We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Demolish it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Lancashire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Demolish it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Left the Easter booking with National Holidays rather late and ended up here. Now we all know the National Holidays are cheap, you get what you pay for, we got a little extra entertainment from outside our window.
After reading the reviews about the smoking rooms I wrote (couldn't find an email address) and telephoned to request a non smoking room as I suffer from Asthma. The 6th floor is smoking, we were on the 7th.
First thing that struck me in the room was the lovely white bed covers and towels, I always take my own bath sheet because I can't stand stupid little bath towels. Didn't need it here, we had one hand towel and a bath sheet each.
The room didn't smell of smoke, but there was an ash tray and warning sign about not throwing cigarette ends out the window and also another sign with instructions (see photos)
Our standard room overlooked the car park, no problem but also overlooked a block of scruffy flats (see photo) that should be demolished along with the hotel, and to the side a Kebab House which stayed opened until around 3/4am. The residents of the flats spent the day fighting outside, then after midnight the customers of the Kebab place took over. That all added to the banging doors and occasional shouting in the hotel. Not to mention the fire alarm going off after midnight, which according to another resident it was caused by someone having a party and smoking in their non-smoking room. Fortunately we didn't have to evacuate, it seems a regular occurrence and they have a pre-recorded message apologising for the inconvenience and please enjoy the rest of your night.
They were the good bits!!!
Our extractor didn't work in the bathroom, the toilet wasn't fastened to the floor and rocked, the heated towel rail was cold and on a little shelf near the wash basin were cigarette burns (see photo).
Used the hair dryer just once on the last night but after a couple of seconds could smell burning before it stopped, The carpets were dirty with dirty marks on the ceiling and apparently the windows were clean when they were put in.
Evening meal was from 5.30 until 8, which considering the size of the hotel meant there were queues. Hubby and I, compared to most people are not big eaters, but the dinner plates were just a little larger than a side plate. Salad and soup for starters, did try the mushroom soup one evening and couldn't complain. Main meal, fish and meat with mash, roast potatoes, carrots, broccoli and gravy every evening. The roast beef on Sunday was nice and tender but on the whole all a bit bland. This is the first hotel where I didn't bother with the sweet, I'm known for being greedy when it comes to desert. Jelly, sponge cake and some hard little cakes with a bowl of musse. There was also a hot desert which looked like sponge cake and custard.
Apparently the drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel and there was entertainment on in both lounges. Nice comfy chairs in one lounge although very worn were once leather I think. This could also be due to guests with dogs letting them jump all over the chairs.
Went and sat in our room about ten o'clock one evening because one lounge was full and in the other some stupid woman was of the opinion that it was all right to let her dogs constantly yap with the occasional "shush" which the completely ignored. Another evening two little dogs were curled up on a sette asleep. I don't mind dogs but if the owners can't be trained then dogs shouldn't be allowed in hotels.
The lifts were rather entertaining, well. One wasn't working, another the door would open and then immediately close, someone always had to stand in the doorway to keep them open long enough to get in. The other one, you pressed the number you wanted and the lift would say. "Lift going down. Lift out of order." If it was ever true people would just ignore it and stay there forever.
The general opinion on our coach was, it should be blown up.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njohnsey1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    868
    961
    527
    795
See reviews for
608
1,596
165
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with my overnight stay at the hotel, having read some of the reviews and listened to some local comments.

The room was clean, although a bit shabby, the food not bad at all - plenty of it ! - the staff , on the whole friendly and helpful- The entertainment very good from the resident band "MEMORY LANE" and the caberet quite good also.

For the money, it was acceptable, and I wonder why people are so negatively outspoken ? It could do with improvement granted but for the money it was about right certainly no better or worse than other hotels in the region

On business, I would stay again certainly its value and convenient for my job - good effort !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a lovely but very short time in this hotel. Quite frankly, I was very concerned about coming here as it had been so cheap and some of the reviews were terrible! However, our room was adequate and very clean with a nice bathroom. The bar was cheap; the staff were kind and helpful and the buffet breakfast was great - good quality and lots of it. We didn't eat our evening meal here but went to the local fish and chip cafe, where the fish and chips were cooked to order.
As a place to stay for one night, en route to the ferry it was great. For £32 for two people including breakfast it was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capricorn140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Have just returned from a 4 day National Holidays trip to Folkestone and I know this hotel does cater for large parties of coach trips. What a disappointment the hotel was. Have used National Holidays before and their hotels have been fine and you pay for what you get but this hotel is terribly disappointmenting especially being part of the Britannia Hotels group. The reception area was drab and one lift wasn't working and the others did not give much time to get in and out. The room was a dated, smelt foisty and not too clean but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The toilet holder was broken, the toilet didn't flush and could have done with a lot of bleach. There was a 'heated towel rail' hanging off the wall which fortunately didn't work. I must say however that the bed linen was lovely and clean. We went down for breakfast on the Saturday morning and I could not believe the quality of the food, it was terrible so decided not to eat there again. We were woken at 12.15am one morning by the smoke alaram which when off as quickly as it went on,. All in all it was not a nice experience and would not go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSBNE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

booked this place as it's an awesome looking building (and we'd just watched Grand Budapest Hotel and may have been excited by the name) and it was right on the harbour. It looks more grim than the recent photos. It smells when you hit reception. we checked in with two dogs which meant a massive fuss with forms and £50 deposit (you also have to put a badly photocopied sign on the your door to warn people you have a dog). once all that was sorted we went to our 'superior room with sea view'...
it was dirty. it had crumbs everywhere. one of our dogs basically ate dinner of the carpet. there was ash and chewing gum on the window sill. the suspended ceiling was yellowed by tobacco. every surface was covered in dust and crumbs, and the table thing had water on it. the shower was broken. in all, it was pretty rough
we didn't stay the night, we checked out. the reception was polite and really not surprised that we were complaining. we ended leaving and booking in to the nearby Burlington which was much much nicer. will review that one later
this one? avoid. unless you have had all your shots and do not care about dirt.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andykeetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

this hotel was brilliant, check in was easy and swift, the room spacious clan and comfortable, the help yourself breakfast was really nice and plentiful even though it was extremely busy we didn't have to wait for anything,there were plenty of hardworking smiley staff ensuring tables were cleared etc.The entertainment was absolutely brilliant, bingo and then a male solo singer who was really good,even a boogie at the end of the evening after a few wines which were very reasonably priced. It brought back happy memories of family holidays in Butlins hotels and am so pleased to see that a good old fashioned seaside hotel still exists. We spoke to many families who have been going there for years, we will return as not only did we thoroughly enjoy ourselves this hotel was excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just returned from a National Holiday 4 day trip to Folkestone and Calais. The hotel caters very much for the coach trade, but does it very well.Our room 546 was very clean,comfortable and well equipped.The buffet food for breakfast was top notch and the evening meals where very good and varied.The only downside was being woken up one night at 2.30 am by the smoke alarm (False alarm fortunately) We have been told that this is a regular occurance, but hopefully allways a false call!

Room Tip: Front rooms have a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyscarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing