We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel Quality accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at the Grand Burstin Hotel with a Caledonian Tour. There is nothing grand about this hotel. It is very tired and furniture is in need of replacing, especially in the public areas. The breakfasts were ok, but the evening meals are not so good. There are workmen staying in the hotel who come in straight from work into the dinning room for their meals. The dinning room itself is like eating in a works canteen. Your are charge £4 a time to use the leisure facilities or £10 for your stay. I have never been charged to use facilities in any hotel I have stayed in before and it does not tell you in the Caledonian brochure that there is a charge for this. The rooms are in need of an update too but clean and serviced every day by the house keeping service. Definitely will not be back to stay in this hotel and this seemed to be the consensus of lots of people in the hotel, even the locals who found out we were staying there were in sympathy with us and saying that locally it had a bad name. The heat in the rooms is very hi and that is with the heating switched off. We slept with the window wide open and even that did not help. Our room was facing the harbour side and there is a truck park on the harbour, so the noise of the trucks coming and going all night disturbed our sleep too. The surrounding area is very run down apart from a little section of the harbour where there is couple of nice pubs and restaurants. There is also a couple of fish vans in this area selling fresh sea food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,177 - 2,183 of 3,878 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

They say you get what you pay for, unfortunately this is true here, went on 3 night trip with national holidays, room had a good view of harbour, I know times are tough for hotels but don't put loads of immigrants in with the guests, hassling and trying to remove people's baggage. 2 small lifts taking 5 people at a time , the staff are rude , dining room experience is something to behold, pay the extra and eat in the Victoria. Restaurant, we were put in smoking rooms, could not be moved ,apparently hotel full, stinks of smoke in corridors and rooms, so apart from staff, rooms, food, lifts, in fact change that the hotel is the pits, please avoid,

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank paul8012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Grand Burstin Hotel is very run down and in dire need of a re-fit and upgrade. It is a budget Hotel and at the moment cheap, you get what you pay for here.
The furnishings throughout are tired and in need of renewal, but having said that, the room was warm, clean and tidy with fresh towels every day, and we3 found the beds very comfortable. We were in C Wing (7th floor) fortunately at the end of the long corridor, quiet and away from the smokers.
At meal times the breakfasts were great and plenty to go at. The Evening Meals - soup brought to you was usually quite good, the main courses not so good, but the 'afters' were nice and varied. At all times the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.
Can not comment about the entertainment.
The tour itself was good and interesting, having an excellent driver/courier, Garry. Just
one blitch, no blame on anybody, our trip to Bruges was shortened due to Ferry problems, causing long waits due to cancellations. It is a long way, and a very lond day, for just 2 hours in Bruges. Our Coastal trip to Canterbury took us to interesting places.
We enjoyed our 5 days, and the Burstin was adequate for its purpose and for the price payed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyWandere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Hotel as all the reviews say is in need of upgrading. The rooms were warm, towels changed daily, water very hot, food there was always something you could eat.
Folkestone is very quiet now there are no ferries from there.
Staff very friendly and they worked very hard all seemed to multitask.
national coach driver was good and helpful, did not go on boat trip but went on trip to Canterbury.
Problem with that was we went on the coast tour with a Scottish coach and driver who told us English on the coach that it was a Scottish coach and driver and I quote ( we are better than you lot ) also when we get independence and keep all the oil and so on we would be sorry. It made what was an interesting trip round the coast uncomfortable to say the least.
Next trip to Scotland I think not.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeandLizzie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

4 of us stayed here overnight on a coach trip tour. Hotel is quite run down a bit and in need of a make over. However the food at dinner and breakfast was very good with lots of choices.
Entertainment in the evening was very good both the DJ and the young girl singing.
The area is very run down now although a trip to the Wetherspoons is worth it. It used to be a church so is very ornate with its stained glass windows.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuttyrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just got back from an Irish weekend in this Hotel. Very tired and tatty.We were in C Wing,or cell block as we named it.The room was dated but clean.The view of the Harbor lovely ,although you can hear the disco music from the nearby Pub until 1am . For some reason the chambermaid took our towels away after the 1st night and didn't replace them (lucky I had one under my pillow)
The Restaurant was like a canteen, but for an extra £5 you can dine in a better 2nd Restaurant and avoid the queues. The breakfast was actually quite nice,but the evening meal was horrid,soggy french beans,grey looking pork chops and potatoes swimming in a sea of grease,although you do get a choice of meals they all looked nasty.
The bar was well staffed,I am not sure if it was a special thing for this weekend,but from 7.30 until 11.pm the drinks were 99p including beers house wines and spirits .
The Lounge area was comfortable enough,some seats were very worn and some of the sofas were sat on pallets. The main clubhouse was nice enough but no air conditioning.
Entertainment was good,including The Original Bachelors.Still going strong at their ripe old age.
At 5am the fire alarm went off,this is a very very loud siren in the room with flashing red lights,very unnerving ,this turned out to be a false alarm,on talking to regulars this is a common occurrence.
This was a very cheap weekend,so my my review is a mixed bag.I would definitely go back if I was in the area,but would eat out

Room Tip: Get a room at the front facing the Harbor,but expect a bit of weekend noise from the local bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Reading some reviews I was a bit weary of what it was going to be like but my overall opinion is that we got what we paid for. Does need a refurb but then it wouldn't be as cheap as it is!
Pros - The food was nice and the puddings were even better. Although I can imagine that a lot of arguments are easily started over the toast machines in the morning.
The entertainment was good and we got to see 'The Bachelors'. I also played a lot of bingo and the prize money was quite a bit!

Cons - I thought the Cleaner had done a good job but I did found someone's old nightie under the bed that had been left there from a previous guest!
The fire alarm also went off at 5am and woke everyone in the hotel up!

I did have a good time and I would go back in the future, don't think I'd get anything for that price anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JillQuirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
629 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
515 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
6.9 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £26 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing