We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a themed music weekend, the entertainment was brilliant and the bar was cheap, they were the redeeming features. The supposed executive room was very poor even down to the duck tape covering missing floor tiles, an ibis Budget hotel room would be far better, as for the food I would rather eat out at a cheap cafe as it would be better.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody it is overpriced dirty and run down and in need of total renovation.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank nread171259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,160 - 2,166 of 3,784 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel while on a trip with National Holidays. The hotel itself is definitely in need of a major facelift being very shabby and dated. However saying that, our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and we had a sea view. The food was buffet style in the Harbour Restaurant, it was very busy and while the food was acceptable the atmosphere was not exactly ambient. We found out on our second day that we could upgrade our meals to the Victorian Restaurant for £5 each per day. For this we got our evening meal and breakfast in nice surroundings with pleasant and attentive staff. The food was more or less the same as the other restaurant but it was hot and you got a few extras.worth the upgrade.
We chose this trip with National Holidays because it included a trip to Bruge, what we hadn't realised was that it was to be simply a cigarette run to Belgium. It took 1 1/2 hours by ferry to Calais and about the same time again to drive to Bruges. This gave us just over 2hours in Bruges. Another coach took several of the passengers to a supermarket for cigs and they rejoined our
Coach for the trip back. 6 hours travelling for 2 hours in Bruges. Ridiculous!
There at least three coach parties at the hotel and one crossed the channel on each of the three days we were there, obviously just for cigarettes.
This trip was cheap but also excellent value for money, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinsgran25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We got a cheap deal - and I mean cheap - for a break after New Year. We paid almost nothing, expected almost nothing, and got almost nothing. Food terrible and café style, rooms seen better days, staff obviously de-motivated, clientele appropriate to conditions above !! Having said that the bed was OK and we only used as a touring base. All in all you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Sea View, otherwise not inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyC2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We went to this hotel on a coach trip for the new year break staying 3 nights. the buffet style food was good and always hot, and the hotel was always clean even though it was fully booked. A nice touch was the bottle of bubbly, jar of sweets and box of biscuits tat greeted up well done the hotel. The entertainment was a bit loud but OK for the money paid. We hope to go again.
Well done Hotel Grand Burstin Raymondo

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymondo187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spent New Year on a National Holiday trip, cheap and cheerful, at the Grand Burstin in Folkestone. It was 2 star so we didn't expect the Ritz.. The food was good and plentiful. Everything about the place was tired and it could do with a lot of money spending on it, but it must be doing something right as it was full. The bar prices were sensible and not over priced. Staff friendly. My main concern was that we were put in a SMOKING room. The whole of the sixth floor corridor and especially our room stank of stale smoke. We asked to be moved but were told that the hotel was full. I had no idea that hotels still offered smoking rooms and this is a lesson to ensure that in future we always request Non Smoking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Had to work down here on business and my company booked me here. Never again! It's full of old people on cheap coach parties who constantly moan. They should be grateful they're getting it for next to nothing. The rooms though are very dated, no shower, woodchip wall paper and windows that arent double glazed or don't close properly. The breakfast was not too bad for a self service style buffet but again the old folk on the coach parties give you a look of distain when your trying to get some food. The staff are very nice though and deserve a medal for their patience.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any helpful tips. Perhaps call them and ask for a room with a shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyJo-Manny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at hotel over the new year period with friends. A hotel this size obviously gets a lot of wear and tear and in some aspects could do with a little TLC but this is just a minor observation as the whole of the new year celebrations were as good as you can get. The rooms were clean and warm, the hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful and the food was of a very good standard,well presented and always hot with a good choice. This is the first time we had been to this hotel, but it will definitely not be the last. We went with National Holidays and got excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joeandann111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £26 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing