We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean and good value”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here recently, as another reviewer said, seems to cater mainly for coaches. We were a little early for check in and the receptionist who seemed a bit grumpy, told us to come back later, which was fine, but a warm welcome would have been nice. Our next attempt had a nicer approach which was quick, friendly and efficient. Room size was a nice surprise, quite spacious, spotlessly clean crisp whit bedding (and mattress protectors on all beds) which is sometimes missing in a lot of hotels, so top marks there! Bathroom was ok, very clean and great water pressure, so good shower! Would have loved to have been able to join in the line dancing, but sadly was private function so not allowed to join in! Bingo and live entertainment in main bar which was good for those who wished to partake, we sat outside with our drinks overlooking the pretty harbour.
Breakfast was very very busy, buffet style, more than adequate, although it was very hot, windows were open, but very little ventilation. We would stay again, it was good value and location good for visiting local attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    877
    983
    549
    820
See reviews for
626
1,633
169
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in a party of 4 guests. Yes the hotel is in need of some TLC, but I was fully expecting that. What I did not expect was the 'pass the buck' attitude of some of the members of staff and management. (I would add that some of the staff are first class).

The 'lift's' scenario is worth a write up of its own, one is permanently out of order, the others only serve certain floors and as soon as the passengers alight the doors slam shut and it is gone.........back up to the 12th floor empty!

The hotel boasts that it has parking in its advertisements. When the hotel is busy there is nowhere near enough spaces. Guests park pretty much anywhere including some cars that were on double yellow lines right outside reception for the whole weekend. Managers could not care less. Unfortunately you tend to get boxed in and simply cannot get out, it is a nightmare. For this, privilege they charge you £3.50 per day!

They hire out 'The Ballroom' to a private 'Country & Western' organisation for the whole weekend, then attempt to cram everybody else into The Harbour Lounge, again, simply not big enough, too hot, no seats, and a could not care less attitude.

They have a major problem with their glasses and the drinks come up flat. The duty manager (Terry) and the bar supervisor (Charlotte) are aware of this but continue to serve flat drinks as most of the guests simply meekly accept what they are given. Charlotte would certainly benefit from a major personality transplant.

The Harbour Restaurant, what a charming name, it brings to mind peace, ambience, rustic charms. Well we got no further than the outside, a queue of over 40 guests at 9.30am is a clear sign that this hostel takes on more than it can serve, (see my photo, and other review of The Victorian Restaurant in the same hotel).

It is sad really, decent folk book up with the promise from Britannia Hotels that they will get a good value, breakfast, evening meal and entertainment weekend. They end up in a soul destroying queue for the cattle market or paying to eat elsewhere. Developing ulcers through the stress of trying to park, giving up, and paying £1.00. per hour to park elsewhere. Camping by the ‘Fawlty Towers’ lifts hoping for a place. Drinking overpriced, flat slops in an excuse for an entertainment venue, and having to stand up to due to the lack of seating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

booked this hotel simply as somewhere to sleep after coming off the eurotunnel. Given the amount we paid for 3 rooms through booking.com We didnt expect too much.Deb stayed here 32 years ago when on holiday with her grandparents as a little girl and does not think it has changed very much since!! it is looking quite tired and worn.The hotel mainly caters for coach parties of retired people and hits this target market spot on - cabaret, bingo, cheap rooms & cheap drinks - The rooms are fairly big but dated, we had 1 double, 1 twin & a single, everything in the rooms worked fine and the beds were comfy and clean. One negative was the smell of cigarettes in the corridors leading to the rooms. The kids loved the hotel the buffet breakfast and the fact that the building was shaped like a ship. the staff were helpful although they did forget to inform housekeeping that we had arranged a late checkout so we were woken just before 9 by chambermaids trying to get into our room and the kids were kicked out of their rooms.we would stay here again if in town as as a place to simply sleep for the night it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A clean cheap and cheerful hotel with entertainment thrown in and tv and tea and coffee in room..2 of us stayed for only £24 including breakfast !! bargain.
right opposite harbour with nice view...I will stay there again as very good value and only 6 miles away from the channel tunnel.





  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Grand Burstin hotel is very tired and need of a makeover inside and out. understand that outside of hotel weathers but a touch up is desperately required. Inside rooms are basic.. We had to swop rooms due to electrical sparks coming from main lights. Both rooms we stayed in had cigarette yellow stains on ceiling!! Rooms are all ex smoking! First room toilet blocked a roll of toilet roll was found stuck in Ubend. Facilities in room are very basic to the point we was worried to use anything incase of electric faults! Lifts broke down daily! Huge problem for the big bus loads of older folk coming in on tours. Breakfast was dim but after speaking to others staying it was 'better than last year'
Good points; the position of the hotel is close to the gorgeous folkestone harbour!! Having looked at the entertainment boards also there is lots of variety and choice to keep people of all ages busy!
Trips are also available and everything super easy to book!
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

OK so the hotel does need a bit of TLC but this did not stop us having a great time here.We had a comfy room,very white sheets and the towels were changed daily.entertainment ok food lots of choice buffet style but excellent,came last august liked very much so a return visit in may this year.would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: we had a high floor room 2 lifts were out of order but there are 2 other lifts so no problem to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I have been going to this hotel for over 8 years now, yes 8 years!! OMG you might say is this man out of his mind. Well yes and No, as people have mentioned before, you get what you pay for. Well there not kidding, how can I start one lift working and god forbid if that breaks down it is a long hall up them stairs to the seventh floor. Or alternatively if you have a room on the seventh upwards you have got a lift to yourself. Food well skip the breakfast, bacon looks like it has been pressure cooked, sausages have a taste all on their own. Best of all is the fun toasting your bread two times in the revolving toaster and you have burnt toast once around and you have a peace of bread that looks like a pale toast. Diner is not much better in the Harbour Restaurant unless you up grade or have a premier room where you can have breakfast and dine in the Victorian Restaurant worth thinking about.
Moving on why the hell do I go there, friendly staff a great view of Folkestone Harbour and the white cliffs of Dover on a lovely summers day. That's if you have sea view room' don't expect anything special about the rooms unless you have an executive room with a balcony or a premier room been in them all. Travelling around from the hotel makes it great base to venture out from. As it is a good location to travel to, to see Herne Bay especially the Saturday market, Whitstable and those lovely fish and chips cooked the old traditional way. Not forgetting Hythe and it's mini gauge railway which was actually used to commute people in the Victorian times. Stopping of at Dim Church, Romney Marsh etc.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bkkellykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
970 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing