freshly carved meats and to finish whole slaps of gateau, this was a great start to the festive season.
it was just a shame about the evening entertainment. after he had sung three songs we could stand it no longer and had to go elsewhere. real shame as normally the Saturday evening is good, but this particular weekend there was just a solo guy, who was no better than a good karaoke.
however, it was a lovely weekend and as always, good value for money and a relaxing night away overlooking the harbour.

Room Tip: ask to be well away from the night club as this can be very noisy until early hours of the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BargeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is value for money.We had booked a turkey and tinsel weekend with Just Go holidays we were picked up on Friday morning and made our way down to Folkestone where we spent 3 nights. We found the hotel ok ,very basic rooms with en suite facilites ok they were very basic and probably need to be updated but we slept well and everything seemed to be clean.The one thing that puzzled me was that there was no radiator so no central heating, there was a convector heater on the wall which we never used as the room was warm enough and considering it was Nov/Dec we can't work out why the rooms were not cold.
Food was buffet style for evening meal and breakfast no problem getting a table whatever the time and food was good.Staff nice I think we got what we paid for even the drinks were 99p up to 11pm. We would return if trip with Just Go and our fab driver Mel comes up again.

Room Tip: Not the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Hotel Burstin is very good value for money, it's in a great position on the front. Food fine as well. But we paid for an upgrade room and got the 6th floor. Beware of the 6th floor if you are a non smoker! The mirror in the room states this is a smoking room as all the rooms do on this floor. As you walk down the corridor on this floor, the smell of smoke is overwhelming to a non smoker. We tried to change our room but no luck. The point is, what hotel in this day and age puts their upgraded room guests in a smelly smoking room, down a smelly smoking corridor, when they are non smokers?

Room Tip: DEMAND to be allocated a non smoking room!! if you're a non smoker, don't go for 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Staff friendly and helpful. Food much better than expected - we paid for an upgrade and ate in the Victoria restaurant which was quite pleasant and had a room with a lovely view of the harbour.. Very large hotel with what seemed like thousands of guests - not enough car parking so had to park in the car park opposite - £5 a day. Hotel in desperate need of a refurb, Very tired looking rooms, and the lounge armchairs were tatty! Our room and the whole corridor stank of stale tobacco - quite overpowering at times. Very hot in dining room and ballroom. The ballroom is given over to Bingo for two hours a night and for that reason perhaps, the hotel seems to attract a certain type of person. I wouldn't visit again because it wasn't to my taste but it was cheap - £49 pppn and you probably get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the 6th floor unless you don't mind the smell of stale tobacco and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socialite45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
591 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing