We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old & Tired hotel concentrating on coach trips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old & Tired hotel concentrating on coach trips”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have visited this hotel several times over the years as we have relatives living nearby, the hotel has always been relatively cheap & cheerful, but very conveniently located for our requirements.
However, we visited in May 2014 and whilst the rooms are still clean the whole place is very tired & jaded. There are twelve floors and four lifts and only two were working during our 5 day visit.
One lift served floors floors 7 to 12 only and the other was for the rest. There were considerable numbers of elderly and infirm people there who had no option but to wait for long periods for the lift.
The hotel had recently implemented a scheme where you now pay £3.50 per day for car parking, but were unable to supply enough parking spaces for the guests staying there. Once you had a parking spot you had to leave your car in there or risk having nowhere to park when you returned from your day out.
The most annoying feature of the hotel is the late night entertainment, which meant there was extremely loud music being played up until about 12:30am, which meant it was impossible to get any sleep until it finally ended. Complaining to reception, got you nowhere.
The hotel is part of the Britannia group and we submitted a written complain, which they have totally ignored, not even the courtesy of a reply.On checking online, there are numerous accounts of the Britannia group failing to respond to any complaints for many people.
Generally, avoid Britannia group hotels, wherever possible, there are many better alternatives.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanny172011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    868
    960
    526
    795
See reviews for
608
1,595
164
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

No stars at all from us absolutely the worst hotel ever..the room smelt awful old and damp it was so dirty toilet was brown beds were NOT clean roof tiles hanging off.. Bunk beds were broken.. Could not see out of the bedroom window carpets were stained toilet had brown marks in it drunk men laying outside my door at 3 am in the morning staff took ages to come and ask them to move Dirty tissues under the bed NO PARKING spaces left DO NOT STAY HERE even for one nightgown not take your children there drunk men and women screaming and shouting outside the hotel until 4am in the morning it's awful we didn't even eat breakfast which was included in our price because it was that dirty we were scared of getting ill from it HORRIBLE horrible HORRIBLE and it's also a good 25minute drive to dover if that's why you are staying there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clairedarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Don't come to this hotel unless you are coming on a cheap coach trip, if that is the case then you will get value for money in your inclusive price of travel, DBB and trips out. The hotel is dirty and dated and every night a crime is committed when the chef murders the vegetables and the meat and fish come to think of it but he/she makes a mean jelly. I got quite attached to my sea view room and it did seem to get cleaner as the week went on. Some days we got hand towels as well as bath towels and eventually got some toilet roll. One thing did puzzle me. They were advertising wedding packages from £999. Does the wedding party come in a secret entrance to a special room and eat in a different restaurant?Another thing that puzzles me is - have any of the senior executives of this hotel group ever stayed here and walked the walk of the general customer? Talking of walks there's a lot more to Folkestone than the grubby harbour. Turn right outside the hotel and there is a beautiful coastal park just past the cliff lift. Keep on walking to Sandgate for a coffee and to see the castle. If you are fit keep going to lovely Hythe (beaches, canal and old fashioned high street). You can always get the bus back.

Room Tip: The only good view is a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelinat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

went with avista coach tours to Folkestone for bank holiday weekend includes trip to Ostend and hastings very good value for money. the hotel is good the rooms were clean the service was very good. there was a very good choice of meals and plenty of it .if you left the table hungry its your own fault. over all very good value for money

Room Tip: ask for sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

hotel dated, very good value for money. room clean and tidy and comfortable. food very good and plenty of it. definitely get more value than the cost. entertainment good.this was a package with majestic tours which included excursions, one to france and belgium

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwales1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here in May2014 for 5days 4 nights, Room ok, but food definately not up to usual standard. Communal seating in lounge bar definatly needs a refurb. We even had to pay to get into the despite having a pass on our key card.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sister52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A second visit to this hotel after a few years having been told it had been refurbished. Didn't look like it! Our room:- broken furniture, windows full of condensation, dirty and broken ceiling tiles, the cleaners don't know how too hoover under wardrobe, bathroom in need of refit. The sea view was it's saving grace, through the condensation and all bedding and towels were clean and white.
Cheap and cheerful comes to mind. You can upgrade to Victoria dining room at a cost the waiting staff were not that great, food passable.The car park is an absolute joke £3.50 a day, which you can pay up front but there is no guarantee of a space!!!!
Unless there is evidence of a vast improvement we will not be going back.

Room Tip: View first!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing