We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My Husband and I stayed for one night at the Burstin Hotel, having stated no ground floor room that was what we were first given, it was changed to the Forth floor which although we stated non-smoking, the room smelt dreadful, and looked out onto a waste space covered in graffiti,we were then given another room in the BASEMENT which looked onto and area full of weeds and a view at the top again full of graffiti. Breakfast was just a walking around meal, I happen to like my tea with the milk in first , but all the pots of tea and coffee, and the cups and saucers were in one place but no milk , so had to carry my cup and saucer to my table to get milk then back again for the tea, why not put jugs of milk with the tea and coffee pots as well as on the table? the corridors were full of stacked beds and furniture and most of the carpets needed the hover put over them. I used to stay at the Burstin many years ago for dance weekends, sometime twice a year, but I am afraid the Burstin has gone down hill, certainly not to be recommended. Just Awful!

Room Tip: Have no idea if any of the rooms are good or not as each of the three rooms we were given were just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanBrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    868
    960
    526
    795
See reviews for
608
1,595
164
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We have always read tripadvisor reviews and given hotels the benefit of the doubt, however we should have taken more notice with this hotel. I know that some reviewers have stated that the hotel is good value for money, which it could be. I can cope with basic rooms, not a problem. I could cope with the car parking charge even though it wasn't mentioned on the website. l knew it was a very large hotel so I expected some noise (and was not disappointed). Yes, the lifts didn't work - we were only on the 4th floor so used the stairs. However, there is no excuse for the poor standard of cleanliness. Yes ok, the sheets may have been white, but after seeing the rest of the room we slept on top of the bed. ..and didn't look under the duvet, just as well it was hot! There was sand on the bathroom floor, hair on the carpet and in the plughole of both the sink and bath, which was not clean. Someone had emptied hair from a razor on the side of the bath and the cups in the room stuck to the saucers. We did not even attempt breakfast. Had we arrived earlier we would have checked out and gone somewhere else. If you are not bothered about hygiene then you would probably find the hotel ok, but if you are stay at your peril!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jem24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Paid 89GBP for a seaview room. As soon as we arrived to park the car we realised that there was something wrong with the hotel. The car park was a mess, and almost impossible to park!, try under the hotel to see what we mean.

Walked into reception and you can see that there has not been any money spent on the hotel in a while, machines broken, carpet dirty, walls old and tired.

Told reception we have 2 small dogs, which I had called about 2 weeks earlier, and was told no problem. Got given a yale lock key for the door. went to floor 6 after battling with getting into the lift. (not working properly) Walked to room 614, corridors were really shabby, doors dirty, scuffed/marked. Foot prints on the ceiling!

Entered room, all I can say it dirty, old, battered, bare wires on electrical wiring, bath cigarette burn marks, dirty taps, toilet seat broken, floor dirty, hairs all over the place.

Bedroom, sheets clean, pillows had hairs on them, towels clean. bedside tables ok states. lamps ok. chairs dirty old and tired. Balcony door..Wait... a balcony?? ok I have 2 small dogs.. (will come to that later)

Took 2 of us to open the balcony door, as it was broken, and the handle was jimmied back on at some point. Chain lock on the door. Balcony, railings old rusting, huge gaps. Cigarette butt ends outside on the floor and the guttering outside the room.

Due to the dogs we were unable to open the balcony doors, this mean no air, there was no air co or ventilation to the room. Called reception for a fan, told not possible as they don't have them. No iron as they don't have them, no ice for the rooms allowed. No ice permitted from the bar for the rooms.

Went down complained, as it was too dangerous, told they were full and nothing they could do, asked to speak with a manager.. instead I got the food manager... She was not able to help, but did offer a refund if we wanted to leave!.. Not the best way to handle.

Bar was again old and ran down. Did not accept card payments for under 10 GBP, was not allowed to have it on the room, as you need to have a Credit card. We gave out standard Dutch credit card which was not accepted. There Cash machine was empty, so had to walk 15 mins to another ATM.

Arcade machines, paid nothing out, even after spending a lot of cash in them as there was nothing else to do unless you wanted to drink all night!

Entertainment was an old man with no teeth, singing songs I have never heard of before. Bar staff were embarrassed to charge 2 GBP for a diet coke. When I asked about how many complaints they get, he said, that he lost count, as its so much per day, that all the staff have become numb to the level of complaints.

After 11pm, nightclub music banging on outside, which no warning from reception, drunk people in reception (they have a door security!)

A night of sweltering room, no air etc. Showered in the morning.. This was GOOD! once you got it from ice cold to scalding hot.. takes a little while. TV got 2 maybe 3 channels the rest no signal.

Breakfast:

ok now we have eaten around the world, from Africa, to USA, Australia, Bangkok to France and England. All I can say is that its an experience. Picture Hotel Paradiso, Verus Faulty towers.

Staff stood around arguing about each other, half cleaned tabled, milk half filled, and not.. strange looks when you ask for the milk jug to be filled.

English breakfast, it is its only category.. Nasty sausages not sure they had meat in them, not sure what they were, bacon looks like its sliced of a pigs butt in the kitchen. Scrambled eggs needing Sliced! Nice tinned tomatoes.. once you find them in the sea of toms sauce. Toast.. don't bother, there was almost a fight over toast!

Kids sticking there hands into the cereal, and eating directly from the serving bowls. Tea was ok, OJ and lime and lemon.. don't touch unless you want un-natural colour and preservatives.

Needless to say we ran out of the hotel, and did not look back. The place is tired, old, filthy, and we saw many many people complaining. The only reason why we used them was for the dogs, and even there we fear for the dogs health!

DONT GO THERE, waste of time, money, sanity, and full of old grump people, or drunk louts, or family's who really should not be allowed to mix with normal humans.

Room Tip: Don't choose one. If you must stay there.. go as high as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WDxDangermouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed there for a 2 day break, Friday till Sunday, had evening meal and breakfast, upgraded to the better resteurant cost £5 each per night, which was a lot better than the other resteurant, room where clean and tidy, some needed redecorating, entertainment was okay, parking was okay if you got there early up till2 o clock, after that you had a job finding spaces, they charge £3.50 per day,

Room Tip: Sea view 6 floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Breakfast disgusting ,sofa in the reception had a large stain were a member of there large old age customers uranated in it it was left like that rooms old and dirty looking bar sells flat over priced beer I just can find a positive and the worst part is the have the nerve to charge for parking the worst hotel I ever stayed in

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dublinboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
227 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel on a coach holiday.
Whilst the room was fairly clean and the bed comfortable, the room was like an oven since the window would only open a few inches. This seriously affected our ability to sleep.
There were some dirty towels outside room 433 from the Wednesday evening until the time we left on the Friday morning. Not only was it not very hygenic but these were on a fire escape route.
The entertainment was a joke!
On the Monday night there was a male duo playing guitars and singing - to say that they weren't very good is an understatement. The cabaret later on lasted 35 minutes, the the male singer was scruffy and not at all professional and when the female singer started the show her lips were moving but there was no sound. She was obviously miming and the volume on the soundtrack had not been turned up.
There were two bingo sessions each night and the minimum spend on tickets was £6.
We were that disgusted with the so-called entertainment on the Monday that we went elsewhere for the remaining three nights.
The dining room left a lot to be desired since to reach many of the tables you had to thread your way through the tables as if you were going through a maze.
The plates were wet so you had to dry them with serviettes if you didn't want your food in a pool of water. When the food ran out they were very slow at bringing out fresh supplies, the carrots did not look very appealing and the brussel spouts were mush.
They were using the smallest plates that I have ever seen for a main course in any restaurant - When a slice of bread was put on a plate the four corners were hanging over the edge.
Even the lemon and lime fruit juice in the mornings tasted "watered down".
The free wifi only worked in the lounge.
If this is the best that Brittannia hotels can do then no wonder the majority of guests that stay at this hotel are on coach trips.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gismo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great room overlooking the harbour. Bed spotlessly clean. OK, a bit outdated, but nice, quiet and great value. Breakfast better than expected, nice choice of eggs, not powdered scrabbled stuff. Bacon, sausages, beans, tomatoes, toast etc.. What more can you expect for the price? Thanks to the lovely waitress Jackie, who brought me some yoghurt from the kitchen as the delivery hadn't arrived. They work so hard, considering the amount of people who all arrived at the same time.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolynford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing