We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well placed hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Burstin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
london
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“well placed hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Far from luxurious but ideal for a brief holiday, clean, well-sized rooms and loads of hot water.
The hotel s busy with bus-tourists and over-nighters, and noisy bars, but the hotel offers great value for money. On sea-level, near two good restaurants and takeways, a short 20 minute uphill stroll to the town centre. regeneration has made Folkestone more interesting and is an ideal start for early morning train to France. Have stayed twice for weekend festivals.

Room Tip: recommend higher than 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter29alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    861
    940
    521
    788
See reviews for
600
1,579
161
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our 2-night stay here was to attend a ship visit in Dover and to visit relatives in Kent. The Burstin is extremely tired looking and desperately needs refurbishing. Our room was on the 3rd floor at the back of Wing C. Naming a corridor of rooms a 'Wing' sounds like a prison and combined with the poor decor and pungent unpleasant smell there it was just as unwelcoming. Our room was acceptable and bedding clean. The bath panel needed a little repair, the toilet seat was loose and black mould evident around the bath edge. As our window had to be open to keep cool the very noisy nightlife outside could be heard till early hours.

A previous reviewer mentioned of being awakened by the fire alarm at 1330h. Exactly the same happened to us on our first night and upon enquiring the following morning at Reception why this had happened they acknowledged that it did occur at 1330h but did not know why!!

We only ate breakfast during our stay that was a canteen style self-service ample buffet. Although I saw a guest manhandling the huge pile of sliced bread before choosing which to toast! Vacuum jugs contained poor quality coffee and uncovered jugs of milk placed on each of the numerous tables I felt were less than hygienic.

Cannot comment on the entertainment and bar as returned to hotel each evening ready for bed.

The car park is inadequate for the hotel size. Vehicles jam packed in every available spot. This lack of parking provision forced us to park elsewhere some distance away.

In conclusion if you pay a budget price don't set your standards too high!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pantiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here with my children en route to France. On arrival we had to ask for the room to be vacuumed as there was still dirt under the coffee table and chairs. This was done, after nearly five hours and having to ask a second time as we went in for dinner. I only noticed the sink wasn't cleaned properly after I moved the moisturisers and shampoos in the room.
We had opted for the buffet style restaurant in the hotel. It was dreadful. The choice of menu was very odd. Fish in a white sauce or sweet and sour pork, both served with roast veg and gravy?? Other than that there was a choice of salad...or rather there was a few large bowls of lettuce a couple of tomatoes and some large bowls of tasteless pasta. The breakfast wasn't much better. However what worried me most of all was the hygiene standards of the restaurant staff. On a number of occasions we witnessed them bringing out new trays of food. One tray of fresh bacon was rested on top of the sausages while the bacon was refilled. Not just rested on the metal...but on the food itself!! This happened each time new food was brought out. We stopped eating.

If you do stay here please be careful with the lifts. In one of them the sensors seem to be broken which resulted in a lot of people being hit and hurt by the doors.

Outside the hotel is a very noisy nightclub. The windows do keep the noise out, however there is no air conditioning in the rooms. So we had the choice between not sleeping because of the heat or the noise. The nightclub did close at about 3am...at which point everyone seemed to go to the burger van just next to it.

We won't be staying again. A lot of staff training is needed. Especially in housekeeping and kitchen staff (the chef, in particular, should be ashamed of themselves).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BMac_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My sister and I took our 89 year old mother for a weekend break after reading some of the reviews we was a bit dubious about going there, we found the room clean, bedlinen was nice fresh and clean, food excellent, staff very friendly, entertainment first class, the down side, no air conditioning in rooms,furniture in lounge needed replacing, the hotel needs a good revamp, my mum bless her thoroughly enjoyed her stay and would like to go again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a coach trip.
The temperature was in the 80's and the room was stifling-no air con or fan.Leaving the window open all day and night made little difference. The heat, combined with the noise of the seagulls and rowdy holidaymakers, made for 3 very uncomfortable nights with little sleep.
On a positive note the food was very good even if the dining room was like a school canteen.Good quality and plenty of choice.
We didn't really see any of the entertainment which seemed geared towards a much older age group (and I'm 50!) so can't comment.
There are plenty of pubs nearby, but very expensive-7.50 for 2 pints on average.
This hotel is well past it's best before date and in great need of a revamp.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roselin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is definately 2 star totally needs major overhaul. Should be fabulous as the location is great. Very busy hotel car park heaving, food not very nice, room was a twin on the first floor it was very dated dirty walls, smelled of tobacco smoke, curtains flimsy could hear the coaches dropping off and picking up so no sleep. The bad was comfy and clean. A plus is it is right on the harbour so location is fabulous and walking around there are some lovely places to go.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Room for family of 5, including full English and evening meal for £105, booked a couple of weeks in advance. Travelodge etc. in the area were all fully booked, and last time I looked when they had availability a room was about £70.

Ok so there seems to be lots of bad reviews about the Burstin, but I don't think it was that bad, ok it needs updating, the food is like a school canteen etc. but what do you expect at this price.

Importantly it's clean, and ideally located near Dover for ferries etc.

Got 20mbps in the hotel room on my Three mobile broadband too, get in!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Lastminute so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing