We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Burstin Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Carlton Hotel(Folkestone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Southcliff(Folkestone)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Wards Hotel(Folkestone)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandgate Hotel(Sandgate)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (3,950)
Filter reviews
3,950 results
Traveller rating
332
956
1,066
635
961
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
956
1,066
635
961
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening entertainmentoverlooking the harbourbar pricesbad reviewsexcellent value for moneybit datedcanterbury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,053 - 2,058 of 3,950 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

No this is not a boutique personal service hotel. It is BIG
Has a lot of coach parties, and has up to 1,000 in dining room. Bit off putting to see so many to feed (buffet breakfast and dinner) but it works. Always lots of choice for dinner, mainly plain food but perfectly cooked, vegetables al dente etc and lots of it. The steak and ale pie was perfect. Big chunks of steak, not a sign of fat or grissle
Everywhere was spotless
Fantastic location opposite the harbour, even has underground car park to keep seagull "£*** off the car. We had room 617 overlooking the harbour with our own balcony. Nearby is a coach and truck park so bit of noise from there at 5am but the gulls wake you up earlier

Room Tip: Room 617, large comfy room with harbour view with balcony but note previous comment about early morning road and seagull noise but uou can't have seaview without gulls. Ithink rooms 613 to 620 will be similar bathroom had shower over bath so you have a choice
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Frank089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Although We haven't been here for a while, we have stayed at this hotel three times.I remember the hotel was good value for money. It is in a good location, central to most places especially to go to France for the day. The dining room offered a reasonable variety everyday (better if you upgraded to premier). Entertainment was good every evening in both bars. Our rooms were clean, however we did get woken up early one morning with the alarm going off. Also, there was a swimming pool and gym which I found relaxing.

I still think this is a good hotel especially for long weekends or short week breaks at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Best is to choose a Premier Room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed 2 nites 25th-27th July. Read the reviews with an open mind but E mailed them to ask for a high room, thank god I did. was disappointed that while visiting a relative their a last month didn't have to pay for parking but as a paying guest was charged £3.50 per night. Our room on the 9th floor was a smoking room which I hadn't requested but can honestly say there was no smell of smoke,. The room was extremely dated but clean the big bonus was we had a balcony it was so hot that we slept on top of the bed with the patio door open, down side was cos it facing the harbour could hear boom boom boom from the night club that wasn't to bad but then through out the night heard shouting arguing the other side of the car park, then the Seagulls they never sleep. Breakfast was as I expected and yes the sausages are as bad as others have claimed. The lift to the upper floors tell you that its out of order but don't be alarmed. Entertainment was what you expect but so so hot stayed only 15mins. spent next day at Hythe for family Wedding returned early hours Sun morning, no fights or noise thank god. Breakfast sunday totally different chaos, found a table finally but asked for it to be cleared only hd a cup of tea that wasn't very nice, the staff said they have 1000 people in that restaurant throughout the 3hrs its open, there were queues at the door. Bottom line is you get what you pay for, But I'm sure if I didn't have the room we fortunately got then I would be moaning even more. As others have said it certainly needs upgrading a 2nights stay at the price we paid was ok if your a group looking for a cheap hotel just to lay your head after a lot to drink then this is the place for you, if not look else where

Room Tip: Rooms 901/02/03 /04/05/96. got balcony even though smoking rooms, out look to the beach but can be noisy
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank karin-chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Disneyland Paris - Beware the scrambled egg and breakfast sausages - entertained all night by the foul language drama enacted outside following nightclub romance break up drama which I am sure has added well to our children's vocabulary - could have switched rooms to other side of hotel to take in the waste bin pit bull bull terrier Bates Hotel gathering but preferred the screaming.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Justingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a coach trip. The location is good for the ferries from Dover but not for a holiday. Rooms were shabby but bed linen clean and fresh towels daily. The food was very basic but plenty of it and salads were ok. The lounge and bar area needed new furniture. However i looked in the premium dining room and it looked very nice and there were shades of the elegant grand hotel this once was.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cattac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews