We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel grand burstin folkstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
south shields
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“hotel grand burstin folkstone”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

i went on a national holiday for 4 days. the room i had had a wonderful view. while the room was dated it was immaculate and the towels were changed everyday. i am vegetarian and sometimes the food is awful, but the veggie options were excellent. i found the bed very comfortable and had goodnight sleep the time i was there. the heating in the bedroom was a convector heater and i thought the room would be cold, but it was warm in minutes. i probably would not have picked that hotel if i had been traveling on my own, but the hotel was excellent value and i would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    885
    1,005
    588
    881
See reviews for
675
1,681
174
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just got home (thank god) after 4 nights at the (not so) Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone. We were on the 6th floor and things started badly and just got worse. We thought the landing carpets smelt musty as did our room, then we suddenly realised the smell was cigarette smoke. We, both non smokers, had been put in a dedicated smoking room complete with ash tray and precise written instructions on HOW to smoke without setting off the smoke alarm! See my pics as evidence. First night the fire alarms sounded at 11.18 as some muppet was smoking in their room! The room had not been updated since the late 70s poss early 80s. Wood chip wallpaper with ingrained smoke, plus huge polystyrene roof tiles which frankly would be very dangerous in a fire. One small electric heater on wall. The food and room was the worst I have ever encountered, supposedly a 2 star hotel, our room and food wasn't even that. It doesn't matter how cheap the room was, in 2014 customers do expect a minimum standard and we didn't get even that. Would not go back even if free. When other reviewers write " you get what you pay for"...... We didn't and swerved two meal sittings to get some food that tasted of something. Dreadful experience plus I have a stomach upset now! Not good enough National Holidays, if this was our first trip with you it would have been our last..............Ps walls have no sound proofing and you may be kept awake by your neighbours.....

Room Tip: Book a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank btog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

well one of our annual visits to kent to see my son and grandson had a bit of trouble booking don't like brittanias new web site we booked with uk breakaways £109.00 per person mon to fri full board and 99p bar ok. never been disappointed at burstin before 1st and big bug bear 3.50 per night parking even though we had mom with us and she has blue badge and u have to move car by 10.30 every morn, room was ok as usual plenty clean towels hot water and clean crisp bedding. plenty of choice of food do like the Victorian dinning room but not prepared to pay 5.00 per person per meal to upgrade,,,,next time only do breakfast that's a first in 4 yrs, the entertainer was a good singer but we hate waiting till 10pm for main show after two games of bingo usually too tired by then. oh and the staff weren't their usually friendly sort they all seemed surley and touchy,,,,have they had new manager I ask?

Room Tip: get room at back no noise from early coaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farscapebirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with national holidays so can't complain too much as overall trip was excellent value, however would not choose this hotel if travelling independently. Generally hotel decor and furnishing was very shabby. Looks like it has not been decorated for years. Rooms were ok, beds fairly comfortable. English buffet breakfast tasted good but evening meals poor as in veg hard and so called shepherds pie had no meat in it. Desserts were served but no cream or custard was available to go on puddings so they had to he eaten dry. Also only water was available out of dispenser so u had to go to the bar to get a drink with your evening meal. Hotel is also in a very run down part of Folkestone - definitely seen better days

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamgirlSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend we travelled with majestic coaches had a great time good entertainment and trips out .driver was very good him or beryl made hot drinks when ever needed vidios on most drivers can't be bothered so really great change .we were in room 603 new tiles all cleaned towels changed beds very comfortable new carpet settee ect .food was plentiful much as you can eat buffet wonderful position right on harbour been 9 times before will be returning

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VINNYSWINDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here quite a few times over the years, always 2 nights DBB. Its convenient for the channel tunnel. The rooms themselves have always been clean but could do with decorating and the windows cleaning. The drinks from the bar seemed good value. The hotel is also good for an early breakfast and although the food isn't very exciting we've never left hungry.
It always seems busy, especially the car park, even though you now have to pay, so its a shame Britannia doesn't spend some money on the building.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daventrygirl656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a prime location but is extremely tired and the corridors and bathrooms are not very clean and are very tatty. We went because the price was reasonable and we had stayed there about 10 years ago and it was fine then. On the website it said that refurbishing was taking place but we saw no sign of this. The Victorian dining room was fine but the presentation of the food was not great and some of it looked like it had been left standing for a while. The staff were very nice especially behind the bar. The entertainment was ok but had stood still in time and was a little old fashioned. But on the good side there was hot water and it was right in the harbour with a nice view from our room. The beds were clean and we had half price wine. If they are refurbishing I would recommend you wait till it's finished before you stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ednauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing