We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Burstin Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Carlton Hotel(Folkestone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Southcliff(Folkestone)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Wards Hotel(Folkestone)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandgate Hotel(Sandgate)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (3,949)
Filter reviews
3,949 results
Traveller rating
332
955
1,066
635
961
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
955
1,066
635
961
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening entertainmentoverlooking the harbourbar pricesbad reviewsexcellent value for moneybit datedcanterbury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,024 - 2,029 of 3,949 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked for 5 days with majestic coach tours, on arrival a girl came on our coach to give us our keys to our room, when we eventuly found our room it was in the basement, yes the basement, with a very small window and a drain running thourgh the floor, when we complained to reception we were told to put up with it, but we were not prepaired to leave it there , next morning we went to reception to be told that there were no other rooms but to go and pack and they will see what they can do, as we were going on a trip we had to wait till we came back to find out that we had been upgraded to 7th floor with harbour view the room was very dated but it does pay to complane, the food was fair , entertainment excetable, but this hotel seriously needs a make over very old furniture that has had its day no air conditioning any where in hotel,
the reception staff are very rude, holiday from hell comes to mind

Room Tip: stay away, find a different hotel, im sure theres better in folkstone,
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFH143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived last Friday for the weekend for Skafest. It took us ages to book in, & finally when we did the room stank of damp. We had an executive room with a balcony overlooking the sea. The whole hotel needs a refurb. We had a huge stain on our carpet. The tv was old fashion, everythng was awful. Then later on in the evening we were getting ready to go out, & we realise the stain wasn't dry, the carpet was ringing wet, we looked directly above it & we could see the ceiling tile above had been replaced so it was obvious theve had a leak. When we went to shower, the water just trickled out it took me forever to try & wash my hair, you had to take the shower down to try & get some water out to get the soap off of your body. I spoke to the manager all he wanted to do was mone us but didn't have an answer to why we had been put in that room with a sopping wet carpet. There were at least 5 other couples at reception complaining about their rooms. We will not be going back there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank listoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We paid £59 for 2 people dinner bed and breakfast and day trip to France. Food was poor school dinners type even though we paid to upgrade our was still poor. However for the price of it all and a little break it was good value for money

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaygo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

If you want cheap and chearful then maybe but its like a cattle market
Good staff cant make up for piss poor rooms and self service food
If you want cheap then fine but otherwise steer clear. Nice sea views but also noisy

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nudgerwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Don't listen to all the bad stories about Folkstone. The harbour, Old Town and Creative Quarter are excellent. The real jewel in the crown is The Leas area which includes the beautiful old buildings and gardens. Folkstone had the highest density of Rolls-Royces in the world.
We stayed at the Grand Burstin Hotel which basically accommodates people on coach tours. It has 550 rooms which were apparently all occupied (allowing for the reputation that Folkstone has that is an amazing achievement). Thankfully we had booked sea view double bedrooms and the view over the harbour and along the white cliffs of Dover were superb. A million pounds could be spent refurbishing this hotel and additional work would still be required. The breakfast was Gr8 but the evening meal was very poor - I would suggest book B&B and eat locally. The swimming pool and gym looked fine. We enjoyed the evening entertainment.
The key features about this hotel are excellent sea views and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Always book a harbour view room as those on the other side over look the car park or bins.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mikedixon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews