We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights to split trip to France. Food adequate always something for everyone, plenty of salad too.
For the price & half board this is value for money.
The only bad thing for me was im sure in our booking, l asked for non smoking, unfortunately the room issued 750 was on a smoking landing. In future I'll make the request in the special requirements section.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlietango147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    878
    985
    550
    820
See reviews for
628
1,634
170
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I had a very good time there at this hotel - the rooms were clean and the hallways had an airfreshner. There was a lingering smell of cigarette smoke but that was a minor point.

The evening entertainment was fun and we saw a 'swing night'.

Breakfast was ok and plentiful. But perhaps avoid the scrambled egg and very watered down orange juice.

All in all the hotel was much than we thought it would be and offered great value.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ArundelWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It was brilliant had a really lovely stay, the where do I start is for the decor I really went thinking that we won't bother to get the bags out of the car, yes it's tired and needs a bit of attention and something out of butlins but I must say we had a really really enjoyable stay, yes the room was tiny but it was clean, the entertainment was exactly that, overall brilliant really enjoyed and would and will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very basic, very cheap, not that clean, thin walls, poor carpark but for the price what more can you expect? The bedsheets were clean the decor was old and tired and in need of lots of TLC. We picked it for the price and that they accepted pets.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay somewhere nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Brighton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

All, this is without exception a Bargain Basement Hotel. The clue is in the price you pay, do not expect 5,4,3,2 star here. The parking is terrible but the harbour car park across the road is only £8.00 for 24hrs. The Room are tired, the facilities in the room functional, bed ok, great view across the harbour from the 7th floor. The Breakfast, cooked cheap produce, tinned fruit, toast and cereals, tea, coffee and squash, but you can eat and drink as much as you want. The staff we spoke to were ok. If you are on a budget or a weekend beano with the boys/girls stay here. If you want a relaxing break AVIOD it......Again it's cheap so do not expect quality, it's just somewhere to get your head down and use as a base if you're on a weekend bender. Great starting point for the Harbour Pubs and Seafood stands.

Room Tip: High Floor Rooms with sea views but you will wait for the lifts during meal and check in/out times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRQMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

An adequate hotel for a one night stopover. I would not stay again. Parking was horrendous. The rooms were none too clean and the breakfast was ok. But it was cheap and you get what you pay for. On the plus side, the location was fairly convenient for the town centre

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Where do I start with this Hotel. When we arrived EASTER WEEKEND the establishment was fully book...very impressive am I right? When we arrived we had pre booked a car parking space, but the car park was jam packed. We obviously wanted our money back but no refunds were available!!!!!! Stupid. For our room we were given 1 key for 3 people. This was very frustrating as our family kept splitting up meaning that it was a struggle to get the room key to get into our room. I then started talking to other guests who were informing me that there windows were broken and they were freezing cold. The hotel did nothing about this. Stupid. The lifts were also broken and with the hotel being fully booked it was a nightmare. Later that day on our arrival a guest weed in the hotel lift leaving it unusable. THE WORST PART was the management. I had my phone stolen by a very suspicious foreign man. When we called the manager she handled the situation in a very aggressive and frustrating way. She yelled at me and my family who were trying to deal with the thief in the calmest way possible. I had other guests staying at the hotel who witnessed the event say to me, 'I thought the manager was bang out of order'. The next day when we voiced our opinion she continued being aggressive and was clearly covering up her bad management ability by lying to my face about the sequence of events that took place. I never write on this site but I had to to tell people that I can't stress enough for people not to invest there money in this place. If its the town you like then stay somewhere else and drive there day to day. This place deserves to be shut down.

Room Tip: Don't go...full stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Benhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
971 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing