We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Came here to try there special lunch deal. The food was all dried under the hot lamp probably been there way to long.
the greater was very rude to us.
would we go back. .....i dont think so this is a cheap place to eat but if you like the taste of food spend a few quid more and go somewere else

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    868
    961
    527
    795
See reviews for
608
1,596
165
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Rather small but refurbished bathroom. Skylight which made the room feel claustrophobic. Brown stain on carpet which I reported but was not attended too. Public areas extremely worn in need of total refurbishment. Most bar/catering staff need training in PR. Totally ignored when walking into the dining areas on every occasion apart from one waitress on one occasion. Food unappetising, of very poor quality. Brought snacks out rather than eat what was on offer. Restaurant offered same food as canteen however, had a better ambiance. Canteen - Uncomfortable chairs, too many tables crammed in. Help yourself to tea/coffee. I would never ever stay in this or any other establishment of same grading again!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Went with a large group of friends for a 60's weekend. The entertainment was brilliant! The hotel was very run down and desperately needs a renovation. Having said that it was cheap and you get what you pay for. We upgraded to the Victorian Restaurant and would really recommend doing this for eating. It cost only an extra £2.50 per meal and is worth the extra. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food, though not brilliant, was perfectly edible with a reasonable selection. Could find absolutely no fault with breakfast. The rooms were fairly clean and the beds comfortable. If you are a non smoker make sure you ask for a room well away from the smoking rooms as you could smell these from the corridor. All in all a thoroughly good weekend was had by all at very little cost

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a themed music weekend, the entertainment was brilliant and the bar was cheap, they were the redeeming features. The supposed executive room was very poor even down to the duck tape covering missing floor tiles, an ibis Budget hotel room would be far better, as for the food I would rather eat out at a cheap cafe as it would be better.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody it is overpriced dirty and run down and in need of total renovation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nread171259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel while on a trip with National Holidays. The hotel itself is definitely in need of a major facelift being very shabby and dated. However saying that, our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and we had a sea view. The food was buffet style in the Harbour Restaurant, it was very busy and while the food was acceptable the atmosphere was not exactly ambient. We found out on our second day that we could upgrade our meals to the Victorian Restaurant for £5 each per day. For this we got our evening meal and breakfast in nice surroundings with pleasant and attentive staff. The food was more or less the same as the other restaurant but it was hot and you got a few extras.worth the upgrade.
We chose this trip with National Holidays because it included a trip to Bruge, what we hadn't realised was that it was to be simply a cigarette run to Belgium. It took 1 1/2 hours by ferry to Calais and about the same time again to drive to Bruges. This gave us just over 2hours in Bruges. Another coach took several of the passengers to a supermarket for cigs and they rejoined our
Coach for the trip back. 6 hours travelling for 2 hours in Bruges. Ridiculous!
There at least three coach parties at the hotel and one crossed the channel on each of the three days we were there, obviously just for cigarettes.
This trip was cheap but also excellent value for money, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinsgran25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We got a cheap deal - and I mean cheap - for a break after New Year. We paid almost nothing, expected almost nothing, and got almost nothing. Food terrible and café style, rooms seen better days, staff obviously de-motivated, clientele appropriate to conditions above !! Having said that the bed was OK and we only used as a touring base. All in all you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Sea View, otherwise not inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyC2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We went to this hotel on a coach trip for the new year break staying 3 nights. the buffet style food was good and always hot, and the hotel was always clean even though it was fully booked. A nice touch was the bottle of bubbly, jar of sweets and box of biscuits tat greeted up well done the hotel. The entertainment was a bit loud but OK for the money paid. We hope to go again.
Well done Hotel Grand Burstin Raymondo

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymondo187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing