We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Although We haven't been here for a while, we have stayed at this hotel three times.I remember the hotel was good value for money. It is in a good location, central to most places especially to go to France for the day. The dining room offered a reasonable variety everyday (better if you upgraded to premier). Entertainment was good every evening in both bars. Our rooms were clean, however we did get woken up early one morning with the alarm going off. Also, there was a swimming pool and gym which I found relaxing.

I still think this is a good hotel especially for long weekends or short week breaks at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Best is to choose a Premier Room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,716)
There are newer reviews for Grand Burstin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,823 - 1,829 of 3,716 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed 2 nites 25th-27th July. Read the reviews with an open mind but E mailed them to ask for a high room, thank god I did. was disappointed that while visiting a relative their a last month didn't have to pay for parking but as a paying guest was charged £3.50 per night. Our room on the 9th floor was a smoking room which I hadn't requested but can honestly say there was no smell of smoke,. The room was extremely dated but clean the big bonus was we had a balcony it was so hot that we slept on top of the bed with the patio door open, down side was cos it facing the harbour could hear boom boom boom from the night club that wasn't to bad but then through out the night heard shouting arguing the other side of the car park, then the Seagulls they never sleep. Breakfast was as I expected and yes the sausages are as bad as others have claimed. The lift to the upper floors tell you that its out of order but don't be alarmed. Entertainment was what you expect but so so hot stayed only 15mins. spent next day at Hythe for family Wedding returned early hours Sun morning, no fights or noise thank god. Breakfast sunday totally different chaos, found a table finally but asked for it to be cleared only hd a cup of tea that wasn't very nice, the staff said they have 1000 people in that restaurant throughout the 3hrs its open, there were queues at the door. Bottom line is you get what you pay for, But I'm sure if I didn't have the room we fortunately got then I would be moaning even more. As others have said it certainly needs upgrading a 2nights stay at the price we paid was ok if your a group looking for a cheap hotel just to lay your head after a lot to drink then this is the place for you, if not look else where

Room Tip: Rooms 901/02/03 /04/05/96. got balcony even though smoking rooms, out look to the beach but can be...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank karin-chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Disneyland Paris - Beware the scrambled egg and breakfast sausages - entertained all night by the foul language drama enacted outside following nightclub romance break up drama which I am sure has added well to our children's vocabulary - could have switched rooms to other side of hotel to take in the waste bin pit bull bull terrier Bates Hotel gathering but preferred the screaming.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Justingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a coach trip. The location is good for the ferries from Dover but not for a holiday. Rooms were shabby but bed linen clean and fresh towels daily. The food was very basic but plenty of it and salads were ok. The lounge and bar area needed new furniture. However i looked in the premium dining room and it looked very nice and there were shades of the elegant grand hotel this once was.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cattac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

arrived 21st july 2014 we picked this tour and hotel for swimming pool as we took grandchildren with us. The pool was empty mon,tue, wed ,they filled it thu but not up to temp we left fri. whole hotel very tierd .needs full up grade .lounge ceiling leaking (buckets on floor ) caberet only on for 30 mins,good but short. rooms not to clean .food ok and not to expenseve for drink .not a hotel for children.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ross g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at The Grand Burstin booked on National Coach Holiday. Standard, there isn't one. Dinning Room, dead flies on window ledges. Dirty plates, stained saucers. Carpets many covered with PVC tape to cover the holes. Lift not even clean. Rooms way best there best and needs a complete refurbishment both inside and out. Lots of people complaining about standards from other bus company holidays. Would not recommend to anyone. Reported them to Environmental Health Department. Prime position on the Harbour but would never go again.

Room Tip: There isn't any tips.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Britannia Hotel chain really need to take a good look at this so called hotel. I should have taken the advice of fellow travellers on Tripadvisor and stayed well clear. Lesson learned!!!
I was charged £60.00 supplement for a single room ( as I had went there as part of a coach tour)
and I was given a small attic room with only a Velux window on the sloping roof for ventilation.
Total,total rip off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank janice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,035 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £29 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing