We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just don't go” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Burstin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel needs to close for about 12 months and be re furnished, it is terrible for this day and age of everyone that travels, the furniture is so old and scruffy even a rubbish tip would refuse it, they tell you wifi is available but it's not, they organise, trips to France they don't, if your about 100 and come on a coach trip and from the north of England they cater for you, it's a terrible hotel, also they charge you £3 50 A day to park with no guarantee, of a place,all this should be told to you on the advertising.most staff very present, reasonable clean, entertainment poor,

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pommyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    861
    940
    521
    788
See reviews for
600
1,579
161
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Although 2 nights including breakfast & dinner wasn't expensive it was expecting a little more for my money. Staff are friendly. Hotel is shabby! Floor disgusting everywhere in hotel including room. Vent on window wouldn't shut so had to get them to tape over it to stop cold breeze whistling through. Furniture extremely old and dressing table top dirty. Windows were very dirty and thick with dirt around edging all on inside. Very strange art work on wall. One wall Marilyn Monroe other a kind goth church pic. Dinner was awful wish I had gone just B & B. Entertainment was mostly taken up with bingo with one man singing before and after. Swimming pool was cold and really run down and tired looking. Plus was breakfast was good, sheets were clean and plenty of really hot water. Average age in this hotel the weekend when we were there was 70 mostly arriving on coach trips. We are not this age lol. Also folkestone itself is also quite run down

Room Tip: Some rooms I noticed on walking past when door was open looked a little cleaner & furniture newe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al4MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at the Grand Burstin Hotel with a Caledonian Tour. There is nothing grand about this hotel. It is very tired and furniture is in need of replacing, especially in the public areas. The breakfasts were ok, but the evening meals are not so good. There are workmen staying in the hotel who come in straight from work into the dinning room for their meals. The dinning room itself is like eating in a works canteen. Your are charge £4 a time to use the leisure facilities or £10 for your stay. I have never been charged to use facilities in any hotel I have stayed in before and it does not tell you in the Caledonian brochure that there is a charge for this. The rooms are in need of an update too but clean and serviced every day by the house keeping service. Definitely will not be back to stay in this hotel and this seemed to be the consensus of lots of people in the hotel, even the locals who found out we were staying there were in sympathy with us and saying that locally it had a bad name. The heat in the rooms is very hi and that is with the heating switched off. We slept with the window wide open and even that did not help. Our room was facing the harbour side and there is a truck park on the harbour, so the noise of the trucks coming and going all night disturbed our sleep too. The surrounding area is very run down apart from a little section of the harbour where there is couple of nice pubs and restaurants. There is also a couple of fish vans in this area selling fresh sea food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

They say you get what you pay for, unfortunately this is true here, went on 3 night trip with national holidays, room had a good view of harbour, I know times are tough for hotels but don't put loads of immigrants in with the guests, hassling and trying to remove people's baggage. 2 small lifts taking 5 people at a time , the staff are rude , dining room experience is something to behold, pay the extra and eat in the Victoria. Restaurant, we were put in smoking rooms, could not be moved ,apparently hotel full, stinks of smoke in corridors and rooms, so apart from staff, rooms, food, lifts, in fact change that the hotel is the pits, please avoid,

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank paul8012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Grand Burstin Hotel is very run down and in dire need of a re-fit and upgrade. It is a budget Hotel and at the moment cheap, you get what you pay for here.
The furnishings throughout are tired and in need of renewal, but having said that, the room was warm, clean and tidy with fresh towels every day, and we3 found the beds very comfortable. We were in C Wing (7th floor) fortunately at the end of the long corridor, quiet and away from the smokers.
At meal times the breakfasts were great and plenty to go at. The Evening Meals - soup brought to you was usually quite good, the main courses not so good, but the 'afters' were nice and varied. At all times the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.
Can not comment about the entertainment.
The tour itself was good and interesting, having an excellent driver/courier, Garry. Just
one blitch, no blame on anybody, our trip to Bruges was shortened due to Ferry problems, causing long waits due to cancellations. It is a long way, and a very lond day, for just 2 hours in Bruges. Our Coastal trip to Canterbury took us to interesting places.
We enjoyed our 5 days, and the Burstin was adequate for its purpose and for the price payed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWandere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Hotel as all the reviews say is in need of upgrading. The rooms were warm, towels changed daily, water very hot, food there was always something you could eat.
Folkestone is very quiet now there are no ferries from there.
Staff very friendly and they worked very hard all seemed to multitask.
national coach driver was good and helpful, did not go on boat trip but went on trip to Canterbury.
Problem with that was we went on the coast tour with a Scottish coach and driver who told us English on the coach that it was a Scottish coach and driver and I quote ( we are better than you lot ) also when we get independence and keep all the oil and so on we would be sorry. It made what was an interesting trip round the coast uncomfortable to say the least.
Next trip to Scotland I think not.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeandLizzie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

4 of us stayed here overnight on a coach trip tour. Hotel is quite run down a bit and in need of a make over. However the food at dinner and breakfast was very good with lots of choices.
Entertainment in the evening was very good both the DJ and the young girl singing.
The area is very run down now although a trip to the Wetherspoons is worth it. It used to be a church so is very ornate with its stained glass windows.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttyrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing