We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing GRAND about this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Read some of the reviews before arriving but as always decided to see for myself. It really is like a throwback to the hi-de-hi days of pile 'em in and give them anything. In all fairness the check-in staff were very pleasant but then the story unfolded. Stained carpets on the way to the room and bags left indiscriminately along the corridors was just the start. Having seen the bun fight going on downstairs to grab a seat for the "entertainment" we decided to eat out. On returning to the hotel later in the evening it was like a scene from the ok corral. Could have been a scene from Benidorm. Any we retired to our room as we had an early crossing the next day. However in the early hours we were awakened by people returning to their rooms with no consideration for other residents shouting at the top of their voices. Patience is a virtue I thought and tried to get back to sleep. Not long afterwards I was roused by a voice outside shouting up to a mate in one of the rooms trying to gain access? This shouting went on for about 20 minutes without any interference from the hotel security. Eventually it stopped and I drifted off to sleep. Needless to say I was not best refreshed the next morning for a long drive through France. Guys, we do not need to settle for inferior service to obtain value for money. As long as we settle for service like this it will continue. Would not recommend to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,002 - 2,008 of 3,805 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Like a good many after reading the reviews on this site we weren't expecting top notch but booked 2 rooms for the family.
We stayed over for the airshow weekend and whilst it was packed with people it was pleasant.
On Arrival it was difficult to park (think we were one of the last to arrive for the airshow) but managed to find a space and made sure we didn't forget to pay for the car park. As we couldn't check in early we strolled along into town etc. Got back to the hotel around 15.30 were checked in promptly and went up to our 2 rooms we had booked. Very surprised to have a decent seaview overlooking the fun fair that was also on. Don't get me wrong the ceiling could do with a paint and no there isn't a flat screen tv and no there isn't aircon. Yes it was a warm weekend so i opened the window. Not difficult is it? Tv didn't bother us, we don't go on holiday to watch that either. Cleanliness spot on. White linen, white towels again all clean ready to use. Complimentary Shower/bath also in the en-suite. The hotel overnight was quiet, one down side and that is the nightclub opposite. 3am and closing time. Rather than go home they stand outside shouting, sitting in the road etc as drunks do! after they disperssed again all peaceful.
Breakfast was buffet but again very busy found a table and food was all hot and enjoyed it all. However on leaving a lot more were queing to go in. After breakfast, unfortunatley time to check out again friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again when around folkestone or catching the ferry from Dover.

Room Tip: 501 or 502
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for! A clean, but dated, comfortable room, reasonable food, with a good selection. This was our third visit, and we have always been happy with our stay. The hotel staff have always been helpful and informative. The location is excellent, lovely beaches just a short walk along the front, nice shopping centre, plenty of places to eat out. It's an excellent base for a day trip to Dover or a channel crossing. One tip, pay the extra for the sea view, it is worth it.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank corinne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

good value, only £37 for a Friday night plus decent full English breakfast buffet for two.....however, old, smelly, tired and all just a bit chaotic. Admittedly they were full, reception area tiny and overwhelmed by long frustrated queue. Whole hotel desperately in need of makeover, front arrival/parking area incredibly scruffy and tight. Car park overwhelmed and receptionist refused to suggest any nearby alternative parking, had to park some distance away. Room okay recently painted but still a bit smelly. To cap it all, to access our room corridor had to work our way through big angry mob sat down enjoying a pub singer belting out badly some old favourites.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here recently, as another reviewer said, seems to cater mainly for coaches. We were a little early for check in and the receptionist who seemed a bit grumpy, told us to come back later, which was fine, but a warm welcome would have been nice. Our next attempt had a nicer approach which was quick, friendly and efficient. Room size was a nice surprise, quite spacious, spotlessly clean crisp whit bedding (and mattress protectors on all beds) which is sometimes missing in a lot of hotels, so top marks there! Bathroom was ok, very clean and great water pressure, so good shower! Would have loved to have been able to join in the line dancing, but sadly was private function so not allowed to join in! Bingo and live entertainment in main bar which was good for those who wished to partake, we sat outside with our drinks overlooking the pretty harbour.
Breakfast was very very busy, buffet style, more than adequate, although it was very hot, windows were open, but very little ventilation. We would stay again, it was good value and location good for visiting local attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANDS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in a party of 4 guests. Yes the hotel is in need of some TLC, but I was fully expecting that. What I did not expect was the 'pass the buck' attitude of some of the members of staff and management. (I would add that some of the staff are first class).

The 'lift's' scenario is worth a write up of its own, one is permanently out of order, the others only serve certain floors and as soon as the passengers alight the doors slam shut and it is gone.........back up to the 12th floor empty!

The hotel boasts that it has parking in its advertisements. When the hotel is busy there is nowhere near enough spaces. Guests park pretty much anywhere including some cars that were on double yellow lines right outside reception for the whole weekend. Managers could not care less. Unfortunately you tend to get boxed in and simply cannot get out, it is a nightmare. For this, privilege they charge you £3.50 per day!

They hire out 'The Ballroom' to a private 'Country & Western' organisation for the whole weekend, then attempt to cram everybody else into The Harbour Lounge, again, simply not big enough, too hot, no seats, and a could not care less attitude.

They have a major problem with their glasses and the drinks come up flat. The duty manager (Terry) and the bar supervisor (Charlotte) are aware of this but continue to serve flat drinks as most of the guests simply meekly accept what they are given. Charlotte would certainly benefit from a major personality transplant.

The Harbour Restaurant, what a charming name, it brings to mind peace, ambience, rustic charms. Well we got no further than the outside, a queue of over 40 guests at 9.30am is a clear sign that this hostel takes on more than it can serve, (see my photo, and other review of The Victorian Restaurant in the same hotel).

It is sad really, decent folk book up with the promise from Britannia Hotels that they will get a good value, breakfast, evening meal and entertainment weekend. They end up in a soul destroying queue for the cattle market or paying to eat elsewhere. Developing ulcers through the stress of trying to park, giving up, and paying £1.00. per hour to park elsewhere. Camping by the ‘Fawlty Towers’ lifts hoping for a place. Drinking overpriced, flat slops in an excuse for an entertainment venue, and having to stand up to due to the lack of seating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

booked this hotel simply as somewhere to sleep after coming off the eurotunnel. Given the amount we paid for 3 rooms through booking.com We didnt expect too much.Deb stayed here 32 years ago when on holiday with her grandparents as a little girl and does not think it has changed very much since!! it is looking quite tired and worn.The hotel mainly caters for coach parties of retired people and hits this target market spot on - cabaret, bingo, cheap rooms & cheap drinks - The rooms are fairly big but dated, we had 1 double, 1 twin & a single, everything in the rooms worked fine and the beds were comfy and clean. One negative was the smell of cigarettes in the corridors leading to the rooms. The kids loved the hotel the buffet breakfast and the fact that the building was shaped like a ship. the staff were helpful although they did forget to inform housekeeping that we had arranged a late checkout so we were woken just before 9 by chambermaids trying to get into our room and the kids were kicked out of their rooms.we would stay here again if in town as as a place to simply sleep for the night it was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £26 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing