We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the worst hotels we've ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Burstin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the worst hotels we've ever stayed at!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Without doubt, this ranks amongst the worst hotels we've ever stayed at. We chose it because it is only 10 minutes from The Channel Tunnel Terminal and because The Premier Inn, where we normally stay had increased it's prices disproportionately.
On arrival, there was huge queue at the desk because an error had obviously been made with a large group at the front of the queue. When I got to the desk, I was charged £3.50 to park a motorcycle overnight! - That is a first.
There are fruit machines and gaming machines every where you look on the ground floor. The room was grubby, the furniture was falling apart and the bathroom was disgusting.WiFi didn't work in the room. Carpets everywhere were filthy and everywhere smelled of stale food and tobacco smoke. This was everything bad in a 50's holiday camp but in a hotel setting.
The fire alarm went off twice during the night (false alarms announced over the tannoy system). We needed an early night and a good night's sleep due to the long ride ahead the next day. - No chance of that, being at the front once the false fire alarms had finished, we had people below our bedroom window 'gobbing off' for most of what was left of the night.
Sugar is obviously extortionately expensive in Folkestone, because every table at Breakfast had one of those sugar pourers that everybody else threw away 20 years ago because they don't work! Every pourer showed the signs of a previous guests frustration as they had attempted to widen the spout with their cutlery. - The only thing for it is to remove the lid and hey presto, the entire table is covered in sugar as the pourer has been filled to the brim and not a single guest has got a single grain out since! - A novel way of boosting profits!
Checking out confirmed the whole attitude of the place. - I wasn't given the opportunity to comment, let alone complain. - As I approached the desk, key in hand, the 'receptionist' was so engaged in her private chit chat with her colleague that she didn't even look at me, let alone ask if we enjoyed our stay. - She just held out her hand for the key and carried on with her private conversation without so much as a pause for breath.
That sums the attitude up. - This place deserves every poor review it gets!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank exchefdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    868
    961
    527
    795
See reviews for
608
1,596
165
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
weston-super-mare
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

we stayed here on a Majestic coach holiday 5 days.after being given our keys on board the coach by a staff team member ,we tried to find our room, after actually locating it , our number was 1014, ( the basement) other couples discovered they too were also banned to the basement. we immediatley complained to the staff on reception, many other guests were complaining at the same time ,it was a nightmare, only to be told to come back next day where they may transfer us.we had the room at front , with a shock waiting us, the bathroom was disgusting,it was in desperate need of repairs, and the room was smoke stained and was not clean, we smelt burning the whole time , everywhere like smokey atmosphere,the bath handles were loose and the carpet dirty, the bed uneven and bumpy, the windows were dirty with seagull mess on the outer ledge all around the ceiling was stained all over the hotel not just the bedrooms,there was no air conditioning anywhere,and the ballroom was hot and sticky ,the entertainment was ok though ,the hotel needs demolishing and rebuilt in my view .not a nice hotel ,we didnt get a decent nights sleep at all ,because of noise from outside. noise from seagulls, you had to open the windows for some fresh air as it far too hot in the rooms.

Room Tip: dont bother booking , awful hotel make sure you don't get basement rooms floor 14!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

WESTON S MARE
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked for 5 days with majestic coach tours, on arrival a girl came on our coach to give us our keys to our room, when we eventuly found our room it was in the basement, yes the basement, with a very small window and a drain running thourgh the floor, when we complained to reception we were told to put up with it, but we were not prepaired to leave it there , next morning we went to reception to be told that there were no other rooms but to go and pack and they will see what they can do, as we were going on a trip we had to wait till we came back to find out that we had been upgraded to 7th floor with harbour view the room was very dated but it does pay to complane, the food was fair , entertainment excetable, but this hotel seriously needs a make over very old furniture that has had its day no air conditioning any where in hotel,
the reception staff are very rude, holiday from hell comes to mind

Room Tip: stay away, find a different hotel, im sure theres better in folkstone,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFH143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived last Friday for the weekend for Skafest. It took us ages to book in, & finally when we did the room stank of damp. We had an executive room with a balcony overlooking the sea. The whole hotel needs a refurb. We had a huge stain on our carpet. The tv was old fashion, everythng was awful. Then later on in the evening we were getting ready to go out, & we realise the stain wasn't dry, the carpet was ringing wet, we looked directly above it & we could see the ceiling tile above had been replaced so it was obvious theve had a leak. When we went to shower, the water just trickled out it took me forever to try & wash my hair, you had to take the shower down to try & get some water out to get the soap off of your body. I spoke to the manager all he wanted to do was mone us but didn't have an answer to why we had been put in that room with a sopping wet carpet. There were at least 5 other couples at reception complaining about their rooms. We will not be going back there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank listoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We paid £59 for 2 people dinner bed and breakfast and day trip to France. Food was poor school dinners type even though we paid to upgrade our was still poor. However for the price of it all and a little break it was good value for money

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaygo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

If you want cheap and chearful then maybe but its like a cattle market
Good staff cant make up for piss poor rooms and self service food
If you want cheap then fine but otherwise steer clear. Nice sea views but also noisy

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nudgerwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Don't listen to all the bad stories about Folkstone. The harbour, Old Town and Creative Quarter are excellent. The real jewel in the crown is The Leas area which includes the beautiful old buildings and gardens. Folkstone had the highest density of Rolls-Royces in the world.
We stayed at the Grand Burstin Hotel which basically accommodates people on coach tours. It has 550 rooms which were apparently all occupied (allowing for the reputation that Folkstone has that is an amazing achievement). Thankfully we had booked sea view double bedrooms and the view over the harbour and along the white cliffs of Dover were superb. A million pounds could be spent refurbishing this hotel and additional work would still be required. The breakfast was Gr8 but the evening meal was very poor - I would suggest book B&B and eat locally. The swimming pool and gym looked fine. We enjoyed the evening entertainment.
The key features about this hotel are excellent sea views and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Always book a harbour view room as those on the other side over look the car park or bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikedixon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.7 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Burstin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Burstin Hotel

Property: Grand Burstin Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Folkestone CT20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Burstin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located on the seafront, overlooking Folkestone's picturesque harbour. This Hotel is an ideal gateway to the continent, with organised day trips across the channel to France and Belgium arranged from the hotel and easy access to the Port of Dover and Eurotunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Burstin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Burstin Folkestone
Burstin Hotel Folkestone
Hotel Grand Burstin
Burstin Folkestone Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing