We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel was very busy with different coach party's. We went independantly nice room we had special requirements as my husband has mobility disabilites. They catered for him very well. Food in the Harbour restaurants was surprisingly very good, had a good selection every evening. My mum is vegetarian but she was pleasantly surprised had a different choice every evening. We had a lovely week it helped the weather was very nice. I love folkestone and the harbour. Especially the lovely seafood from Bob's, so fresh. Also worth taking a trip into the town to find the Weatherspoons there. A church - surprisingly.!!!! Also Hythe is not far away - a visit to the Crypt there for £1.00. Very enjoyable week away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    878
    985
    551
    822
See reviews for
628
1,634
170
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wainfleet All Saints, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

One night stay for business in Dover the next morning. Staff on reception were pleasant. The Hotel had a fusty smell about it and was very run down. My room stank of stale cigarette smoke and was in need of decoration. The bed sheets and pillow cases were white and clean but the pillow underneath was stained I daren't look at the mattress! Old woodchip paper on the walls and the TV was very old and dirty. The view out of my window would have been great if I could have seen through the condensation which had formed between the double glazed glass. I was on the first floor directly above the main entrance where the buses pulled up to offload, leaving their engines running Diesel fumes came into my room through the window which I left open in order to get fresh air! Breakfast was self service awful and cold. No room in the car park when I arrived. What a shame Folkestone is so run down.

Room Tip: Avoid room 0128
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickC117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

CAMBRIDGE ENGLAND
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was a bit dubious on booking a room for one night prior to my early ferry crossing from Dover, as the price was £49 for a double room , well the room was spacious with two comfortable beds, with good fresh looking linen, tea and coffee making facilities, nice bathroom overall a bargain, although the Hotel is a bit dated the decor is well maintained , the staff all seemed friendly and helpful. there are two Bar/ entertainment areas, one was privately booked for a Line dancing event, but we were allowed in to listen to the music and watch the dancing , ok if your into that sort of thing but to me its like Irish dancing its all very much the same after two dances? so we headed for the other bar where two singing acts performed and they were very good. We did not eat here but on looking at the options for meal deals it was very good pricing, and according to some guests the quality was very good. The car park can be a problem only for the potential guests which could be staying here, I think on the day we arrived it was being used by outsiders as there was an air show on the beach front , we had a picnic and watched the show which was an added bonus, people have complained about Folkstone being run down and nothing to do, well that's not the hotels fault , its similar to many coast line towns up and down the country. Back to the Hotel ,yes I will use again unfortunately only for the convienence of a short journey for the early morning ferry crossings. Overall Burstin well done.

Room Tip: Front rooms over looking the harbour if staying for longer periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KENSUE_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you read the hotels website ...yes it's all true BUT. It's VERY dated. We had a refurbished premier room for 2 nights.
I think they forgot the bathroom. When we arrived there was a smell like something had died in our bathroom. Maintenance arrived and explained the water in the toilet dries out and the sewer smells come up. Then housekeeping arrived with a room deodoriser. That puffed out every so often , now our room smelt like a public toilet.
The hot water tap in the shower didn't work on our last day ...no one arrived to fix it before we left.
Our pillowcases had stains on them.
Doors to the drawers and cupboard under the TV ( empty cupboard) were broken.
Balcony had a nice view though.
Then the public areas ......unbelievably dated with lots of mismatched furniture, meals were a bit like institution food, plenty of it ...prepared well in advance. It was a struggle to find dinner plates that were washed up properly.
Entertainment was good though.
This place is one of those " you get what you pay for", lots of cheap coach tour parties of " seniors" from the North of England were there.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony .....get a premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscoff, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It is what it is with this hotel, coach parties are its mainstay income, cheap deals abound! For a 0ne or two night stay, its ideal, as its close to the ferry ports and channel tunnel, food is ok, ample quantity, good choice for the low price charged.
Interior of the hotel is mostly dated and smells strongly of smoke. rooms are very basic and not very well cleaned, plus smoke can be smelt in all upper floors. Lifts tend to operate infrequently, often breaking down!
The worst aspect is the foyer and entrance, its crowded with smokers and its quite disgusting having to walk through a wall of smoke to get into the hotel itself.
For a very short stopover, its ok and value for money, but not recommended for longer.

Room Tip: Request premier rooms to get a better and cleaner stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It must be said that parking can be an issue, Top tip arrive early to ensure a space and then leave your car in situ as you may not park again.
Our stay was pleasant the room was on the 10th floor and gave great views of the sea and beach. We did experience the noise of near by night club as it chucked out at 3am but in fairness the noise only lasted about 20 minutes.

Having paid a tad more for the room entitles us to use the Victorian restaurant for breakfast, the main restaurant looked like chaos, but our one was lovely a nice setting and we were served by very trained and mindful staff. The buffet breakfast was pleasant and offered a wide choice that I would expect a large hotel to provide.

In the evening entertainment was provided and the bar was reasonably priced.

Would we stay here again, well the cost for us was a bargain but in fairness probably not.
However if you are looking for a no thrills budget hotel in the right by the beach in Folkestone you can't go much wrong with the Grand Burstin.

Room Tip: worth paying extra for the superior room as this entitles you to use the Victorian restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we arrived too late for the evening meal (which according to my Hyacinth Bouquet cousin was terrible) the room was spacious and clean,the white bedding WAS white,we went for a wander before going back to the hotel and was suprised to find they had entertainment which was actually quit good,had a good nights sleep and had a fab shower lots of pressure, go down to breakfast the hubby and i are veggies but plenty of choice ,usual sausage bacon for meat lovers but eggs scrambled and boiled,mushrooms,beans,tomatoes toast cereals and fruit and yogurt ,as much tea and coffee and juice as you wanted HELLO for £57 for two people for bed breakfast and evening meal what more do you want :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyminky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
971 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing