We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food ,shame about the room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Burstin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice food ,shame about the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We took my elderly parents for a couple of days break to this hotel.
The room was very tired and dated .The bed was clean although no pillow protectors .
The grab rail by the bath was falling off (Room 549),This was a premium room ,the toilet was brown inside the bowl ,yes really !! My mothers room too and the double glazing had gone and was dripping with condensation inside the panes.
Be careful of the lifts as the doors shut on me before I could exit and I have a large bruise to show for it but could be worse if you are elderly.I did report it to reception so hopefully will get sorted out soon.
The food that was included ,as we paid for bed ,breakfast and dinner was actually very good and the restaurant staff were very nice and polite in fact a credit to the hotel.
.I was a bit shocked to be asked to pay for a bottle of wine at the table but there's a first for
everything.It needs a lot of work and attention to detail.
Only one lift was working and one lady had been waiting for 15 minutes with her case .
A lot of the guests were elderly and on coach trips so one lift was crowded most of the time especially near meal times .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroleserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    861
    940
    521
    789
See reviews for
600
1,579
161
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I only paid £27 plus £3.50 for parking to them. Incidentally Parking Eye run the parking here, whether you park legally or not expect a demand as in so many places now parking is seen as some kind of legalised extortion. Stay on a hotel and expect a fine for parking, wow, quite an advert. However moving swiftly on, The bursting is a hideous building on what used to be a nice looking harbour. It can handle up to 23 coaches at one time which explains quite a lot. It does have some virtues, it's cheap, very cheap. For example a fruit tea was £1.15 in the bar and that's cheap for a hotel. The food is pretty poor but then it's done to a budget. Breakfast was undistinguished and the coffee execrable. My room which was a single and was probably normally reserved for coach drivers was small and frankly a bit grubby. The bathroom had recently been refurbished and was clean but they had re-used the old shower rail, which was rusty and beyond use. The best you can say is that it is what it is like most Britannia and Grand hotels pretty awful and very cheap. I would rather pay double for a Premier Inn but none was available.

Room Tip: Hmm, stay somewhere else unless you are on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bodenseetoggenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Have stayed here many times over the years and last Friday night was the first time I have had a room with no sea view- just view of car park across flat roofs. Worse still it was a room adapted for disabled guests which meant all mirrors were at hip level, the basin was extremely small (couldn't fill kettle from it) and I hurt my back trying to bend down low enough to brush my teeth. The TV was miniscule (would have required binoculars to see from the bed) and the radiator didn't work so the room was cold. Quite why we were put in a room for disabled guests I have no idea but it was entirely unsuitable. Coach companies pay a fraction of what we paid, and get better rooms. No longer very suitable for independent travellers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Labradoodle51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Have booked a night to stay in the hotel through Wowcher, got a really good deal breakfast and dinner included. Before we went there, have done some researched about the hotel on line, pictures look great and facilities not bad but when we arrived there, nothing look like what we saw on line, hotel looked old and tired, our room was ok, clean enough but again badly need renovated. One good thing about this stay is food, breakfast and dinner are ok, better than we have expected. Wireless not working in our room, we were on floor 9, and you have to pay for parking your car, for using swimming pool and gym. Entertainment was good. All in all, it's not so bad compared to what I paid but definitely not going back there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue1562839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

went for easter with my friend,,,wasnt expecting hotel to be up to much as bad reveiws on trip advisor,,,national coach trips cannot be faulted,,,gary our driver was excelent,we paid £169,which is expensive you can go earler or later,for£99...but because it was easter we thought we,d risk it,,,,i was very impress with hotel,,hada fab veiw on 2nd floor...clean sheets,towels changed every day,,,room was very 80s,needs updating,,towelrail,didnt heat,and shower didnt work,,but like bath anyway,and water boiling...food was excelent,,it was busy queues,but it was easter,,,staff freindly if you make an effort,,,met a lovely polish waitress who smiled all the time,,loved brugges,and canterbury,,but nota lot open easters bad time for shoppers,,but we had a good break and can recomend hotel and national hols great value

Room Tip: spa wasnt open much at easter,go to the leas its gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ralph1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights to split trip to France. Food adequate always something for everyone, plenty of salad too.
For the price & half board this is value for money.
The only bad thing for me was im sure in our booking, l asked for non smoking, unfortunately the room issued 750 was on a smoking landing. In future I'll make the request in the special requirements section.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlietango147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I had a very good time there at this hotel - the rooms were clean and the hallways had an airfreshner. There was a lingering smell of cigarette smoke but that was a minor point.

The evening entertainment was fun and we saw a 'swing night'.

Breakfast was ok and plentiful. But perhaps avoid the scrambled egg and very watered down orange juice.

All in all the hotel was much than we thought it would be and offered great value.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ArundelWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing