We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 20 January 2014

very good check in no problems at all we were booked into room 903 with balcony room was very warm and clean, towels changed everyday plenty of milk/sugar/tea and coffee
entertainment on saturday was great on the sunday it was poor
would go back again
overall we had a lovely time
thanks to the burstin

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,158 - 2,164 of 3,799 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I booked this hotel as it was on a deal....there was my mistake. we arrived at 8.05pm and checked in and asked if we could have dinner. we were told they stopped serving food at 8pm???????? we went to our room which was on the 3rd floor and on B Wing....I wasn't sure at this point if I was in prison or a hotel. we walked into our room and the ceiling was falling apart, the cupboard was broken, the bath was yellow. we tried to turn the heater on and that sparked!!! the television remote was covered in duct tape clearly where the back had come off. the room was freezing too. at least the sheets were clean. we went for something to eat and when we got back we thought we go for a drink in the bar, we were told they don't take card behind the bar and if we wanted to charge it to our room would have to set up a whole new account. we had a drink and watched the bingo but were both falling asleep watching it. the staff weren't particularly pleasant either.
it was an awful experience and a sleepless night. I hope this hotel either improves or it needs to close.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abbie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

After spending Christmas and New Year and then just recently a bargin weekend at the hotel I can only say that our stay was real value for money.
The staff were both kind and very helpful and they really helped make our stay enjoyable. The room although very clean is in need of renovation as was various areas of the hotel generally, however it was "livable in !". .
The entataInment has greatly improved since our last stay a couple of years ago. The cabaret was good and the artists very professional and full of enthusiasm.. The resident artists (not a band) were very good and gave lots of variety and tried to please all sorts of tastes in their performances especially the 60's duo. The other duo which played mostly country and western with some Irish music were very entertaining as was the solo guitarist/singer who did a great job. All the entertainers gave lots of effort and enthusiasm in making our stay very enjoyable.

The bar staff were very helpful and often gave very happy banter that added to the over all quality of service given to my partner and I , and I am sure everyone else.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good holiday break at a reasonable cost (you get what you pay for!). The only downside as I have said is that the hotel , although clean needs a lot of renovation and the only part of the entertainment I personally didn't like was the bingo and quiz sessions perhaps more music ?.

Well done great effort thankyou !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

On arrival check in nice and quick rooms need up dating but beds are comfortable complementy tea/coffee/sugar and milk also toiletries everything u need for a good weekend break entertainment excellent
would defo recommend
and would return

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrCullum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Shabby.foisty,Luke warm food.cold bathrooms,heaters turned off in January.needs a full refurbishment and more pleasant management. Can not possibly find enough to say about this hotel so 200 characters needs quite a bit of finding. Must say bar staff. Excellent. Waiters very pleasant. Also the nice engineer who improved the heating in our bedroom when the duty manager said nothing could be done. Thankyou sir.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank sparkie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We travelled with National Holidays from Monday 13th January 2014 till Friday 17th. We looked at the reviews and did not have high expectations for the hotel. I appreciate that we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel but the facilities we experienced more than met our expectations. We stayed in room 348. We had a sea view, all the furniture matched and in good working order, clean towels every day, comfy bed and no sign of wear and tear or looking tired in the room or the hotel as a whole. Our room was a walk but we were never disturbed by other patrons. We used the swimming pool and sauna and no complaints there. The ladies changing rooms was a little tired. The food in the main restaurant was hot, homemade and a choice of three main courses and a vegetarian option. Plenty of food on offer and lovely polite staff especially in the restaurant and clean. Entertainment was provided with duo of singers, bingo and resident singers and dancers. Good hotel entertainment with no hanging around between each act. It was more suitable to older patrons of the hotel as it was music from the 1960s and 1970s. Overall clean, decor okay (smell paint on our floor) so work being done on our c block corridor. For us it exceeded our expectations and we would go again. We recommend the home made rice pudding on a Monday it was the best I have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Our room at the end of the corridor meant no passing guests. Enjoyed the sea view from room 348
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LymeRegisfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel needs updating looking poor in most places,stayed in a premier room stained carpet,wardrobe doors and dresser not closing properly,shower not great either cold or very hot water no power. Entertainment improved since two years ago new resident band ron and ash.Food ok in premier resturant.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank froggie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £25 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing