We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of The Southcliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Southcliff
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Southcliff from the 27th to the 31st of August 2013.

We found the accommodation spotlessly clean. Maid service daily with clean sheets and towels , and the Hotel generally was also clean and tidy. We had read other reviews of this hotel and we weren't expecting a lot, most commented on the friendly and helpful staff. "Which was correct"! The hotel staff were outstanding in the willingness to help and look after the guests. My wife has trouble walking any distance and they found her a wheelchair to use. This was a great help and we were able to get around easily.
The food was excellent, especially the breakfast. The restaurant staff were very attentive and extra tea toast etc. was no trouble at all.
Evening meals were a choice of about four fixed menu's... Four starters four main meals and four sweets.
Our accommodation was on a bed and breakfast basis, so we paid extra for the evening meals @ £10 per head.
This Hotel has a two star AA. Rating. The decor is a bit Jaded in places,but that is more than made up for with the friendly welcome from everyone and the reasonable cost. It suited our needs perfectly. All we needed was a clean place to sleep for a few nights with a helping hand and we found it in the Southcliff Hotel.
We will have no trouble in recommending this hotel to our friends.

Many thanks to all the staff at the Southcliff we'll look forward to seeing you again soon

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickelmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for the feedback on the site.

I will pass along your comments to the Housekeeping and kitchen departments.
I hope you will return again soon
regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    168
    174
    88
    84
See reviews for
80
281
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Went with a coach company as part of a tour for my honeymoon this hotel was a basic two star ramshackle shack. As I am a type 1 diabetic an insulin dependent my newly wedded husband made a request for a packed lunch and was willing to pay a little bit extra to them for the lunch he was told by the management that if they did that for me then they would have to do the same for everyone and that there might be something in the bread that would or could disagree with me. As I have done and got a city and guilds certificate in hotel and general reception I felt that this was bad management and customer service, especially in light of the fact that it clearly states in the hotels literature that they will cater for any dietary requirements. Maybe the management should rethink this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 607Claire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Mrs Squire

thank you for the review.
such a shame that my words were jumbled up with my trainee Receptionist. She stated that if we do it for one, then all others would want. As your Husband may [or may not] remember, I interrupted very quickly to clarify that we do not do packed lunches. previously we used to do this for £4.50. guests would complain it was cheaper at supermarkets, and as you seem to know the trade, we can not get the same level of supplier discounts as these stores.

In regards to in room literature, Thank you for pointing it out. I will start to make necessary changes.

I hope this clears up any confusion.

Ian Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

leicester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were catching a ferry in the morning and wanted a cheap place to stay. The room we stayed in was very dated but everything was clean and worked ok, I actually slept really well! The room was really hot but couldn't open the windows as the seagulls would not shut up lol. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We had a few drinks in the lounge area in the evening which was a nice place to sit and relax, If I was catching another early ferry I would consider staying here again. And in reference to the lift, we found it quite quaint and a good indication of the hotels age.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benson_rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinagar, India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

RUDE STAFF. BROKEN Everything in the rooms

no maintenance at all
location is good
got a parking ticket
slow breakfast service. not many options
small rooms
awful beds
Please avoid if u can
COULD NOT SLEEP A SECOND. THE heating/cooling wasnt working at all
What on earth is the management doing.
I need my money back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingjkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Don't use this hotel if you want to sleep. The rooms are very hot no air- con tea and coffee facilities but no milk. Small rooms tiny bathroom can hardly move. Not very clean uncomfortable bed. blood in the bathroom on the floor. The television didn't work properly. the bathroom door didn't close the tap was loose. Wont be going back there again, well overpriced, had to pay for parking which was added to the bill. The only good thing the breakfast was ok

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J, Manager at The Southcliff, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Mr Ryan
thank you for your review about the Hotel
sorry that room 211 was not up to your standards, however I have sent Maintainance to repair the door and tap. thank you for informing us on the issues.
as a 2star hotel, we do not advertise or have aircon in the building, and due to the extremely hot weather we are having [I expect Maidstone is also hot] it is making all areas unbearable.
in regards to tea and coffee, normally there are milk portions in each welcome box, with top ups available at Reception. I will look into why it was missed for your stay.

Parking is chargeable by the Council, not the Hotel. we do offer a guest permit [again, issued by the Council] and this is also chargeable. The normal prices via the pay & Display machine is £3.60 for a maximum 3 hours [with no return], making our voucher cost effective [this info from the many signs on The Leas]

Shame you wont use us again, however there are 3 star hotels that may suit your needs.

Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Southcliff and were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the hotel is dated and in need of a major refurb, however it is excellent value for money! The view from our sea view balcony rooms was definitely worth the small cost extra. We had rooms 11 and 12, on the 1st floor overlooking the channel (and with the gorgeous weather we could see all the way to France). As mentioned in another review, these 2 rooms appear to have had some minor updates done in recent times (curtains in rm 12, refurb bathrooms etc).
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but sufficient.
Only disappointment for us was the noise from the bar downstairs on Fri/Sat nights (directly below rooms 11/12 where we were staying) - we had to shut windows and balcony door, as well as turning on bathroom fan in an attempt to drown out the partygoers downstairs ... bar didn't close til 12:30/1am!
Overall a very pleasant stay and we would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Choose balcony sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just returned from Southcliff after staying 3 nights(4 days). We were on 4th floor and we paid for a sea view. The room as other reviews have said was run down and quite small with sticky windows and in need of full revamp, and the furniture was ready for the skip. Bathroom very basic but no probs with hot water or out of date shower. Our towels were not changed at all during our stay and also the tea/coffee etc provided in room were not replenished both of which I have not experienced anywhere else. This could be a lovely hotel if fully refurbished as it is in a great position in Folkestone. All the staff were very pleasant and friendly.

Room Tip: We were on top floor and the rooms very small and run down. I don't know whether rooms on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roboraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
130 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcliff

Property: The Southcliff
Address: 22-26 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Southcliff 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Leas Promenade, overlooking the English Channel, The Southcliff Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal and 20 minutes from Dover Ferry Terminal. There is free Wi-Fi in public areas. The bedrooms each have tea and coffee facilities and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Rooms also feature a flat screen TV [free view] and ironing facilities [on request]. Some have sea views or private balconies. The Office Bar features modern decor and hosts frequent live music. Southcliff Hotel is a short walk from Folkestone's sandy beach. Folkestone Harbour is a 10-minute walk, and Folkestone Central Railway Station is just half a mile away. The Leas Cliff Hall is only across the road from The Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Southcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
The Southcliff Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing